RAce stuff

The best Modding forum in the Armada community, some of the best modders come here.

Moderators: thunderchero, MrVulcan

Post Reply
User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

RAce stuff

Post by kurn »

ok im haveing a problem and i dont know why its doing it. i have been trying to add the isc and kzinti as races but when i put the ship on the map it freezes. i mean races as extra ones with their own independant odfs. also i think i figured out how to actually add playable races but i wanted to make sure that i was right
User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan »

Make sure that you have the race name appear in the races.odf

The capitalisation is important. So if your race is called kzinti, make sure that in the ship odfs it is not Kzinti

Also, I'm not certain, but the limit to the number of entries in the races odf is 10. Might be wrong on this. You can probably check this just by adding your race in the first 10 lines.

PS: which armada are you referring to?’
User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by kurn »

armada 1
User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by kurn »

well heres how i wanted it

borg - tholians but i have them as dominion
fed - fed
rom - rom
kling - klng
sona- hydran
breen - lyran
ferengi - orion
alien - alien
card - gorn
isc- isc
kzinti - kzinti
User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan »

Make sure you have
numberOfRaces = 11
in the races.odf

Could be any number of things that are causing this. Can you tell us what you did step by step?
Atlantis
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Stoke, UK
Contact:

Post by Atlantis »

MrVulcan wrote:Also, I'm not certain, but the limit to the number of entries in the races odf is 10. Might be wrong on this. You can probably check this just by adding your race in the first 10 lines.
Not true, actually. I've had as many as 24-26 on without any trouble.

Only thing I can think of is, have you created the races own .odf file (like isc.odf or kzinti.odf) correctly?
User avatar
rodglas
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 554
Joined: Mon Apr 28, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Hamilton, ON Canada (NORPAC)
Contact:

Post by rodglas »

Until Adam and the Future Tense team tell us how they did it you can't have more then 4 races in A1.

Sorry
Atlantis
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 589
Joined: Wed May 21, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Stoke, UK
Contact:

Post by Atlantis »

That's a very good point, i missed the post which said "Armada 1", lol.
User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by kurn »

well depending on that i think i thought of how to have more races. its actually quite simple but complicated im not gonna say it on here though.
although im not sure on my races though. i may not have made it corectly.
Post Reply