Page 1 of 1

A1 Load Screen Crash Issue

Posted: Fri Aug 19, 2011 4:05 pm
by kobayashimaru
Was adding some new stuff to my Federation and now any Instant Action game I start with them crashes. Specifically, I added one new ship and changed the texture files for two others.

Trying to backtrack, I removed those three ships from the techtree files entirely, but with no effect. The game still crashes during the load screen when the bar is about two inches from the end. However, the game runs ok when playing with only the other three races I have.

I figured any ship odf or texture errors I made would only make the game crash when I built the ship. All the changes I've made have been ship odf or techtree specific. Is there anything else I should be looking for that would cause a crash towards the end of a load?

I know this could probably use some more explanation, but I've been racking my brain trying to figure where I went wrong and could use a second opinion.

Re: A1 Load Screen Crash Issue

Posted: Sat Aug 20, 2011 10:36 pm
by MrVulcan
kobayashimaru wrote:I figured any ship odf or texture errors I made would only make the game crash when I built the ship.
Surprisingly, this is not always the case. If the problem is in a ship or station odf, then the crash can happen on load.

If you've only added a few ships, then it should be easy enough to go through and check that there are no typos or missing quotation marks. Alternatively, you can get a debugger from the downloads section. Personally, I prefer to use the staum mode debugger as that catches many of the little bugs like missing quotes and typo errors.

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 5:28 pm
by eddy94
I agree with MrVulcan. The staum mide debugger is your best bet. You might also want to check you're AI files if you edited them, they also can cause the game to crash on loading.

Posted: Sun Aug 21, 2011 7:07 pm
by kobayashimaru
Thanks for the ideas guys. I did run all the odfs I changed through STAUM, although I may have missed one so I'll double check. Changed one ship in the AI files too, so I'll look over those again.

I do have a backup that works, although it isn't as current as my primary. Rebuilding from it will be a pain, but not as much as starting over from scratch. Guess this is a lesson not to rush, even when things look ok...