Page 1 of 1

Replacin The Opening .BIK Animation Videos

Posted: Sat Nov 19, 2011 4:23 pm
by jetnova16
I have replaced the “Activision”, “Paramount”, “MadDocSoftware” and “Intro” videos with new ones, they are videos that I downloaded from YouTube, and used RadVideo Tools to convert but when you see them well the game is running, the sounds don’t work (the sounds work when viewed as regular video files opened through the RadVideo software). How do I get their sounds to play to these videos when they are running in the opening of the game? Also, how do I make these videos appear full screen well being viewed as well?

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 12:07 pm
by MrVulcan
Sound is disabled for the main screen animations. There is no way to enable it. However, you can try to incorporate the sound into the Shells.wav sound file that plays at the main menu.

Making the videos full screen is also not possible. As far as I know, the two video files must have the same dimensions; ie, the video that plays in background and the video that plays with mouse-over should be the same "size".

There may be a way to increase or decrease the size in one of the configuration files that are located in the root directory. I have never tried this, so can't be of any more help.

Posted: Mon Nov 21, 2011 2:08 pm
by jetnova16
MrVulcan wrote:Sound is disabled for the main screen animations. There is no way to enable it. However, you can try to incorporate the sound into the Shells.wav sound file that plays at the main menu.

Making the videos full screen is also not possible. As far as I know, the two video files must have the same dimensions; ie, the video that plays in background and the video that plays with mouse-over should be the same "size".

There may be a way to increase or decrease the size in one of the configuration files that are located in the root directory. I have never tried this, so can't be of any more help.

I find that strange that the sounds are disabled because they aren't disabled for another mod that I have with the Opening .BIK videos and they actually play. These videos came from the Star Trek Armada II Klingon Acadamy II mod and one from the Birth of The Federation mod and they all work just fine when the game is played/started. It is the ones that I have created on my own through .BIK Tools that aren't playing.

The videos from Klingon Acadamy and Birth of the Federation, all I did was add them to the game, change some minor names if I wanted to. The first one is even Full Screen, so is the second, and third and then you got the standard Armada II Intro Video. I don't understand why those ones work and my created ones for a different mod don't work.

**********************************************************
Also, I can't find a file titled "Shells.wav", all I can find is a file called "Shellsd0.wav", and it doesn't have any of the opening video's sounds at all.

Posted: Tue Nov 22, 2011 6:28 pm
by MrVulcan
My apologies, I misunderstood your question. My answer was in regards to the main menu bik videos (single player, options, exit, etc..)

Indeed, sound should work with the intro movies. Make sure that the sound format is correct for the intro movie. I'm not sure what the format should be, but you might be able to find out by opening one of the stock movies.

I also recommend that you use the tool available in the downloads section here rather than anything that might be on RAD tools website. The newer tools produce bik files that aren't always compatible with A1 and A2.

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:29 am
by jetnova16
MrVulcan wrote:My apologies, I misunderstood your question. My answer was in regards to the main menu bik videos (single player, options, exit, etc..)

Indeed, sound should work with the intro movies. Make sure that the sound format is correct for the intro movie. I'm not sure what the format should be, but you might be able to find out by opening one of the stock movies.

I also recommend that you use the tool available in the downloads section here rather than anything that might be on RAD tools website. The newer tools produce bik files that aren't always compatible with A1 and A2.

First, how old are the Tools in the Downloads Section for RAD Video? I am running a Windows Vista PC and the ones that I have are meant to actually work on Windows Vista and now also Windows 7 as well since it is the Updated Version.

Also, how can I find the Stock Files Settings for the Intro Videos? I haven't been able to open these files for editing because I don't know what part of the RAD Video Tools actually opens them just for that purpose. I have been able to view them and also create my own, that is all.

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 9:52 pm
by MrVulcan
Try downloading the tools from AFC. I know for a fact that the newer RAD tools changed the bik format so that it is not compatible with Armada I. Not sure about A2, but my guess is that the new bik will not be compatible either.

The tool itself seems fairly simple. It should run in vista and win7 just fine. Make sure to run as admin and set compatibility settings.

Posted: Sun Nov 27, 2011 11:29 pm
by jetnova16
MrVulcan wrote:Try downloading the tools from AFC. I know for a fact that the newer RAD tools changed the bik format so that it is not compatible with Armada I. Not sure about A2, but my guess is that the new bik will not be compatible either.

