Page 1 of 1

AI damage, is it more?

Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 12:50 am
by weyoun782
Does the AI in armada 1 do more damage? for instance, say if I had a sovereign class, and the computer had a sovereign class, and we sent them at each other, does the AI sovereign do more damage than usual?

Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 1:25 am
by MrVulcan
That depends on the AI difficulty. That is, the AI does diffferent damage on easy, medium and hard settings. Take a look at the RTS_CFG.h file in the root directory for vairous modifiers based on the difficulty settings.
// DIFFICULTY SETTINGS
//

// AI special weapon fire rate
float EASY_SPECIAL_WEAPON_FIRE_MODIFIER = 2.0;
float DEFAULT_SPECIAL_WEAPON_FIRE_MODIFIER = 1.0;
float HARD_SPECIAL_WEAPON_FIRE_MODIFIER = 0.2;

// Build cost multiplier handicap for hard AI
float HARD_AI_COST_AND_SPEED_HANDICAP = 0.4;
float MEDIUM_AI_COST_AND_SPEED_HANDICAP = 0.8;

// Percent chance that AI fleets will cloak for long moves in Instant Action
// and Multiplayer AI (provided they can!)
float HARD_AI_CLOAK_PERCENT = 75;
float MEDIUM_AI_CLOAK_PERCENT = 50;
float EASY_AI_CLOAK_PERCENT = 25;


// At what range of a move command will AI cloak in Instant Action and MP?
float cfg_MIN_MOVE_DISTANCE_FOR_CLOAK = 1500.0;

// Damage coefficients for incoming damage for user in single player
float EASY_DAMAGE = 0.5;
float HARD_DAMAGE = 2.0;
EDIT: oops, cabal beat me too it.

Posted: Fri Dec 19, 2008 1:27 am
by weyoun782
ok thanks, I thought that the AI was doing double damage, I'm going to change that, my AI already builds alot of ships, they don't exactly need a handicap against me.