Page 1 of 2

Looking for the author of the Copernicus Station??

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 1:28 pm
by score1_uk
Hi,

Who made this station? All it says is 'shadow' in the readme, but there are lots of shadow usernames here......

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:09 pm
by CptBenSisko
Commodore JPKTrekker a.k.a. "Shadow" he would be the author

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 9:38 pm
by shadow
Mr.Sisko, you are wrong :) – (sigh) – again, another mistaken identity LoL

I made this station, and I am not “Commodore JPKTrekker” - definitely not.
You can find me here as shadow (as you did) and at armada2files as shadow_from_afc

So what’s up?

Posted: Tue Dec 18, 2007 11:05 pm
by Elrond
As a matter of fact, JPKTrekker never modded a day in his life (well not Armada anyway, but he's slayed a few dragons in his time [OMG]). He's in Starfleets clan and leads the Armada division there, last time I heard.

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 12:58 am
by CptBenSisko
erm??...okay..i stand corrected. Elrond...didn't you call JPK by the name a few times on the Teamspeak? I thought that was his other nickname. However I stand corrected on this matter.

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 3:39 am
by Elrond
CptBenSisko wrote:erm??...okay..i stand corrected. Elrond...didn't you call JPK by the name a few times on the Teamspeak? I thought that was his other nickname. However I stand corrected on this matter.

Aye Captain I did. JPKTrekker = Shadow Phoenix on Starfleets clan = Eragon on my site = about 20,000 other aliases online. But he's not the one who made this one LoL. :wink:

Posted: Wed Dec 19, 2007 5:51 pm
by score1_uk
Please check pm's.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 2:03 pm
by score1_uk
Shadow, I still havent heard from you.

Posted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 10:43 pm
by shadow
Same here. :)

I did not get any personal messages lately.
Seems that you have experienced the same problems with the PM- system as other members also. :?
If you have followed recent threads from other people you should know.
I don´t know when this problem will be fixed.

Posted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 8:16 pm
by score1_uk
ahhh, well that sucks. Would you mind if I made a lower poly model of the station for the Galactica mod?

http://s10.invisionfree.com/Battlestar_ ... b8&act=idx

Posted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 8:26 am
by shadow
How would you proceed?

The published model is already a poly- reduced one.
It still has some potential for poly- reduction, but in doing so it will greatly loose on quality and looks.
So where would you start? (Just being curious)

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 9:19 am
by score1_uk
I can remake all the 'disk' parts and shave a fair few polies of there, and make a diff tower at the top to lose more polies there too.

I think I can get it down low enough to act at the Cylon starbase.

Posted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:21 am
by shadow
I guess you plan to get rid of the recessed areas on the tops of the disks? (talking here about the 6 satellites)
You are right this will lower the poly count. This measure alone would save you 864 polies
Correct me if I am wrong.

The tower, well the grid-structure alone has 648 polies at the moment.
It is one of the stations characteristics that was the most difficult to model and contributes a lot to the looks of the station.

What are you planning to do there?

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 2:03 pm
by score1_uk
Replace it with a 3 sided tower, thus lowering the count while still keeping the see through mesh type look.

Posted: Tue Jan 08, 2008 6:29 pm
by shadow
To get polygons down, I tried to do the same at first, did not look right.
So I published the model with the original tower.
(You should see the original model I made, before I reduced the polygons for A2. 10000+)

If you can get a decent result, go ahead, with the changes we talked about.
But at best you can get it down to around 7300 polygons, I guess.
That will not make much of a difference performance wise in my opinion.

Permission granted for the proposed changes. Good luck with your mod.
Post a picture of the result.