Star Trek vs. Star Wars

The place where serious discussions can take place.

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

znite94
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year

Star Trek vs. Star Wars

Post by znite94 » Fri Jul 21, 2006 6:33 pm

Ok, so this one might have been done before, but hey, It's my first time to do this one:

In a battle between the Federation and the Empire, would the Federation be more powerful, would the Empire be more powerful, or would it come down to the minds in command and the tactics they choose.

Personally, I'd love to see that battle go down. I think it really would come down to the minds in command and the tactics the chose. Both sides have their advantage over the other. Some examples:

The Federations cloak is better. (Yes, I know the Federation isn't allowed to develop cloaking technology, but they did, and it kicked the Romulan cloak's butt)
The Federation ships are more manuverable than the Imperial starcruisers.
On the other hand, Heavy Turbo lazers seem to be more powerful.
The Empire has hyperdrive that, while it is more difficult to navigate in hyperspace, they could bring reinforcments faster: case and point, it was going to take Voyager 70-80 years to travel across the galaxy at maximum warp, whereas for a starcruiser to travel across the galaxy it is a matter of weeks.

So, that's where I start it, anyone else have an opinion?
In a Galaxy where disorder reigns, there is the USS BLAZER

rodglas
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade

Post by rodglas » Fri Jul 21, 2006 7:29 pm

Realisticly if this battle could happen the Empire would utterly destroy the Federation. Sheilds and weapons on Imperial ships are far far superior, and the Empire has tens of thousands of warships.

Also the Empire has the resourses of over a million worlds to draw from. The Federation has only 150ish member worlds and a fleet of maybe a few thousand ships.

This would really be a no contest kind of situation, SW military tech is just too powerful.

znite94