FUTURE TENSE TEASER TRAILER RELEASED!

30 Years after "Nemesis" The torch of adventure is about to be passed from the Next Generation to the New Generation on an all new Enterprise

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Phantom
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 1704
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 2:00 am

Post by Phantom » Mon Aug 27, 2007 2:35 pm

pal23 wrote: why are we waiting for it to be released lol


... Cause it isnt released yet?
Image

User avatar
Elrond
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Elrond » Tue Aug 28, 2007 1:12 am

LoL that was pretty obvious. :lol:
Dead

User avatar
martian
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 2:00 am

Post by martian » Sun Sep 02, 2007 3:57 pm

I would absolutely LOVE to know two things about future tense :D ; namely....
Can you give us some pointers on scripting? those cutscenes from the first 4 minutes of the opening movie look great! 8) Second and in a similar category, how did you film the onscreen action? with a camera or a program and if the latter case what program?

Phantom
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 1704
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 2:00 am

Post by Phantom » Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:37 pm

It all was shot in 3DS Max.


The models are Armada Models with Mesh Smoothers n Bump Maps.

The Bridge was created by Nutsy on Sci-Fi Meshes and allowed Future Tense to use it.



:)
Image

User avatar
martian
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 2:00 am

Post by martian » Sun Sep 02, 2007 8:52 pm

So did you film it on screen with a camera or did you use a program?
And what did you use to decompile the jibbeish that is a mission script file?

User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan » Mon Sep 03, 2007 12:42 am

3DS Max renders the animation into an avi movie, as far as I know. Perhaps a different format, but the result is all the same. My apologies if my memory deceives me; but, I believe Movie Maker was used to put the whole thing together.

Mission scripts are still mostly gibberish. There's been limited headway made into deciphering the script. Precisely what we've been able to tinker with is classified for the time being :)

User avatar
martian
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 19
Joined: Sun Sep 18, 2005 2:00 am

Post by martian » Mon Sep 03, 2007 1:03 am

Blast and double drat! Ive been desperately wanting to use scripts to whip up precisely choreographed battles which I could film on screen.
But hey If3ds Max makes things that simple (relatively anyhow) pherhaps I just need to rethink my method....

Phantom
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 1704
Joined: Thu May 08, 2003 2:00 am

Post by Phantom » Mon Sep 03, 2007 4:39 am

I wouldnt say 3DS is simple lol.


VirtualDub was used to compile all the shots. Each view is one shot.

After that was done a music backing was edited to hell to fit, sound effects were then added, impulse engines, phasers et au, and so on n so forth, then 55hrs and 45mins were spent compiling the AVI into a BINK format animation for armada to read. Insane for what 12 minutes of animation lol.



Ad'
Image

User avatar
Romulan_Fury
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 82
Joined: Tue Jun 22, 2004 2:00 am
Location: Classified
Contact:

Post by Romulan_Fury » Wed Sep 05, 2007 3:45 am

I remember using 3ds max in high school. I had a tough time of it just making a fish swim underwater, I can't imagine the headache that comes with something so complex as this, lol.
´Tis more brave to live, than to die.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users