Galaxy Map Size

Galaxy Map Size; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Spocks-cuddly-tribble
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 721
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Spocks-cuddly-tribble » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:25 am

Well, I felt it was time to finish this task, thus...


The AI Map Scan Matrix Reloaded :wink:

Code: Select all

41D04F       mov     ecx, 19h // max distance in sectors to check ?
This has to be equal to the large map horizontal edge (i.e. the largest edge of the exe).

Therewith, hopefully, AI should expand and behave as usual on enlarged maps. :)


Close to this, there is also a float with the same value:

Code: Select all

41D05A         push    40390000h  (first part of 8 byte float 25.0)
EDIT the 25.0 float has to be changed accordingly (or better set the *colvar.wtf "distance" values to 0.0 for larger maps. This won't help much, however, I made some progress wrt analysing AI map scan. But it's way more complicated than expected, i.e. no publication anytime soon)
On the verge of a nervous breakdown? Try the relaxing tribble sounds.

User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 » Wed Mar 09, 2011 11:56 am

how on earth did you fnd that little gem! -- Great work SCT :D so

at 0x1C450 in trek.exe

change 19 00 00 00
to 20 00 00 00

will work for a map with a horizontal edge of 32.

User avatar
jonesie85two
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re:

Post by jonesie85two » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:08 pm

Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:Well, I felt it was time to finish this task, thus...


The AI Map Scan Matrix Reloaded :wink:

Code: Select all

41D04F       mov     ecx, 19h // max distance in sectors to check ?
This has to be equal to the large map horizontal edge (i.e. the largest edge of the exe).

Therewith, hopefully, AI should expand and behave as usual on enlarged maps. :)


Close to this, there is also a float with the same value:

Code: Select all

41D05A         push    40390000h  (first part of 8 byte float 25.0)
EDIT the 25.0 float has to be changed accordingly (or better set the *colvar.wtf "distance" values to 0.0 for larger maps. This won't help much, however, I made some progress wrt analysing AI map scan. But it's way more complicated than expected, i.e. no publication anytime soon)
Hello all, i dont really know how to read what was written here but the post by peter1981 lead in a direction. i checked the ecm2 standard size and it reads 19 00 00 00 the ecm2 large that ive modified reads 34 00 00 00. Does this mean that the SCT edit has already been done?

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Re:

Post by thunderchero » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:28 pm

that part was added but check if 2nd part of it was.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:set the *colvar.wtf "distance" values to 0.0 for larger maps.
this can be done with UE edit/AI/colony value

change the line for "distance" to 0.0 for each race

thunderchero

User avatar
jonesie85two
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Re:

Post by jonesie85two » Mon Nov 05, 2012 3:46 pm

thunderchero wrote:that part was added but check if 2nd part of it was.
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:set the *colvar.wtf "distance" values to 0.0 for larger maps.
this can be done with UE edit/AI/colony value

change the line for "distance" to 0.0 for each race

thunderchero
They were set to 2.0. May i ask another questio? if so, what are the importance of the numbers. does zero mean 'really important' or is it something like 0.0 means 'not a concern do it anyway'? Anyway, Thank you for helping me. I appreciate it.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Galaxy Map Size

Post by thunderchero » Mon Nov 05, 2012 10:46 pm

I am only guessing since I did not discover this code change. But I would say 0.0 would represent unlimited distance.

thunderchero

User avatar
jonesie85two
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 201
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Galaxy Map Size

Post by jonesie85two » Tue Nov 06, 2012 1:55 am

thunderchero wrote:I am only guessing since I did not discover this code change. But I would say 0.0 would represent unlimited distance.

thunderchero
Thank you again for your help.

User avatar
Hatze
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Aug 04, 2010 2:00 am

Re: Galaxy Map Size

Post by Hatze » Thu Jun 27, 2013 9:20 am

Hello Friends,

could you please summarize all steps (Hex Adresses + Codes) to enlanrge the Map to your best gaming experience...
I'm not familiar to all these Mods you did mention, so I am confused by trying to follow the right and really necessary steps...

The download-sources of the TXT-File are offline?!?!?!

Please Help!!!
I waited for years to play bigger maps...!!!
=))))))

YEAH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Hatze =)

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Galaxy Map Size

Post by thunderchero » Thu Jun 27, 2013 9:29 am

you have 2 options,

1. download a mod that all ready has larger maps. (AAM, BOP, UDM, UM5, galaxy mod) multi installer required for these mods.
2. create your own larger map

use UE (ultimate editor) and this chart to create larger maps.

large-map-generation-chart-and-tutorial-for-ue

thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Galaxy Map Size

Post by thunderchero » Fri Aug 30, 2013 7:09 pm

Hi Everyone,

I have a question, with my new widescreen GUI I have been unable to control elliptical, spiral and ring types.

So I was wondering would it be possible to have 4 types of irregular galaxies instead?

irregular low system count (25%) elliptical type 1
irregular med system count (50%) ring type 2
irregular high system count (75%) spiral type 3
irregular max system count (100%) irregular type 0

I know this would be a major code change and hope I might get some help or suggestions on how this could be done.

thunderchero

User avatar
pal28
Commander
Commander
Posts: 412
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2012 9:40 am
Contact:

Re: Galaxy Map Size

Post by pal28 » Thu Mar 12, 2015 5:47 pm

Hello tried some of those codes from page 1 but there is 1 missing and game crashing on dda mod need a solution for this please thunderchero hope your happy lol
When will we have another Enterprise-E?

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6039
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Galaxy Map Size

Post by thunderchero » Fri Oct 27, 2017 6:15 am

note; previous post deleted by user while I was responding.

on edited resolutions you also need to run QD BotF Resolution Patch
viewtopic.php?f=96&t=2218

direct link to download
https://sourceforge.net/projects/botfrespatch/files/

Post Reply

Return to “Galaxy Map Size”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users