Can somebody help me with my SOD files?

The best Modding forum in the Armada community, some of the best modders come here.

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Can somebody help me with my SOD files?

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Fri Apr 10, 2009 7:01 am

I downloaded some SOD files from sites mentionned in other Forums here, but when I put the TARDIS, Red Dwarf or Starbug into Armada 1 I just get a white box with "Sod Off" written on each side.

What do I need to do to get them working?

Please help

User avatar
AFC
Site Founder
Site Founder
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by AFC » Fri Apr 10, 2009 1:45 pm

how many files you need done, please let me know i see what i can do

User avatar
pepperman
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Cloaked in the Neutral Zone

Post by pepperman » Fri Apr 10, 2009 5:41 pm

Yes, these all appear to be mods for A2. As CABAL point out, A2 models (sod files) are not compatible with A1; however, A1 models will work with A2.

By contacting the mod owner, you might be able to get them to export them out in A1 format. You would then have to do the mods to the odf files and the like. Not sure what you modding level of skill is but it would be a great way to learn the process.

User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:21 am

AFC wrote:how many files you need done, please let me know i see what i can do
Well, the main one I'm concerned with is the Tardis from somewhere else on the Forum, because I can get sounds for that.

If I had the working SOD, I could probably then submit it

User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:24 am

pepperman wrote:Yes, these all appear to be mods for A2. As CABAL point out, A2 models (sod files) are not compatible with A1; however, A1 models will work with A2.

By contacting the mod owner, you might be able to get them to export them out in A1 format. You would then have to do the mods to the odf files and the like. Not sure what you modding level of skill is but it would be a great way to learn the process.
I can make ODFs, and events for ships, stations and weapons, and I can change physics, so I've got a basic idea about modding

User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Sun Apr 12, 2009 5:36 am

we_serve_the_borg wrote:
AFC wrote:how many files you need done, please let me know i see what i can do
Well, the main one I'm concerned with is the Tardis from somewhere else on the Forum, because I can get sounds for that.

If I had the working SOD, I could probably then submit it
the website for the TARDIS is http://armada2.filefront.com/file/Tardis;44776

User avatar
AFC
Site Founder
Site Founder
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by AFC » Sun Apr 12, 2009 7:47 am

have it done but at work and connection is slow as hell will leave link when i get home.

I dont pay for internet i steal wifi because im poor.

User avatar
AFC
Site Founder
Site Founder
Posts: 561
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Planet Earth
Contact:

Post by AFC » Sun Apr 12, 2009 10:50 am


User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Sun Apr 12, 2009 4:39 pm

Thank you everyone, especially AFC for your assisstance, your names will be in the credits. I hope the addon will be worth the trouble. :)

User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Sun Apr 12, 2009 4:54 pm

Actually, for further reference, what software do you use to convert or export the SOD so it's compatible with A1?

User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:31 pm

Actually, I've found another problem. I can't even view the SODs in Storm3D, can someone help with the Red Dwarf and starbug SODs?

Please help

User avatar
we_serve_the_borg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Mon Aug 25, 2008 2:00 am

Post by we_serve_the_borg » Thu Apr 23, 2009 2:59 pm

we_serve_the_borg wrote:Actually, I've found another problem. I can't even view the SODs in Storm3D, can someone help with the Red Dwarf and starbug SODs?

Please help
the link is http://armada2.filefront.com/file/Red_Dwarf;94993

User avatar
pepperman
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Cloaked in the Neutral Zone

Post by pepperman » Fri Apr 24, 2009 4:05 pm

Typically if you can't view them in Storm 3D tool it means there is an error with mesh. Remember, A2 models require the Storm 3D tool. It can view both A1 and A2 model whereas the Storm 3D tool for A1 can only view A1 models.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users