Ultimate Editor

Ultimate Editor; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Sun Apr 05, 2015 12:54 pm

Tvrelnec wrote:which value is the "X"


that is the alignment multiplier and is calculated automatically by UE

thunderchero

User avatar
Tvrelnec
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 29
Joined: Sun Apr 05, 2015 7:45 am
Location: Germany

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Tvrelnec » Sun Apr 05, 2015 1:09 pm

Hi,

ok, thank you Thunderchero

User avatar
LocutusvonBorg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by LocutusvonBorg » Thu May 07, 2015 7:36 am

Hi,

i have a question, i wanna edit some ship/station values but i dont know exactly whats behind some values.
Screenshot 2015-05-07 13.31.04.png
Screenshot 2015-05-07 13.31.04.png (60.76 KiB) Viewed 2752 times
Stuff like accuracy and range is clear, but i never heard of a shield penetration in botf, nor the shield level.

and then, how does exactly defense and agility count in.


before i edit the ships i wanted to create an excel with all the ship values to create an indicator value. however, its hard to determine what agility is, if the scimitar have an agility of one and the big dominion battleship an agility of 100, what makes no sense at all for me.

So it would be very nice if someone could explain it to me, if possible with equations, its easier to understand in my eyes.

- Loc

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by adi » Thu May 07, 2015 11:21 am

Shield penetration and shield level have no effect; probably they wanted to do something with these params but did not get around to implementing it.

Range is clear.

Accuracy of the ship firing (for beams and torps) is compared against the defense of the ship being fired upon to calculate hit/miss chance.

Set the defense higher than the accuracy and the ships will miss when firing. Or they would not fire at all since the calculation yiealds a miss. Messed up my game once in this way. Keep accuracy above defense of other ships.

Agility is how fast the ships move when maneuvering like evade or strafe. So it's just a visual thing and I don't think it influences hit miss calculation at all. This is just observation and guessing but i think ships with higher agility might fire first provided they are in weapons range.

Make a copy of your stbof.res and trek.exe before any changes; so you could restore the game if you mess up with the changes. These 2 files are the ones UE modifies (mostly).

If you want all the ships in a nice table and change them there you can use this:
viewtopic.php?f=131&t=2710

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Thu May 07, 2015 12:35 pm

for searching for detailed info,

best to search user posts
example to find topic easier I searched Spocks-cuddly-tribble (one of our major coders) for shield level and found this;

viewtopic.php?f=205&t=2932

thunderchero

User avatar
LocutusvonBorg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by LocutusvonBorg » Thu May 07, 2015 4:25 pm

thunderchero wrote:for searching for detailed info,

best to search user posts
example to find topic easier I searched Spocks-cuddly-tribble (one of our major coders) for shield level and found this;

viewtopic.php?f=205&t=2932

thunderchero
oh my... i just searched forattributes or so.... but the most ohvious i didnt searched for -.- thx :D

User avatar
LocutusvonBorg
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by LocutusvonBorg » Fri May 08, 2015 4:09 pm

ok, i think i know how agility and so on works, red some more posts about shield level and shield penetration.

sadly nearly all of the links given in posts i found are dead within this forum :( so i still have some questions. spock gave an example for the shield level, but in this example he he extra wrote that the shields are still alive, so does that mean that the shield level value is only active while shields are online ?

the other one i dont completly understand is the shield penetration value. if ship-a has 10 shield penetration, does it mean that the weapons of ship a have that trait, oder does it mean that any other ship firing on ship-a does have the effect ? i know it seems to be a stupid question :D

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Fri May 08, 2015 4:36 pm

LocutusvonBorg wrote:sadly nearly all of the links given in posts i found are dead within this forum
please post/PM me topics with bad links I will try to fix them.
LocutusvonBorg wrote:spock gave an example for the shield level, but in this example he he extra wrote that the shields are still alive, so does that mean that the shield level value is only active while shields are online ?
yes, in combat once shields reach 0% they no longer can use "shield recharge" value to repair them, so all damage from that point is to hull.
LocutusvonBorg wrote:the other one i dont completly understand is the shield penetration value.
you are not alone, if you notice almost all mods leave these 2 values set to 0. same for beam/torpedeo multiplier but set to 1.

thunderchero

User avatar
Dafedz
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Dafedz » Fri May 22, 2015 1:14 pm

Yes I have often wondered about shield level/penetration, as well beam/torp multipliers, but always chose to leave them at the default 0/1 levels, having no idea how they work or what they do.

User avatar
EnPhreg
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Multi Installer RC4 available (open testing) updated 6-3-16

Post by EnPhreg » Tue Jun 14, 2016 7:59 am

@thunder
something off topic:
are there any way to get some of the older versions of UE?
need 0.6.1c
the link in the UE thread only leads to versions above 0.7.1

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Multi Installer RC4 available (open testing) updated 6-3-16

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:25 am

EnPhreg wrote:need 0.6.1c
why would you need one that old? I do not even have that one.

the last version released was a developmental version UE 0.7.2dev5c

User avatar
EnPhreg
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Multi Installer RC4 available (open testing) updated 6-3-16

Post by EnPhreg » Tue Jun 14, 2016 8:49 am

i try to edit some building stats (scanner) in the older BoP mod, but UE finds an unknown modification in trek.exe
so i can't edit buidling stats and save them with that UE version.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Multi Installer RC4 available (open testing) updated 6-3-16

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jun 14, 2016 9:50 am

first you need to understand why you are getting error.

gowron made changes to shipyard and a dilithium refinery that are unique to BOP.

quote from this topic
viewtopic.php?f=119&t=1236&p=17859&hili ... ery#p17859
Gowron wrote:If you start a new BotF game, your home system will always have a shipyard and a dilithium refinery (with fixed IDs), even if these buildings are not present in the respective bldset file.
........
........
As an example, this is the altered code I'm using for the next BoP update. It allows empires to start without a mandatory dilithium refinery:

Code: Select all

:004511D1 668B842460010000        mov ax, word[esp+00000160]    // load empire ID
:004511D9 E8A694FEFF              call 0043A684                 // write corresponding shipyard ID to eax
:004511DE 89C2                    mov edx, eax                  // shipyard ID
:004511E0 90                      nop
:004511E1 8B842462010000          mov eax, dword[esp+00000162] 
:004511E8 9090909090              nop
to allow UE to edit structures you can fool it to see correct code.

note you should not edit shipyard and a dilithium refinery structures due to special code. :wink:

open trek.exe with a hex editor

at 0x505d5 change 60 01 to BA 06

edit with UE your structure changes with UE 0.7.2dev5c (allow ue to edit trek.exe if needed)

then re-open trek.exe and reverse change above.

at 0x505d5 change BA 06 to 60 01

User avatar
EnPhreg
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Jul 10, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Multi Installer RC4 available (open testing) updated 6-3-16

Post by EnPhreg » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:08 am

i know about the special changes from gowron, but not in detail. but thanks for explanation.
can i write a patch with that codes and install/remove it via QD's patcher? would be easier for me.
thanks for that solution.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6056
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jun 14, 2016 10:29 am

EnPhreg wrote:can i write a patch with that codes and install/remove it via QD's patcher? would be easier for me.
yes, just copy below to text doc and save as "Allow_UE_of_BOP.patch" and add file to patch folder

Code: Select all

NAME: Allow UE of BOP
AUTHOR: thunderchero
URL: N/A



>> 0x000505d5 60 01

<< 0x000505d5 BA 06

Post Reply

Return to “Ultimate Editor”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users