Ultimate Editor

Ultimate Editor; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by adi » Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:58 pm

brianmcfa wrote:
Yep, that's the one I was looking for. Downloaded a Hex editor. Looked at it. Have a headache. ONWARD!
:) i hear you; try this: viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2515
the colony ships patch is called better_colonier; just edit the values in the patch file with notepad and use the tool to install the patch.

User avatar
CommodoreGray
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:10 pm

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by CommodoreGray » Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:04 pm

Hello, I'm having a bit of trouble using UE to add group names for ships and was wondering if anyone could tell me what I'm doing wrong.

I'm using version 0.7.2dev5c. When I try to add a name group it mentions it'll have to edit Trek.exe, of course I agree. However, even after saving I can't seem to actually give any ships the new group. Trying to edit Shiplist.sst with a hex editor doesn't work either and leads to a crash. If I check trek.exe at 0x74827, it doesn't seem to have been changed (i'm assuming the fix is the one from the below thread, but I could definitely be mistaken):
viewtopic.php?f=9&t=1622
Doing the change manually doesn't seem to help, either.

Apologies if this has been mentioned; I searched the thread but couldn't find anything.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Tue Oct 22, 2013 9:30 pm

just a guess here, it sounds like you are editing in a different location than the default install path?

either way open the stbof.res you want to edit then before making changes check edit/settings to make sure trek.exe path is set correctly.

hope that fixes your problem.

thunderchero

User avatar
CommodoreGray
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Sat Oct 27, 2012 3:10 pm

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by CommodoreGray » Wed Oct 23, 2013 10:57 am

Yes, I edit in a different folder than /botf--habit I learned from modding other games. However, the settings section says it's pointing to the correct stbof.res and trek.exe files. I will check if editing directly in botf's install folder helps. Thank you for replying.
Edit: That didn't work, either.
Edit2: On a hunch I ran a quick test; seems allowing it to edit the trek.exe to apply the change causes the crash. So it's changing but in the wrong address. Possibly it's because I'm playing off the disc, though UE 0.7.1 worked fine for editing trek.exe.
Edit3: More testing. Adding the extra name group causes a crash, even if I manually do the trek.exe edit so the UE doesn't try to--the game does not crash with the trek.exe edit but no extra name groups added.

User avatar
Lukas2409
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Mar 21, 2013 6:53 pm

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Lukas2409 » Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:25 pm

thunderchero on the no upgrades mod can that be implemented mid game or does a new game have to be started??

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Wed Nov 20, 2013 9:37 pm

Lukas2409 wrote:thunderchero on the no upgrades mod can that be implemented mid game or does a new game have to be started??
not sure why you posted this question in UE topic, but no upgrades mod is a mod (completely different install that can not be added to other versions/mods) so saved would not be compatible. once installed you would need to start a new game using no upgrades mod shortcut.

btw these 2 post might be moved to here

viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2187

thunderchero

User avatar
Herald of Omega
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Mar 09, 2014 6:54 pm

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Herald of Omega » Sun Mar 16, 2014 3:36 pm

Possible bug:

When viewing a structure that cannot be built by any major race, this structure shows up in the following groups:
"Built by Cardassians Only", "Built by Federation Only", "Built by Ferengi Only", "Built by Klingons Only" and "Built by Romulans Only".

This mainly turns up in mods that use automatic upgrades, and don't use main structures 2-9.

JeanLucPicard1
Commander
Commander
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by JeanLucPicard1 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:21 pm

Ok, a few questions here. To start off, under the intel multipliers tab there are specific number multipliers.
Can someone please tell me what these numbers actually mean, and if modifying them will make any type
of a difference?

For example, let's say that I select Klingons as the target empire. Their target empire multipliers are:

Cardassians: 115
Federation: 105
Ferengi: 95
Romulans: 110

Do higher numbers mean that the Klingons will try to eliminate the empire with the higher value first?
How about for the target treaty multipliers? They are:

Neutral: 100
War: 95
Alliance: 101
Peace: 102

My next question is, where can I get the latest copy of UE? The download section has 0.7.1b which is older,
and DCERS 4shared seems to be empty.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Thu Sep 04, 2014 6:45 pm

nothing has changed since the last time you inquired. :grin:
JeanLucPicard1 Wed Nov 09, 2011 9:37 am wrote:Could someone explain what these intel multipliers do?
thunderchero Wed Nov 09, 2011 11:04 am wrote:As SCT says below "will get its own topic ASAP" so when he has time I am sure it will be explained more then.

