the first model for my eaw foc mod

Model makers. Got something to show of or brag about?? Then show 'em off here, but read the rules first

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
assainator
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

the first model for my eaw foc mod

Post by assainator » Sat May 10, 2008 5:59 am

heeey everyone!

i have some pictures of a model of my mod (http://www.eawfocmeetingmod.weebly.com)

it is sopposed to be a "noraxan class warbird"


it´s polycount is 3716

assainator

User avatar
doci7
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:00 am

Post by doci7 » Sun May 11, 2008 2:37 pm

Way to go! One of my first models was the "norexan" also, and if nothing else you did a much better job with the front end than I did. Certainly you managed a better poly-count.

User avatar
assainator
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

Post by assainator » Mon May 12, 2008 9:56 am

my greatest poly count was: 3917 (i tought.)
the brid of prey mk1 (same site as above)
i've also done:

the delta flyer
brid of prey mk2
nova class starship
defiant class starship

and i'm working on:

borg assimilation cube

so, i'm doing a lot of modelling in a short time. (at least 1 model a day (my higescore: 3 with the same detail as shown above and my: agressor class destroyer frigate (also on this site )))

assainator

ps. because you like the front, should i post a close picture?

User avatar
doci7
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:00 am

Post by doci7 » Mon May 12, 2008 11:46 am

That sounds rigorous (making the cube couldn't be too hard, though :D ). I tried and failed to put myself on a one ship-per-day schedule. Again, your mastery of low polys is to me quite impressive (if you've seen my post in this 3d Artwork forum, that ship has such a high number of polys that I'd rather not say just how many there are). And yes, I would like to see more pictures! Include some of the other models if you'd like.

User avatar
assainator
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

Post by assainator » Tue May 13, 2008 1:56 am

you can view the model pictures at:
http://www.eawfocmeetingmod.weebly.com

then to ships, and then i have in every catagory at least one model

and yes a cube is not difficult but i want to add the details on the model, not on the texture.

o and there is one little problem, my trail version has run out so i have to registrate it. so no pictures for a little while.

assainator

ps. maybe i have a litle trick for you to lower your ploycount: use the ëxtrude tool as much as posibble, it realy lowers your poly count. i made a model with and without the tool: with 900 without 1200

User avatar
doci7
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:00 am

Post by doci7 » Tue May 13, 2008 11:06 am

Yes, I have been trying to extrude as much as I can (now) but I find it difficult at times, and it isn't useful for everything, as you know. Thanks for the link!

User avatar
assainator
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

Post by assainator » Wed May 14, 2008 1:11 am

it is not difficult (yes, at the beginning but later......)

just choose "select" with "face" and "ignore backfaces" checked. and then select the faces you want to extrude, and then use the extrude tool.
(make sure you are on the right point of view, that's the problem i had)

very useful! you get (with a cube) 2 poly's less with the extrution tool. and the faces have almost the size you want them to have

assainator

User avatar
doci7
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 201
Joined: Sun Feb 10, 2008 3:00 am

Post by doci7 » Wed May 14, 2008 10:40 am

That may be all well and good for a Milkshape modeler, but I make my models in gmax and that program has an irksome "ignore backfaces" system (it seems to like to include side-faces in the selection). Still, I feel that the benefits of gmax outweigh the difficulties, so I plan to continue to use it. But thank you for making sure that I knew what I was doing.

User avatar
assainator
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

Post by assainator » Wed May 14, 2008 11:04 am

no thanks but a last hope sugestion:

try to select the faces as much to the middle and zoom in.

but even if i download gmax, 3ds max 8 i still use milkshape to make the models, it is just very easy (in my opinion)

assainator

(ps. the site above has been updated!)

User avatar
pepperman
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Cloaked in the Neutral Zone

Post by pepperman » Sun May 25, 2008 9:23 pm

I assume you are making this ship becuase you want to get the practice but if not a nice model already exists. You can get it here. It is pposted in the A2 section but it is actually for Armada.


https://www.armadafleetcommand.com/afc/m ... s&lid=1647

User avatar
assainator
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 66
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zutphen, Netherlands

Post by assainator » Tue May 27, 2008 5:04 am

you said it yourself, it is for armada (2) not for empire at war forces of corruption. and there are those models for.

assainator

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests