editor map tree

The best Modding forum in the Armada community, some of the best modders come here.

Moderators: thunderchero, MrVulcan

Post Reply
User avatar
Dell
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:00 am

editor map tree

Post by Dell » Sat Oct 09, 2004 10:59 am

In armada2
is it posible to make like a sub catogory for combatships.
Like if you hit federation->combatships you get a list :

[F1]shuttle
[F2]destroyer
[F3]cruiser
[F4]science
[F5]explorer
[F6]war
[F7]time

I have succeeded in adding a list to the ef_fed.odf file
but I need more slots the the one left, unless i could place more then 12 lists.

Achilles
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Achilles » Sat Oct 09, 2004 1:05 pm

I'd remove the research station list, rename it to combat ships 2 and add research to the stations list.

Twitch
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1321
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:00 am
Location: L.A. CA USA

Post by Twitch » Sat Oct 09, 2004 8:57 pm

Here you go- open e_fed.odf in ODF/OTHER folder. I looks like this in there:

menuTitle = "Federation"
buildItem1 = "ef_comba.odf"
buildItem2 = "ef_ncomb.odf"
buildItem3 = "ef_named.odf"
buildItem4 = "ef_stati.odf"
buildItem5 = "ef_rstat.odf"

OK add a 6th build item and put in a line like "ef _comba1.odf" You can re-arrange order so that file is 2nd so it be be a continuation. Then make that file and add 12 more ships. You'll end up looking like this:

menuTitle = "Federation"
buildItem1 = "ef_comba.odf"
buildItem2 = "ef_comba1.odf"
buildItem3 = "ef_ncomb.odf"
buildItem4 = "ef_named.odf"
buildItem5 = "ef_stati.odf"
buildItem6 = "ef_rstat.odf"

It will show up in the on screen menus and all will look tidy.

User avatar
Dell
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Dell » Sun Oct 10, 2004 3:24 am

yes i know how to do that, but that wouldn't be enough for all new ships and stations that I added

MajorPayne
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 1752
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 2:00 am

Post by MajorPayne » Sun Oct 10, 2004 5:02 am

https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/afc/m ... pe=url#get

A shortfall tutorial for adding items to the map editor.

Twitch
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1321
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:00 am
Location: L.A. CA USA

Post by Twitch » Sun Oct 10, 2004 1:35 pm

Trust me, there's a way. I have 180 planets in the menus and room for 288! Look every sub ef_combaX.odf file has places for 12 more ships. If need be you can open the editmenu.odf files and add e_fed1.odf which could have 12 sub files referenced. Those could each have 12 more and so on. The Armada menu is like the universe- infinite.

User avatar
Kirgen
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Kirgen » Sun Oct 10, 2004 2:35 pm

I can't seem to make the menu's go more than 4 deep. Any ideas?

User avatar
Elrond
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Elrond » Sun Oct 10, 2004 9:48 pm

You mean you can go more than 4 menus deep? I've tried that a year ago without any success - I probably overlooked something small. "You'd be surprised how often it's something small like that" - Will Smith, Men in Black II.

User avatar
Kirgen
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Kirgen » Sun Oct 10, 2004 11:46 pm

Yes, Elrond, that's exactly what I mean. Quite frustrating really.

Twitch
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1321
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:00 am
Location: L.A. CA USA

Post by Twitch » Mon Oct 11, 2004 11:44 am

You need MORE than 288 slots for ships/stations? Look here's e_fed.odf:
buildItem1 = "ef_comba.odf"
buildItem2 = "ef_ncomb.odf"
buildItem3 = "ef_named.odf"
buildItem4 = "ef_stati.odf"
buildItem5 = "ef_rstat.odf"

There is room in this standard file for 7 more entries with 12 items each= 84 more + the 12 from the first line ef_comba = 96. The ef_named.odf has lame-o crapola ships in it so use that for 12 more= 108.

In the main editmenu.odf you got:
menuName1 = "e_fed.odf"
menuName2 = "e_kling.odf"
menuName3 = "e_rom.odf"
menuName4 = "e_borg.odf"
menuName5 = "e_card.odf"
menuName6 = "e_8472.odf"
menuName7 = "e_races.odf" <---------------------------
menuName8 = "e_mapobj.odf"
menuName9 = "e_misc.odf" <-------------------------
menuName10 = "e_planet.odf"
menuName11 = "e_specific.odf" <------------------------

menuName12 = "e_fed1.odf" <--------add this

There's room for a 12th entry like e_fed1.odf for example which will branch out to 144 more. When did you use anything from e_specific.odf? Yeah, never. There's another way to branch out 144 more. e_misc.odf has 2 items in it that can be moved anywhere so you have another slot for 144 more possible objects to be be listed in subsequent files in the tree.

e_races.odf has almost nothing in it and relates to other races ships with 2 Ferengi ships only. The other race stations is empty so that leaves it possible to rename it and have minimum 11 more sub files with 132 slots.

We're up to 528 slots just for the feds!!!

User avatar
Kirgen
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 53
Joined: Tue May 25, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Kirgen » Mon Oct 11, 2004 12:21 pm

Yes, Twitch, I need more. I have 20 races and just about every planet download I could find.

I've already moved stuff around, combined races, and taken out unused stuff. I NEED MORE ROOM!! Hehe

Twitch
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1321
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:00 am
Location: L.A. CA USA

Post by Twitch » Tue Oct 12, 2004 11:29 am

Maybe it's time to re-assess things. No seriously, I'm not being a smart azz. How often do you use each race in a game? How often do you build more than just a few ships for any race during a large and hot session game? Would it make sense to have a 2nd install of Armada?

I know for sure that most folks have way too many added ships that they or the AI build in small numbers and a few thay build in greater numbers. The whole concept of 2nd and 3rd destroyers and cruisers is almost superfluous. These ships have just slightly different armament and are the same ship in concept and use. Same with the Battle2 line. All we have is different shaped ships duplicating efforts.

Anyhow you get the idea. Glean your ship/station lists and races. I got only 3 extra races installed. I can't imagine how long it takes 20 races to load in an instant action game!!!!! You could probably go take a dump and return before it finishes.

User avatar
Dell
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:00 am

other angle

Post by Dell » Wed Oct 20, 2004 1:00 pm

In which file it's given what the computer must do when ctrl+q (azerty, a for qwerty) is pushed??? normaly speaking we should get the edit menu.
Maybe it's possible to add a second combination. One that would give me a second editmenu.

Twitch
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1321
Joined: Wed Sep 03, 2003 2:00 am
Location: L.A. CA USA

Post by Twitch » Thu Oct 21, 2004 11:42 am

That's certainly a good approach. I don't know where that is. I've never come across it. The main "editmenu.odf" is the top of the hierarchy. What we need is an editmenu2.odf listed in the same unknown place where editmenu is. It could be hardcoded. ??

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users