Page 1 of 1

Star Trek Armada 1

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:48 am
by azlikeme
So I have been trying to play armada with a friend of mine on my home LAN with no luck. I've tried gameranger and the in-game LAN. We can't see each others game no matter what we use. I have installed the game on two of my computers which run on XP. I also used to play the game online when WON.net was up on both of these computers. Any Ideas?

Also, I know that I can play other games between these two computers because I can play games like BOTF over LAN on them.

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:47 am
by MajorPayne
Please use the EDIT button in future as thats what its there for.

As for your A1 problem. Do you get any mismatch or is the game just not showing for one person??

Posted: Mon Jul 18, 2011 9:57 am
by MrVulcan
If you're trying to play on LAN, you don't need gameranger. Just make sure that your firewall on both computers is not blocking the game.

For gameranger, you should be able to see eachother's games, but again, you need to make sure that the firewall is not blocking gameranger. The port to keep open for gameranger is 16000 UDP. Same goes if you have a router.

Posted: Sun Jul 24, 2011 2:24 pm
by jcullenjr
Hi there,

I've had this problem too when trying to play Armada across my LAN in Windows 7. Regardless of which PC began hosting, the other would not be able to see the game.

We solved this eventually by making changes to the Windows firewall. We allowed the program to be totally allowed through. You may have to manually specify the location of the program (.exe file) you want to create allowances/exceptions for. This will be somewhere like C:\Program Files\Activision\Star Trek - Armada\Armada.exe unless you have set it elsewhere. Also being a Windows 7 user I had that .exe already set for compatibility mode as Windows XP SP 3.

Strangely enough even after totally allowing the programs through, it would only allow connections in one direction. Computer A would always have to be the host for example, and then Computer B would be able to see and join the game. We never got it work in reverse. The only difference is that Computer A ran Windows 7 Professional 64-bit, and Computer B ran Windows 7 Home Premium 64-bit.

Feel free to reply to discuss further. Since this is happening to you on a Windows XP network the details may be a little different, but I believe it is the same concept that's affecting you. Nice to see Armada 1 players still out there - Maybe when this is fixed we can get games going! I am a network engineer so I have a few ideas about making that old game still connect over the internet.

Thanks!

Posted: Mon Jul 25, 2011 11:11 am
by Dominus_Noctis
There are a number of A1 players on the Tunngle network for Armada 1 :) . I am not sure how regular they are, but there are often at least 1-2 people in the lobby.

Can you help me?

Posted: Fri Jan 13, 2012 9:49 am
by fuller
hi, as you seem to know a lot about Armada 1 do you know about the command screnns moving? when i was trying to type in a cheat code i hit something else and now every command is under one another in the left hand top corner. :cry:

Posted: Wed Jan 18, 2012 4:33 am
by fuller
by the way, my game is fixed thanks to Mr_Vulcan.