The tool itself seems fairly simple. It should run in vista and win7 just fine. Make sure to run as admin and set compatibility settings.
*****I have checked the Downloads Section here in the Tools Download Area and there wasn't any RAD Video Tools listed at all, instead I found it in the Official Releases Section as in Offically released by Activison, it isn't even an Activison created tool so it is in the wrong section, it should legal under Copyright Laws be in the Tools Section or not hosted here at all without direct permission from RAD Video's company.********************

Well I'll give this version a try, but during one of my last runs with this version, I was told that I had to update to the newest version, the program wasn't responding and always had to be closed, thus the reason why I have the newest updated version.[/quote]

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 8:30 pm
by pepperman
If memory serves me correctly the bink tool for Armada 1 is different from Armada 2. Here is a link to the one I made for A1.

http://armada2.filefront.com/file/New_A ... ovie;90473

Posted: Tue Nov 29, 2011 10:03 pm
by jetnova16
pepperman wrote:If memory serves me correctly the bink tool for Armada 1 is different from Armada 2. Here is a link to the one I made for A1.

http://armada2.filefront.com/file/New_A ... ovie;90473
I am not going to be needing that tool because it is for the wrong game. I am creating my StarGate Armada Mod in Armada II not Armada I.

I also don't want to have any aspects of Star Trek in the videos for this mod, everything will be related to StarGate SG-1, StarGate Atlantis and SGU.

Posted: Wed Dec 07, 2011 6:02 pm
by jetnova16
I attempted to use the .BIK (RAD Video Tools) from here and they crashed the moment I attempted to use them, the same thing happened before when I had them. The only ones that actually work on Windows Vista are the newer ones.

I did manage to make the 4 new video files through the crashing for the Intro, Activison, Paramount and MadDoc videos but they don’t have sound when played in the Video Tools and also in the game. It was a waste of time using the tools from here since the results were the same.

I do still want to know how to make these videos appear full Screen in the game when you start the game. The ones that I have from both The Klingon Academy Mod and the Birth of the Federation Mod are full screen when they play, so is the opening video from the Stock game for the Intros. I like to fix this problem.

Here are my created NEW Intros, all the videos came from YouTube, downloaded through the RealPlayer and then converted to .WAV and then the .WAV files were converted through the RAD Video Tools to .BIK Videos.

http://www.megaupload.com/?d=8XOS7YH0

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:34 am
by MrVulcan
The tools here work just fine for adding sound to the videos. I think it is just a matter of tweaking some audio settings.

If I recall correctly, you need to specify which audio file to use with the video. It does not automatically take audio from the avi. Might be wrong on this, but do check that out.

Can't really offer much on making them full screen. Are the videos the right size? I think the stock ones are 480 by 640 px. You can double check by exporting the stock videos to avi, and then looking at the properties. There may be a button on the rad tools to look at the bik properties directly.

Posted: Sun Dec 11, 2011 1:48 am
by jetnova16
MrVulcan wrote:The tools here work just fine for adding sound to the videos. I think it is just a matter of tweaking some audio settings.

If I recall correctly, you need to specify which audio file to use with the video. It does not automatically take audio from the avi. Might be wrong on this, but do check that out.

Can't really offer much on making them full screen. Are the videos the right size? I think the stock ones are 480 by 640 px. You can double check by exporting the stock videos to avi, and then looking at the properties. There may be a button on the rad tools to look at the bik properties directly.
No, the tools here don't work just fine. I tried them multiple times (like 12 times) and each time it crashed. They do not work on Windows Vista, they are too old. At least, they aren't working on Windows Vista Home Premium Service Pack 2.

If you download and put the files that I have supplied in the download link (AKA the ones that I have created, you can actually see the problems with them) Hopefully you have the RAD Video Tools and can play them (especially the newer version) because you can hear the sound. Then if you put them in the game, you can see why they also need to be made Full Screen.

Re: Replacin The Opening .BIK Animation Videos

Posted: Thu Dec 23, 2021 6:46 am
by Sedaris
Hey, I hope someone can help me here. I also try to replace the intro video with my upscaled videos. I already tried the latest version of Rad Tool and the old version from Armadafleetcommand. Sadly, I didn't have any success. I can only guess that, as with Bridge Commander, the game only accept certain video settings. Has anyone an idea what those settings would be?