thunderchero
Spocks-cuddly-tribble wrote:Hi DCER,

I just cracked the whole intel mechanics (will get its own topic ASAP). In case you're interested in UE support of intel.bin, here is a preview of its structure and some of the used ingame calculations:

intel.bin

lenght 0x1E0 = 5 blocks 96byte/0x60 per empire card-rom:

(all integer dword):

Code: Select all

+0    base multiplier for espionage attack threshold
+4    base multiplier for sabotage attack threshold
+8    4 bytes * 5 enemy empires(own empire value unused) multiplier for attack threshold
+1C   4 bytes * 5 difficulty level = multiplier for attack threshold
+30h  4 bytes * 8 empsInfo morale labels = security modifier% written to intelInfo+2C
+50h  4 bytes * 4 empsInfo treaty labels = attack threshold modifier written to intelInfo+4C
For 0x0 to 0x2F see sub_47E540:

[+0/+4] * [+8] * 0.01 * [+1C] * 0.01 -> results written to intelInfo [+4/+18]


sub_47DDC0 = check intel attack delay threshold(below) vs. area stockpile points:

(+X now intelInfo addresses)

1+[last area attack turnNumber]% * espionage/sabotage base[+4/+18] * treaty label behavior[+4C]%
JeanLucPicard1 wrote:My next question is, where can I get the latest copy of UE? The download section has 0.7.1b which is older,and DCERS 4shared seems to be empty.
as for the latest version that is the latest non developmental version. you should be able to get latest version here
http://www.4shared.com/dir/248238/25afb ... ditor.html

with changes at 4 shared you may need to sign in or create an account to see files.

so here is the latest dev version (only version I use now)
UE 0.7.2dev5c.zip
(1.34 MiB) Downloaded 150 times
thunderchero

JeanLucPicard1
Commander
Commander
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by JeanLucPicard1 » Thu Sep 04, 2014 7:18 pm

I had completely forgotten about that post. 2011 was quite some time ago. I guess there hasn't been much more info about it since then.

Thanks for that download link too :)

sugarspice
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:07 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by sugarspice » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:09 am

Stupid question... Noob here.
How does one edit ships so they can be available at certain tech levels without replacing other ships?
Also how does one fix ships so they will display in the shipbuilding tab at final tech level?

It doesn't seem to be editable in UE. Or is the Ships Overview table importable?

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Tue Sep 30, 2014 11:23 am

here are 2 tutorials for UE

ultimate-editor-basics

adding-new-models-using-ue

watch for left - right tab buttons on bottom

thunderchero

sugarspice
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Mon Jul 25, 2011 1:07 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by sugarspice » Tue Sep 30, 2014 2:57 pm

I'm not sure, but should I be getting a "Error: Failed to delete stbof.tmp"?

Also I am getting a missing basic scanner for all races alert but I know there are basic scanner buildings, strange...

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Tue Sep 30, 2014 5:46 pm

sugarspice wrote:I'm not sure, but should I be getting a "Error: Failed to delete stbof.tmp"?
no, you may need to run UE as administrator?
sugarspice wrote:Also I am getting a missing basic scanner for all races alert but I know there are basic scanner buildings, strange...
what mod? it may have a basic scanner but not setup properly or different from what UE is used to.

if BOP, Gowron made some very unusual changes not commonly used and UE does not recognize them. Gowron suggested not to edit with UE. due to UE might corrupt files.

thunderchero

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by adi » Mon Oct 20, 2014 1:05 pm

sugarspice wrote:Stupid question... Noob here.
How does one edit ships so they can be available at certain tech levels without replacing other ships?
Also how does one fix ships so they will display in the shipbuilding tab at final tech level?

It doesn't seem to be editable in UE. Or is the Ships Overview table importable?
As Thunderchero mentioned all these are editable in UE; it's just a lot of values; i recommend using UE for editing;

But if you need to edit more ship values, for lots of ships, there is an easier way; the ship list is exportable to excel; there you can easily change values, then import it back to stbof.res.
Here is how: viewtopic.php?f=131&t=2710

Don't go crazy with the changes, change one thing at a time, and ALWAYS make a backup of stbof.res and trek.exe!!!

Post Reply

Return to “Ultimate Editor”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users