Page 7 of 10

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 7:25 pm
by USS_Oblivion
blah, what about- the house of DUMAS

Posted: Tue Dec 30, 2008 8:11 pm
by pepperman
Cabal, sounds good

Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 11:04 am
by pepperman
Looking good there cabal

Posted: Fri Jan 02, 2009 12:32 pm
by kurn
so wait how did you change the thing that says star trek armada?

Posted: Sat Jan 03, 2009 7:44 pm
by kurn
well thanks to that heres my new load screen
<img src="http://i365.photobucket.com/albums/oo99 ... screen.jpg" border="0" alt="Photobucket">
im still working on more ships though

Posted: Fri Jan 09, 2009 11:06 am
by steviegirl
Ya,Baby! :lol:

Posted: Sat Jan 10, 2009 10:19 am
by pepperman
Hopefully, the Romulans won. :D

Anyways, you mod continues to look better and better cabal.

FahreS's new running lights do look sweet indeed. Might have to start including lights on the models I realease from now on. :wink:

steviegirl...good to see you back..thought we might have lost you there for a while.

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 5:27 pm
by pepperman
Okay, so I take it you are making your own build buttons and wireframes for these ships that you have added. If so, what software package are you using and describe the setting you are using when you save them as a TGA file.

If not, please clarify. :D

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 6:12 pm
by MrVulcan
Are you adding the appropriate code to the gui_global.spr ?

Can you please describe in more detail what you are doing to add the build buttons/wireframes.

And as pepperman said, you've got to make sure your textures are in the correct tga format.

Make sure that the gui_global wireframe and buttons code refers to the correct ship.

The code for buttons:
b_shipname texname 0 0 64 64

The standard code for wireframes.
shipnamew1 texname 40 0 40 40
shipnamew2 texname 0 40 40 40
shipnamew3 texname 40 40 40 40
shipnamew4 texname 80 0 40 40
shipnamew5 texname 0 0 40 40

Note the "w#" after shipname.

Make sure that the @reference=128 line is valid for the texture you're using.

EDIT: Made a mistake in that code sample. Oops! Fixed now.

Posted: Mon Jan 19, 2009 11:01 pm
by MrVulcan
Two things I can suggest

One: check that the shipname in the code is the same as the odf name. If you are using the baseName line in any of your odfs, make sure you use just the file name and not the extension. I've seen people use something like baseName = "fbattle.SOD".

Two: do you have the correct texture reference size?

The stock gbfbld200 texture is 128x128, but the new buttons are probably 64x64. You'll need to add:

@reference=64

Before the buttons that use the 64x64 textures and

@reference=128

Before the buttons that use the 128x128 textures.

Note that those references already exist in the gui code. You can just add your buttons under the appropriate reference lines.

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 4:44 pm
by pepperman
Fallengraces,

how about posting exactly what you have done...exact filenames uses, extract code from the sprites etc so we can see why this ain't working. It isn't that hard to make the build buttones and wireframes show up providing nothing is wrong with the graphic files themselves

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:54 pm
by pepperman
based on what you have described, i would think one of two things are amiss:

1. The manner in which the tga file is saved. It needs to be a TGA file, uncompressed 24 bit. Some graphics programs have troubles saving TGA files correctly.

2. The location of the coding (the coding to add the button and/or wireframe) within the sprirte file or the coding itself could be in error. It is a good rule of thumb to make everything name compatiple (assumes that you have made the model and texture file work together. For example

fspecial.sod - the model file

fspecial.tga - the texture file for the model

fspecial.odf - object definition file

gbfspecial.tga - the build button texture (typically 64x64 pixels if it is a stand alone button). if it is a 64 x 64 graphic, the coding needs to go under a @reference=64 reference in the gui_global.spr

the coding would look something like this

# Build buttons
@reference=64
b_fspecial gbfspecial 0 0 64 64

fwspec.tga - thre wireframe graphic (typically 128 x 128 pixels). if it is a 128 x 128 graphic it needs to go under the following reference

@reference=128
@tmaterial=interface

also in the gui_global.spr

the coding would like something like this

# Ship Wireframes
@reference=128
@tmaterial=interface
fspecialw1 fwspec 40 0 40 40
fspecialw2 fwspec 0 40 40 40
fspecialw3 fwspec 40 40 40 40
fspecialw4 fwspec 80 0 40 40
fspecialw5 fwspec 0 0 40 40

Posted: Wed Jan 21, 2009 9:01 pm
by MrVulcan
Uncompressed 32 will work also. Just means that the texture has an alpha channel for transparant parts.

Seeing as the buttons are not showing up, the most likely cause is that you're missing the appropriate code in gui_global.spr. It is very important that the shipname in "b_ShipName" is the same as the odf name.

To check if your textures are uncompressed, check the file size.

64x64 24 bit: 12.5 kb
64x64 32 bit: 16 kb

128x128 24 bit: 48 kb
128x128 24 bit: 64 kb

If the button file size is different, there the texture is either compressed or has non-standard dimensions. Either way, it'll need fixing.

Posted: Mon Feb 09, 2009 11:07 pm
by MrVulcan
Nice work getting these together, cabal :) The fleet looks excellent.

The modified defiant seems to stand out, unless that was the intention. How about some other section 31 ships with darker hulls? Not to imply that it doesn't look good; just a suggestion.

Posted: Tue Feb 10, 2009 10:43 pm
by AFC
First Federation Mission like you never seen it before.
"PREMONITIONS"

Image