odd problem thats stopping me from modding

developer of new ships and mods for the armada 1-2 game

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

odd problem thats stopping me from modding

Post by uss_capital » Tue Sep 11, 2007 10:20 pm

i have an odd problem thats stopping me from modding , since my reinstall of win xp i now get the out of memory error . i have tried everything even tried a stock version of a2 , i still get this so does any body know how to solve this ?

User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan » Tue Sep 11, 2007 10:30 pm

Try running under a different compatibility mode. Also, lowering video accelleration might help.

If that fails, try rolling back drivers.

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Tue Sep 11, 2007 11:01 pm

i have tried 4 different drivers even the latest 2 nvidia beta's , i have 3 gig of ddr2 mem running a 8800gts and a a64 6000 x2 and i still have probs , so much for getting an updated system built , looks like this mod will have to wait till i get a new psu and mem for my of system built out of old parts :?

User avatar
Elrond
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Elrond » Thu Sep 13, 2007 2:37 am

If it's the "out of virtual memory" error, it's probably the hard drive's FAT (file allocation table) that's corrupted or severely fragmented (windows xp defragmenter usually won't completely fix that problem if it helps it at all). Sometimes this thing doesn't go away without a complete reformat. Reinstalling XP may not solve it unless you reformat the drive first. It's probably not your graphics card or your ram.

If you already reformatted before the install, then it'll either be the ram or the hard drive, probably the hard drive.

Sorry if this doesn't help.
Dead

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Fri Sep 14, 2007 10:58 am

not running a fat partion , the drive is only a few months old :(

it is a new install of xp

User avatar
Elrond
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2629
Joined: Mon May 03, 2004 2:00 am

Post by Elrond » Fri Sep 14, 2007 6:27 pm

Well, probably NTFS, still involves a file allocation table. I've not seen a drive go bad after just a few months before, and on a new install of xp. I'm not too sure if reformatting would do the job or not in that case.

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Fri Sep 14, 2007 9:32 pm

i forgot to add it was setup on a new partion , i always do this when reinstalling windows

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Thu Sep 20, 2007 5:30 pm

sorted it out , had to remove 1 gig of memory . it seems a2 will not run with more than 2 gig of memory for me :?

User avatar
MrVulcan
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Location: TO CA

Post by MrVulcan » Thu Sep 20, 2007 6:35 pm

Congratulations of repairing the problem. Actually, what may be happening is that the game does not work with quantities of ram that are not powers of two. I remember having the game behave strangely when I had 384mb of ram (three sticks or 128). Never figured out what was causing the game to misbehave; maybe it was something else.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users