star wars empire at war:demo released

Any Games game you play including Play Station X-Box and Nintendo 64 ect...

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
j666
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:00 am

star wars empire at war:demo released

Post by j666 » Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:24 pm

anyone else tried the demo of this its been released viua gamespot for now subscribers only i think for mean time

just had a quick shot of one of the space battles realy impressive

cant wait to buy this in feb

one thing i noticed seems to be set in 2d not 3d similir to armada but only had a quick go

it also has a cinematic mode to watch battles its impressive

i just hope this game is mod friendly like armada

User avatar
j666
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:00 am

Post by j666 » Wed Jan 18, 2006 11:28 pm

also available here

hxxp://empireatwar.filefront.com/

Epytron_Omega
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: if you dont know where i am... THEN YOUR LOST!
Contact:

Post by Epytron_Omega » Thu Jan 19, 2006 5:56 am

Just played the demo, three times I might add... and it is pretty fun... it would be nice to be able to have built more ships and soldiers, and play as the empire, but other then that it was some fun... I cant wait for the full version to come out in less then a month.

EO
Life is what you make it.

Titan
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 137
Joined: Tue Sep 07, 2004 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by Titan » Thu Jan 19, 2006 11:18 am

Does anyone know what the final computer specifications will be? I thinl my computer maybe too slow for this game. :cry:

If the demo works on my computer fine, does that mean the fully released game will?

User avatar
j666
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 91
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2003 2:00 am

Post by j666 » Thu Jan 19, 2006 8:01 pm

lucas arts website should have the requirements up sumwhere but i think if the demo works then the full release should work

Epytron_Omega
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: if you dont know where i am... THEN YOUR LOST!
Contact:

Post by Epytron_Omega » Sat Jan 21, 2006 3:20 pm

this demo, like I said earlier, is awsome... especially when you mod it. Ive got some screenshots for the people who want to see what its like before they download it and what not, so here ya go... mind you, this is a modded version of the demo.



EO
Life is what you make it.

draconis_sharp
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 203
Joined: Sat Apr 24, 2004 2:00 am
Location: Greenfield, IN
Contact:

Post by draconis_sharp » Sat Jan 21, 2006 4:21 pm

So then it will be moddable; I wonder to what extent. I'll definitely be purchasing the game soon after it is released.

I wonder if a Battletech/Mechwarrior mod would be good for EAW. I played the Capellan Solution for C&C Generals and they did pretty well with that.

Epytron_Omega
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 802
Joined: Tue Jun 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: if you dont know where i am... THEN YOUR LOST!
Contact:

Post by Epytron_Omega » Sat Jan 21, 2006 4:49 pm

draconis_sharp wrote:So then it will be moddable; I wonder to what extent. I'll definitely be purchasing the game soon after it is released.

I wonder if a Battletech/Mechwarrior mod would be good for EAW. I played the Capellan Solution for C&C Generals and they did pretty well with that.
from what I have toyed with, it is nearly completely moddable, what weapons, how many fighters in a squadron, the position of each fighter when flying... Even have a ship be a carrier of fighters... its really awsome to see what you can do.

EO

EDIT: instead of overloading this thread with Images, here is the link to my Photobucket Gallery with more screenshots.

http://photobucket.com/albums/v205/Azre ... ars%20EAW/
Life is what you make it.

User avatar
jolt
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 445
Joined: Sun Oct 24, 2004 2:00 am

Post by jolt » Sat Jan 21, 2006 8:40 pm

The spcs for it are a joke...in a good way:

1ghz processor (2.0 or more recommended)
256 RAM (512 recommended)
64mb Graphics card with pxiel shading (2.0) and something else not important

Simply put, you shouldn't even need a high spec gaming PC to run this game. I think the major reason is the gameplay is mostly on the 2d plain and not the 3d, still, it look's like a reasonable game to get when it comes out, I just hope it will not be too expensive.
Engage!


"A2 Files Site Admin...darn proud of it too!"

User avatar
JEDI3112
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Apr 29, 2004 2:00 am

Post by JEDI3112 » Sun Jan 22, 2006 1:10 pm

There are quite some mods already out there, well considering it's only a couple of days old. Though most of them consist of stuff that has already been confirmed for the complete product. So I guess that has already been put in, and locked up, and somebody simply removed the lock command. Though from my first look at the game files I do think it's quite easy to mod. It might actually even work with the files created by programs such as 3dsmax (I saw something that looked like a 3dsmax file)..

Now I wonder how races will work, do you have to replace others (like in A1) or can you add them (like in A2). I only have it since yesterday, so I didn't really have time to figure things out.

Still it might be something that Armada 3 would have been like, if that one was made.

BTW there is some talk about this game on LF
http://www.lucasforums.com/forumdisplay.php?f=585
There are also mods to download there, as well as alternate sites for the demo, just pick the right subforum. The 2 demo forums should be near the bottom of the first set of forums.
Join me and together we will mod the universe.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest