Klingon Academy Tholian War (KA upgrade) Total conversion

The best Modding forum in the Armada community, some of the best modders come here.

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Klingon Academy Tholian War (KA upgrade) Total conversion

Post by kurn » Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:56 am

hello there for any one who may read this i have been working on an upgrade of sorts for the armada 1 klingon academy total conversion mod. until recently i have been really busy and unable to work on it but for this winter break i plan on putting a large dent in the amount of work to finish this mod. i plan to completely overhaul the game into the motion picture era and bring about 5 more races into the game. once completed you will be able to play full races for the 3 main races of course (fed, rom, kling) as well as the gorn, orion pirates, hydran, lyran, Interstellar Concordium, Kzinti or Mirak star league, and the tholians. i am getting my models from star fleet command orion pirates and i will essentially be turning it into more starfleet command in terms of ships and races though for sake of convenience i will just simply call it klingon academy instead of changing all of the things. since the tholians will take place of the borg they will be invading in the single player rather than the borg. i am currently looking for any one willing to test it out in its current state. as of right now the orion pirates are complete and the hydrans too although i may eventually add some things. i am currently working on the lyrans and am close to being finished with them. when i finish it i plan on having all single player missions completly redone and working as well as adding my own story to it. i would love to have some feedback to this as i have been hoping there are people still interested in armada :D
here are some pictures

My load screen
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... screen.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

Lyran ships
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... hot002.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

lyran stations
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... t000-2.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

hydran stations
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... t000-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

hydran ships
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... t001-1.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

the new coloring for all the menus
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... /multi.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

Pirate STations
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... hot001.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

Pirate ships
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... hot000.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">

MajorPayne
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 1752
Joined: Wed Apr 23, 2003 2:00 am

Post by MajorPayne » Tue Dec 20, 2011 5:22 am

Well I can tell you now that A1 isn't so much played but if the downloads of my latest mod are anything to go by its more a very small circle of players and modders that would use your project. I've not had a massive amount of downloads myself and I would suggest you know the same.

Looking over your current content I would say it looks interesting but then any project does until its release and play. There isn't a massive amount you can change with A1 either as the modding capabilities are far less than A2, but keep at it.

Finally you would be well advised to advertise this on A2files and the Fleet Ops forums as well, if you haven't already.

User avatar
eddy94
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 52
Joined: Mon Jun 21, 2010 2:00 am
Location: UK, Skelmersdale
Contact:

Post by eddy94 » Tue Dec 20, 2011 1:27 pm

Looks amazing! I still pay A1 rather than A2 becuase for some reason I prefer A1. The Lyran ships do look the coolest. If your looking for someone to test it I'll happily do that for you and help in any way I can if you want the help. I'll be looking forward to when its completed. :)
eddy94

User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by kurn » Tue Dec 20, 2011 3:39 pm

@MajorPayne
okay well i kinda figured the a1 community had grown smaller but i knew there were still gamers out there interested in it and passionate as me.
@eddy94
thanks for your interest i sent you an email i dont know if you got it or not let me know so i can send you my mod.

User avatar
Dominus_Noctis
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dominus_Noctis » Tue Dec 20, 2011 8:06 pm

If you are serious about launching a mod of this caliber I would strongly suggest to use Fleet Ops as a base platform. Armada 1 and 2 are both antiquated in terms of numbers of bugs/crashes, modding capabilities, performance downfall and so on: in addition you will have the largest possible audience for your efforts.

Likewise, you will always have the most up-to-date software and support when it comes to bugs and modding requests. Sadly, most people cannot even use Armada I, and that is becoming the same case for Armada II due to graphics cards+2GB limit+OS etc.

User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by kurn » Tue Dec 20, 2011 10:27 pm

i have star trek armada 2 but i havent really modded it and i dont really plan on it. i dont like it compared to the first im not sure what it is it just feels like to me theres something missing. also since i have been working on this for so long i really would like to finish it. i will check out fleet operations though.

User avatar
Dominus_Noctis
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dominus_Noctis » Wed Dec 21, 2011 8:42 pm

Modding Armada I is very similar to modding Armada II or Fleet Operations, just with more/expanded options. In terms of gameplay and playability though, they are very different beasts obviously.

Fleet Operations has the benefit of having every single command documented in the game in a detailed fashion (and by extension Armada II). It also is more similar to A1, due to the customizability of height (you can remove that entirely for instance) and a lot of other items added in A2 that weren't present in A1 ->Doca and Optec are big fans of A1 and thus took a lot from that when coding Fleet Ops. Next FO patches will also add back the superside units, planets that give bonuses, etc.

User avatar
jetnova16
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 2:00 am
Location: NY State
Contact:

Post by jetnova16 » Wed Dec 21, 2011 11:06 pm

Who by any chance created the original Klingon Acadamy Mod? Wasn't it SquireJames? I ask because he released a Klingon Acadamy Mod for Armada II called Klingon Acadamy The General War and it was ok.

Do you have his permission (if he is the creator of Klingon Acadamy) to re-release his work with your additions? Or have you totally re-worked and replaced everything?

User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by kurn » Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:02 pm

i have permission from him and he did do that. his KA total conversion for a1 was in need of improvement and i decided to more or less finish it. i dont really like a2 very much and i have been modding a1 for a while so i took on this project. as i said im adding about 4 races and redoing all the existing races as well as everything. like i said since im taking everything from star fleet command, its more of a star fleet command mod but just for the sake of convenience so i dont have to go back and change everything. i havent actually played Klingon Academy myself but i would like to if possible to maybe bring in some of that games influence.

User avatar
jetnova16
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 408
Joined: Sat May 23, 2009 2:00 am
Location: NY State
Contact:

Post by jetnova16 » Thu Dec 22, 2011 5:32 pm

kurn wrote:i have permission from him and he did do that. his KA total conversion for a1 was in need of improvement and i decided to more or less finish it. i dont really like a2 very much and i have been modding a1 for a while so i took on this project. as i said im adding about 4 races and redoing all the existing races as well as everything. like i said since im taking everything from star fleet command, its more of a star fleet command mod but just for the sake of convenience so i dont have to go back and change everything. i havent actually played Klingon Academy myself but i would like to if possible to maybe bring in some of that games influence.
I find that the graphics for A1 leave something to be desired and thus make the game terrible, A2 is like 100% and 100 times better. KA2 is even better than it was for A1, he made it better for A2. I have used some of the ships from that game for my Star Trek Armada II Spanning The Generations Mod

User avatar
kurn
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 117
Joined: Sun Mar 25, 2007 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by kurn » Thu Dec 22, 2011 9:36 pm

i actually feel the same about a2. personally playing a2 is just not the same for me. i feel it seems dull somehow im not really sure how to explain it. i have played a1 for years before i even touched a2 so that could be part of it. thats just my opinion however.

User avatar
fuller
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:00 am

Post by fuller » Tue Jan 17, 2012 4:39 am

yeah, but a1 is easier and i prfer it because it has worse grafics-it looks more game like- like the sensors are failing. also, you need to collect allsorts of junk to build ships on a2-just dilithium and crew on a1.

User avatar
Dominus_Noctis
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Nov 22, 2010 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by Dominus_Noctis » Tue Jan 17, 2012 1:12 pm

You can of course make the graphics as bad as you like on either game - just as you can modify what resources you need to build ships in A2 ^^

User avatar
fuller
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 137
Joined: Fri Sep 23, 2011 2:00 am

Post by fuller » Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:18 am

i suppose so, but i still think a1 is better

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot]