One think that drives me batty about Armada

The best Modding forum in the Armada community, some of the best modders come here.

Moderators: thunderchero, MrVulcan

Post Reply
User avatar
SherlockHolmes
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:00 am
Location: Earth

One think that drives me batty about Armada

Post by SherlockHolmes »

I understand when the server wont let you play online if you have mods active because its cheating. But I just learned it can detect when you alter the music files. WTF? Well, I changed them back to the way they were, and it still wont let me play online (all the games are invisable).

Anyone have any tips?
uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital »

the game has to be the excact same as the version you have
jnddepew
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 591
Joined: Thu Aug 05, 2004 2:00 am

Post by jnddepew »

just reinstal armada
User avatar
SherlockHolmes
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 32
Joined: Thu Jun 15, 2006 2:00 am
Location: Earth

Post by SherlockHolmes »

I know I have to reinstall it and over heat my cd rom drive again, it takes 2 hours to reinstall star trek armada, and the cd-rom drive changes speeds during that time and well, it gets hot enough to leave scorch marks on my slave drive
User avatar
rodglas
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 554
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada (NORPAC)
Contact:

Post by rodglas »

I'd start saving for a new CD drive if I were you, thats not a good situation you've got going on there.

Rod
SaiyaJin_Dale
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 525
Joined: Thu Oct 07, 2004 2:00 am
Location: Somewhere that couldnt exist but its right over there?
Contact:

Post by SaiyaJin_Dale »

Eck@Slow CD Drive, i'd jump for a DVD Drive, takes me like...4 minutes to reinstall armada.
User avatar
-mik-
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 57
Joined: Sat Jun 25, 2005 2:00 am
Location: United Kingdom
Contact:

Post by -mik- »

Am I correct in presuming that you have less than 64MB RAM and 700MHz CPU? If you have, just go for a simple CD drive, like 48x. However if your specs of your PC are higher, go for a decent DVD drive. Remember, installation speed is based on CD drive reading speed, available RAM, CPU speed and swap file. Hard Drive disk speeds (e.g. 5200, 7200 and 10000 RPM) effect the installation speed.
Post Reply