i need some help with a weapon

The best Modding forum in the Armada community, some of the best modders come here.

Moderators: thunderchero, MrVulcan

Post Reply
User avatar
cecilzero1
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2226
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: from the Dark Side of the moon
Contact:

i need some help with a weapon

Post by cecilzero1 » Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:18 pm

i made a weapon *phaser cannon* and i put it where it needs to go tech1.tt,Gui_global ect....

heres the thing when i get it in the game the Stupid thing wont fire
i checked it's well with reach of its target been working on this for the last few hours lol and frankly its giving me a headache lol

here are the specs
odf 1
ordName = "fedcan2"
wpnName = "Phaser Cannon"
tooltip = "Phaser Cannon"
verboseTooltip = ""
shotDelay = 2.0f
range = 300.0f
fireSound = "phfwea.wav"
classLabel = "cannon"
hitChance = 1.0
special = 1
needTarget = 1
hitCondition = 2
targetAlliedCraft = 0
targetAlliedBuildings = 0
targetEnemyCraft = 1
targetEnemyBuildings = 1
buttonPriority = 5
odf2
classLabel = "phaser"
specialEnergyCost = 100
damageBase = 24
shieldCrewModifier = 0.2
hullCrewModifier = 0.1
lifeSpan = 3.6
shieldDuration = 1.0
shotSpeed = 1e6
Sprite = "fedphas1"
shotColor = 227
Radius = 4.0
spriteDuration = 1.0
objectName = "fphasca3"


this is for A1 btw any help would be apprecated
Image

CaptSyf
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1497
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 3:00 am
Location: Leaving you to wonder...
Contact:

Post by CaptSyf » Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:47 pm

The sprite, is it a stock sprite? if not, it could have a problem with the tga file.
The end of one Era is near... Star Trek Armada II - All Good Things...

User avatar
cecilzero1
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2226
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: from the Dark Side of the moon
Contact:

Post by cecilzero1 » Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:55 pm

CaptSyf wrote:The sprite, is it a stock sprite? if not, it could have a problem with the tga file.
the sprite works its being used on another ship
Image

User avatar
Corbomite_Ray
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 563
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 2:00 am
Location: U.S.S. Redemption

Post by Corbomite_Ray » Thu Feb 10, 2005 10:57 pm

If it was A2 I might be able to help, having tackled a few pesky special weapons for my own purposes before. Unfortunately I have no knowledge of A1 coding.
Stalwart guardian of the Star Wars Expanded Universe, because it was so artistically done

"You're in Starfleet. Insanity is not an option; it's a requirement."
- Captain Anthony Felfire

Achilles
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 834
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: England
Contact:

Post by Achilles » Fri Feb 11, 2005 4:59 am

I am away tonight but will be on late saturday and all sunday, I'll sort it then if you. off hand I haven't seen anything wrong

User avatar
Dell
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 126
Joined: Mon Oct 04, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Dell » Fri Feb 11, 2005 5:56 am

why do you want this to be a special weapon??? Its a normal phaser.

If you want it to be special, just copy a original phaser into the spec weapons folder. Rename it. Add it to the techtree files, Gui... And enter your damage values + 'special = 1'

User avatar
cecilzero1
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2226
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: from the Dark Side of the moon
Contact:

Post by cecilzero1 » Fri Feb 11, 2005 6:13 am

Dell wrote:why do you want this to be a special weapon??? Its a normal phaser.

If you want it to be special, just copy a original phaser into the spec weapons folder. Rename it. Add it to the techtree files, Gui... And enter your damage values + 'special = 1'
i did all that the first part is the phaser :wink:

i cant tell u what it supposed to do as its classified

i played with it some more and im getting wierd readings in the log gonna have to talk to achilles tomorrow
Image

User avatar
Logius
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 512
Joined: Thu Aug 26, 2004 2:00 am
Location: State of insanity
Contact:

Post by Logius » Fri Feb 11, 2005 6:25 am

I don't know if it matters, but I don't see a damageVariance or damageThreshold value. Have you tried adding

Code: Select all

#include "phaser.odf"
and
#include "phasero.odf"
at the beginning of the respective files? Not sure if that's the issue, editing weapon files can be tricky.
Klingon: Your mother mates with toasters!
Data: How did you find out?!

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users