Converting A2 ships to A1

The best Modding forum in the Armada community, some of the best modders come here.

Moderators: thunderchero, MrVulcan

Post Reply
User avatar
WarrenG12
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:00 am

Converting A2 ships to A1

Post by WarrenG12 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:39 pm

Im just wondering how to convert A2 ships to work on A1????

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:44 pm

unless you have the correct software and permission you cannot , not sure that all ships can be converted though

User avatar
WarrenG12
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:00 am

Post by WarrenG12 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 8:59 pm

i will ask for permission to use them but im just askin if its possible

User avatar
icewolf132
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by icewolf132 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 9:54 pm

to convert an A2 sod to A1 you need to do two things;

1. remove the alpha layers from the texture file(s), if you don't then only the things that glow in A2 will be viable in A1 (A1 uses alpha maps to make areas of the textures transparent)

2. export the model in A1 format, otherwise you'll get the "sod off" box.

if you're trying to convert a stock ship it can be easily done with Milkshape 3D and Paint Shop Pro, both have a trail version you can download for free.
Star Trekkin' across the universe, because I STILL can't find reverse!

Usage Permission; All are free to use and edit my work in any way they see fit, so long as credit is given where it is due.

User avatar
WarrenG12
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:00 am

Post by WarrenG12 » Tue Nov 07, 2006 10:04 pm

Actually these are the ships im trying to convery:

Monarch Class (enterprise J)
Voyager Class (from the Virtual Voyager series)
and several TMP ships

User avatar
icewolf132
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by icewolf132 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:15 am

well then it's more or less impossible with MS3D, and it's a bit sticky. I suggest trying to get in contact with the modelers of the ships and requesting that they convert them, unless it's for a private mod.
Star Trekkin' across the universe, because I STILL can't find reverse!

Usage Permission; All are free to use and edit my work in any way they see fit, so long as credit is given where it is due.

User avatar
WarrenG12
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:00 am

Post by WarrenG12 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 12:32 am

they're publis mods, from whative seen ion the descriptions

User avatar
icewolf132
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by icewolf132 » Wed Nov 08, 2006 1:49 am

no, I mean what your going to use them for mod wise; whether or not your going to use them in a public mod or in a mod that your doing for yourself to play.
Star Trekkin' across the universe, because I STILL can't find reverse!

Usage Permission; All are free to use and edit my work in any way they see fit, so long as credit is given where it is due.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users