Trouble running Armada II on a new Windows 8 computer

Our General Discussion Forum. This is the main forum of AFC, and is used for talking about just about anything you like ... Please, do not advertise, 'spam' or 'flame' in this forum.

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
mhurn
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:00 am

Trouble running Armada II on a new Windows 8 computer

Post by mhurn » Mon Apr 15, 2013 6:57 pm

[size=12]I have an HP Envy m4 laptop running the 64 bit version of Windows 8. The laptop has 8GB of RAM and a 1TB hard drive of which 850GB is currently free. The virtual memory is currently set as follows:
4.5GB initial size
6.0GM maximum size

I have successfully installed Armada II; however, when I start the game a pop up appears with the following message:

[quote]
Sorry, there is not enough memory to continue.
Please make sure that you have at least 50GB free on your hard drive and that virtual memory is not disabled.
[/quote]

Can any of you offer some help?
[/size]

User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 659
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan » Tue Apr 16, 2013 2:00 pm

I have not seen anyone successfully running Armada on a Win8 machine, but the error you're getting is because you have more than 2 GB of RAM. To fix this, I recommend installing the unofficial 1.3 patch. You may find it here:

http://www.moddb.com/games/star-trek-ar ... 13-project

Besides this, you should run under compatility modes for XP SP2. Installing the game in a directory other than the default (ei, program files) helps too.

User avatar
mhurn
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Apr 15, 2013 2:00 am

Thank You

Post by mhurn » Thu Apr 18, 2013 9:24 pm

[size=12]Thank you. Will try your suggestions in the near future.[/size]

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests