Legacy Models

trialers general discussion ECT...

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
Sentinel
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 2:00 am
Location: USA, Ohio
Contact:

Legacy Models

Post by Sentinel » Fri Dec 15, 2006 6:33 pm

I sit possible to edit/ make models for Legacy? of so has any one made a patch for the files that would be needed for Milkshape?

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Fri Dec 15, 2006 6:47 pm

all the models was made in 3ds max , no exporter has been released at this time . no idea if one will be released either from what i have read at the offical forums :?

User avatar
Sentinel
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 253
Joined: Tue May 23, 2006 2:00 am
Location: USA, Ohio
Contact:

Post by Sentinel » Sat Dec 16, 2006 11:46 am

ok thx

User avatar
icewolf132
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by icewolf132 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 3:02 am

There HAVE been some people who have been able to convert models from A2 to Legacy though o.0
Star Trekkin' across the universe, because I STILL can't find reverse!

Usage Permission; All are free to use and edit my work in any way they see fit, so long as credit is given where it is due.

User avatar
ColdDarkParanoi
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by ColdDarkParanoi » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:22 am

and thus sc3 and BC as you can convert them to sod and then to the format that legacy uses. without the worry of the poly count either, some models from bc may be too high but most should be ok, cos they are not having to be played in armada with loads of them just in legacy with a few. Also if you wish you could poly reduce them if needed. so yea possibilitys but why they don't just release the plug in i don't know.

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Mon Jan 01, 2007 4:06 pm

i think the poly count used on most of the legacy models is around 5000-7000 , not 100% sure but i think that is what i have read

User avatar
WarrenG12
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:00 am

Post by WarrenG12 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 7:51 pm

have anyone tried to make the ships themselves without converting them?...because id like to see some of the Legacy ships on Armada 1



Image

User avatar
icewolf132
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by icewolf132 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:13 pm

I wish I did, I think only one person created makeshift plugins for 3DS and hasn't released them; I haven't seen anything in the forums or downloads at both sites :(
Star Trekkin' across the universe, because I STILL can't find reverse!

Usage Permission; All are free to use and edit my work in any way they see fit, so long as credit is given where it is due.

User avatar
WarrenG12
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:00 am

Post by WarrenG12 » Mon Jan 01, 2007 8:48 pm

well darn.....some of the ships would look good on A1 i think, especially the Enterprise era ships for the Federation

uss_capital
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1091
Joined: Tue Feb 17, 2004 3:00 am
Contact:

Post by uss_capital » Mon Jan 01, 2007 9:35 pm

i wish a pluggin was released so i could convert my models into legacy properly , so they have damage etc exported correctly :?

User avatar
WarrenG12
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 508
Joined: Tue Dec 06, 2005 3:00 am

Post by WarrenG12 » Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:02 am

yeah that would be nice too lol

User avatar
ColdDarkParanoi
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 24
Joined: Tue Jun 28, 2005 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by ColdDarkParanoi » Tue Jan 02, 2007 8:01 am

WarrenG12 wrote:well darn.....some of the ships would look good on A1 i think, especially the Enterprise era ships for the Federation


not sure whether a1 could handle the poly count... i think the only reason they can get away with the poly count in legacy (using the a2/a1 engine) is because there is very little in the game it's self, there myou controle 4 ships at 1 time, and i think its about 40 other objects are on the map... now compair that to a2 where people build up armadas of ships and send them head to head... and armada of 5000+ poly ships would crash the game..

legacy would be able to handle the numbers armada does, which is why i think the spec for the game was so high.. its the same engine..

User avatar
pepperman
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 775
Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2003 2:00 am
Location: Cloaked in the Neutral Zone

Post by pepperman » Tue Jan 02, 2007 9:41 am

Keep your eyes on this thread as it give a procedure for getting Armada (sod) based models into Legacy. It isn't perfect but it looks like it works.

http://startrek.bethsoft.com/forums/ind ... topic=6027

http://www.legacymods.com/modders/blogs ... p48#more48

User avatar
icewolf132
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 1026
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2003 2:00 am
Contact:

Post by icewolf132 » Tue Jan 02, 2007 12:05 pm

Pepperman, I could kiss you right about now! Thank you very much for posting this :D
Star Trekkin' across the universe, because I STILL can't find reverse!

Usage Permission; All are free to use and edit my work in any way they see fit, so long as credit is given where it is due.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests