Adding new ships to A2.

Here you will find tutorials on modding

Moderators: thunderchero, MrVulcan

Post Reply
User avatar
Rogue1474
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:00 am

Adding new ships to A2.

Post by Rogue1474 »

Hi all. I've recentlt got myself a copy of Armada II and after playing it for a while found this site. I downloaded some maps and a few mods all worked well, I then had a look at some of the ships that where avliable to download and decided to add these as well. I downlaoded the Fed Cheyenne ship which installed itself perfectly then installed a Prometheus ship which has over wrote the Cheyenne ship. What I would like to know is there a way so that I can have more than one add on ship? Or am I limited to just one downloaded ship add on? Sorry for the noobish question but I've not much experience with mods and add ons. Any help would be most welcome and appreciated.

Cheers.

Rogue.
User avatar
jolt
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 2:00 am

Post by jolt »

Hello and welcome to the site!

First of all, it's a freqeunt question which can be solved quite easily.

Rather then give a long winded explanation here, I suggest you look for the Big Book of Modding by Westworld on this site in the download section and look at the part for adding a new ship.

If you have any more problem's, I suggest you come back here and ask again.

Hope that helps :D
Engage!


"A2 Files Site Admin...darn proud of it too!"
CaptSyf
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1497
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 3:00 am
Location: Leaving you to wonder...
Contact:

Post by CaptSyf »

Welcome to AFC, Rogue1474.

Like Jolt said, start with getting the Modding book "W.B.B.O.M.". It's the holy grail of tutorials around here. It will get you started on a path of modding like you've never imagined.

Anyways, in short to answer your question, Yes you can have more than one addon ship. You'll just have to manually edit a few things. It's the fun part of modding. You'll find you can add hundreds of ships, stations, and other things.
The end of one Era is near... Star Trek Armada II - All Good Things...
User avatar
CmdrJack
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 2:00 am
Location: Im on the bridge of the U.S.S. Scorpion.
Contact:

Post by CmdrJack »

Here is, Westworld Big Book of Modding In PDF format

https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/afc/ ... pe=url#get

or this format of, Westworld Big Book of Modding in Word 2000 format

https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/afc/ ... pe=url#get

You can try this one: How to add new Ships, Build Buttons, Wire frames

https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/afc/ ... pe=url#get


Hope this helps
User avatar
Rogue1474
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2005 2:00 am

Post by Rogue1474 »

Cheers people thanks for the welcome and thanks for the help. I'll try the things you recomended. I'll let you know how it goes, thanks again.
CaptSyf
Commander
Commander
Posts: 1497
Joined: Sun Apr 04, 2004 3:00 am
Location: Leaving you to wonder...
Contact:

Post by CaptSyf »

Your most welcome. Feel free to stop in anytime. :wink:
The end of one Era is near... Star Trek Armada II - All Good Things...
User avatar
imagin
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 151
Joined: Tue Aug 15, 2006 2:00 am

Post by imagin »

Hmmmmmm I just tryed out weastworld's book. I found nothing in there aout ADDING ships, I only found instructions on making ships.
kips
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 260
Joined: Tue Aug 23, 2005 2:00 am
Location: South Wales
Contact:

Post by kips »

imagin it's about learning the method, once you understand the method you can do anything.
The W.B.B.O.M. teaches that method after that you got the rest of us to ask the questions and together we solve any gaps.
life is life and death well thats a pain in the neck.

Fighting member of the Four Star Alliance.
It has begun...
User avatar
pepperman
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Cloaked in the Neutral Zone

Post by pepperman »

First, don't use the auto installers as they will over right what has been done previously. Use the auto installer to extract the ship into a directory of your choosing other than the Armada folder. Once you have done this you need to manually add the ship/station to the game. The general process goes like this.

1. You need to copy the extracted files into the appropriate folders in the Armada directory. For example,

Copy the *.SOD to your Armada SOD directory
C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek Armada II\SOD

Copy the object definition files (*.odf) from their respective folders to your Armada ODF Directories
C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek Armada II\odf\ships
C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek Armada II\odf\weapons
C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek Armada II\odf\special_weapons

Copy the graphics files (*.tga) to your Armada Textures/Rgb Directory
C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek Armada II\Textures\RGB

Copy the ship bitmap image to the respective Admiral’s log directory
C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek Armada II\bitmaps\AdmiralsLog\ShipImages

2. Mod the shipyard files and make it buildable by the shipyard

Open the respective shipyard odf file (e.g., fyard.odf) and insert a new builditem under the construction parameters:

// Construction Parameters
buildItemX = "shipname"

Where X is the next available number in the sequence.

3. Mod the appropriate Techfile files

Open an appropriate techtree file (e.g., tech1.tt is for standard tech mode) and add the following lines. For example,

fcruise4.odf 2 fyard.odf fresear.odf // cruiser3 (Interceptor class)

4. Mod the Gui_global.spr to add build buttons and wireframes. For example,

Open the gui_global.spr file located in the Sprites folder.
C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek Armada II\Sprites

Add the following buttons under the # Federation build buttons header:

@reference=64

# Build button for the U.S.S. Interceptor NX-77197
b_fcruise4 gbfcruise4 0 0 64 64

Now add the wireframe references under the following header:

# Federation wireframes
# Building Wireframes
@reference=256

# Wireframe for the U.S.S. Interceptor NX-77197
Fcruise4w1 fcruise4wf 0 0 48 48
Fcruise4w2 fcruise4wf 48 0 48 48
Fcruise4w3 fcruise4wf 96 0 48 48
Fcruise4w4 fcruise4wf 144 0 48 48
Fcruise4w5 fcruise4wf 192 0 48 48

5. Mod the weapon.spr to add weapon references

6. Mod the events.dat to add sound references

7. the Dynamic_Localized_Strings.h to add tooltips and the like

All of the above editing is gone with a simple text editor. This should make the ship playable by you. To make it playable by the computer you will also need to mod the AI files.

Hope this helps.
User avatar
steviegirl
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 196
Joined: Thu Jun 05, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Hanford,Cali
Contact:

Post by steviegirl »

:D He's right!Copy that list above!It is very hard to add ships to armada,or,armada 2.Even if you don't have the wireframe in the gui global sprite file,your ships sould still work,mind you! :twisted:
"He´s dead Jim,you get the tri-corder,I´ll get his wallet."
User avatar
cecilzero1
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2226
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: from the Dark Side of the moon
Contact:

Post by cecilzero1 »

steviegirl wrote::D He's right!Copy that list above!It is very hard to add ships to armada,or,armada 2.Even if you don't have the wireframe in the gui global sprite file,your ships sould still work,mind you! :twisted:
its not that hard lol of course i been doing it for god knows how long about a 6-12 months after A1 came out....
Image
Post Reply