Bump mapping?

Need help with a program come ask here

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
Jazznaz89
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am
Location: Australia

Bump mapping?

Post by Jazznaz89 » Wed Jun 11, 2008 9:56 pm

Hoi hoi everybody!

I have a small question about textures. How to do i create a bump map for Armada 2? Im building Galactica and i think that to really look good, its gonna need some bump maps. I have access to Paint Shop Pro and Photoshop CS2, and i use milkshape 3d to model.

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Jazznaz89
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Jazznaz89 » Thu Jun 12, 2008 4:37 am

come you guys.. i know u wanna see her textured.. not that shes finished yet. But any bump mapping help would be hot =]

http://i76.photobucket.com/albums/j38/j ... nugais.png

User avatar
Jazznaz89
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Jazznaz89 » Wed Jun 18, 2008 3:32 am

So much for a Help Forum.

Heres whats done so far, but i would still really like it if somebody could gimme the lowdown on bump maps for A2. Cheers.

Image

User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan » Wed Jun 18, 2008 7:23 am

Hi Jazznaz89,

As far as I know, milkshape does not support bump mapping. :(

A tutorial for adding bump maps with 3ds MAX is availible in the Westworld’s Big Book of Modding.

User avatar
Jazznaz89
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Jazznaz89 » Thu Jun 19, 2008 3:22 am

Thanks man. I shall investigate!

User avatar
assainator
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

Post by assainator » Fri Jun 20, 2008 1:41 pm

google----> torrent 3ds max 8

you need to have a torrent programm (example: bittorrent)

assainator

User avatar
Jazznaz89
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Jazznaz89 » Sun Jun 22, 2008 3:04 am

assainator wrote:google----> torrent 3ds max 8

you need to have a torrent programm (example: bittorrent)

assainator
Already have it, have for a while. I just need to read some tutorials. Thanks all!

User avatar
Jazznaz89
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Jazznaz89 » Sun Jun 22, 2008 4:42 am

Are there any .sod exporters for 3DS Max 8?

User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 655
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:07 am

Unfortunately, rhere isn't a SOD converter for 3ds max 8. You will have to obtain one of the older versions of max. Versions 3, 4 and 5 work with the sod converter.

User avatar
Jazznaz89
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 34
Joined: Sat Oct 15, 2005 2:00 am
Location: Australia

Post by Jazznaz89 » Sun Jun 22, 2008 9:55 am

Dang, looks like i'll have to start obtaining right away then. Its a pity, because now i wont be able to bump map galactica until tomorrow after work :(

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests