Playing Armada II on Windows 10?

Our General Discussion Forum. This is the main forum of AFC, and is used for talking about just about anything you like ... Please, do not advertise, 'spam' or 'flame' in this forum.

Moderators: MrVulcan, thunderchero

Post Reply
SoonerJedi84
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:46 pm

Playing Armada II on Windows 10?

Post by SoonerJedi84 » Sat Jul 20, 2019 8:20 pm

I finally got a copy of Armada II but I cannot get it to run on Windows 10. I've tried it with patch 1.1, unofficial patch 1.2, and patch project 1.25. None would work. The splash screen comes up for a few seconds like it's loading and then nothing. After I did the 1.25 patch, I got it running a bit then it wanted me to insert the cd. I used the no cd crack but then I started getting an error message when trying to start it. I'll load screenshot in a bit with error message.

I've also tried doing compatability mode and choosing all the older Windows programs. Still wouldn't work. Any suggestions?

User avatar
shadow
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 2:00 am

Re: Playing Armada II on Windows 10?

Post by shadow » Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:13 pm

I may sound a bit simple, but have you tried / thought off the compatibility mode?

Set compatibility-mode to Windows XP service pack 3 that should solve it.

SoonerJedi84
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Playing Armada II on Windows 10?

Post by SoonerJedi84 » Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:55 pm

shadow wrote:
Wed Jul 24, 2019 4:13 pm
I may sound a bit simple, but have you tried / thought off the compatibility mode?

Set compatibility-mode to Windows XP service pack 3 that should solve it.
Yes, I have tried Windows XP Service Pack 2 & 3, plus Windows 98/ME, Vista, and 7 compatability mode. I also tried making color mode 16 bit. None of it worked, unfortunately.

User avatar
shadow
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 125
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2003 2:00 am

Re: Playing Armada II on Windows 10?

Post by shadow » Wed Jul 24, 2019 11:26 pm

Just some questions :

What graphics card do you use? How old is the driver?

Do you have an original CD ? Or a downloaded ISO to create one?

I would suggest that you try a fresh install from a CD than install the patches then set the compatibility mode to Win XP service pack 3 and see what happens.

By the way, tried a no CD crack once caused only problems.

If you have an original CD and want to protect it from scratches make 1 to 1 copy and use that, works fine for me.

SoonerJedi84
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Jul 19, 2019 4:46 pm

Re: Playing Armada II on Windows 10?

Post by SoonerJedi84 » Sun Aug 04, 2019 2:08 pm

I have the original cd but its really scratched up, so I downloaded the iso. I can use a virtual drive and avoid the no cd crack.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users