Ultimate Editor

Ultimate Editor; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Thu Jan 24, 2019 6:14 pm

will UE allow you to save to different location (so it does not overwrite file) example; My documents

User avatar
AlexMcpherson79
Commander
Commander
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by AlexMcpherson79 » Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:53 am

yeah that worked.

edit: wtf now its worked on the trek.exe in nbul folder anyway ... (?)

could it be when windows still thinks its open?

edit 2: now that trek.exe wont run
.

I should note, I used the large taskforces patch on it, and its the 1366 version installed through AIO. sorry forgot to say earlier.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Fri Jan 25, 2019 10:35 pm

AlexMcpherson79 wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:53 am
yeah that worked.
good
AlexMcpherson79 wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:53 am
edit: wtf now its worked on the trek.exe in nbul folder anyway ... (?)
did you move the trek from my doc to nbul folder?
AlexMcpherson79 wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:53 am
could it be when windows still thinks its open?
possible
AlexMcpherson79 wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:53 am
edit 2: now that trek.exe wont run
hope you have backup
AlexMcpherson79 wrote:
Fri Jan 25, 2019 6:53 am
I should note, I used the large taskforces patch on it, and its the 1366 version installed through AIO. sorry forgot to say earlier.
did you you test after each change? (did you test before and after patching 18 fleet task force?

User avatar
AlexMcpherson79
Commander
Commander
Posts: 325
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by AlexMcpherson79 » Sat Jan 26, 2019 11:09 am

okay, it was the task force patcher. Not a programmer (any hex editing I did in the past was basically following instructions here) so I dont know how to say properly, but is there <something> that the patcher does that renders UE unable to create a new exe or whatever it is its trying to do when it gets to "cannot delete trek.tmp"?

Also the windows UAC symbol appears over the .exe's icon after being modified maybe? I unins and reinstalled the NBU mod and did all my trek.exe edits in UE with the task force patch last. (well, I just increased the number of stellar objects for large galaxies.)

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Sun Jan 27, 2019 10:16 am

yes, any open program such as botpatcher (QD patcher) or task force patch can cause UE to error "Couldn't delete Trek.tmp"

Hope that explains your issue.

User avatar
knosch
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Sat Jun 21, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by knosch » Sat Feb 01, 2020 5:11 pm

alte Version wo bei mir das bearbeiten von einen game save mit Systemen verschieben funktionert

https://www.file-upload.net/download-13 ... j.zip.html

User avatar
Dewbacca
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Dewbacca » Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:19 pm

I may have missed an easy answer to this issue since others aren't having it.

Trying to open UE (installed from Multi Mod) and no java installed.

According to the readme:
To run the editor you need Sun's Java Runtime Environment version 6. