A2 ships converted for A1

Here you will find tutorials on modding

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

galac
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year

A2 ships converted for A1

Post by galac » Thu Aug 29, 2013 2:19 am

Hi guys...I play A1 since its release to this day. :D I always considered prequel better than sequel. I did some tweaking with odf files and made possible dominion, son'a, etc. ships buildable in instant action. However i'd like to see some ships from A2 in A1. I saw couple months ago that some guys converted Borg from A1 to A2, so i think this would be possible to convert ships, stations from A2 to A1. So, if anybody can help me and cheer me up i would be deeply thankfull..Guys please help me :)

Tommygun_BoG
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year

Post by Tommygun_BoG » Thu Aug 29, 2013 3:46 am

galac
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year

Post by galac » Thu Aug 29, 2013 5:50 am

thx mate...

any tutorial how to use it, how to convert? i'm new in this stuff

Tommygun_BoG
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year

Post by Tommygun_BoG » Thu Aug 29, 2013 7:17 am

You're welcome.

Yes a manual (PDF and Word) is included in the archive file.

galac
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year

Post by galac » Thu Aug 29, 2013 8:42 am

i'll try something....i have 3ds max 7 d'loaded...so i import sod from A2 and than export it to A1, right...

Tommygun_BoG
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year

Post by Tommygun_BoG » Thu Aug 29, 2013 9:27 am

galac wrote:i'll try something....i have 3ds max 7 d'loaded...so i import sod from A2 and than export it to A1, right...
Basically, yes.
You import the A2 sod file using Mr. Vulcan's script.
Run the script like it's described in the manual.
I don't know if you can re-export it without changes to the hierarchy of the SOD (I think A1 SODs need to have a 'root' hp where all the other hps, sprites,... are parented to).
Also, you'll need to remove the alpha channels from the texture files because the will appear transparent ingame instead of being used as light maps.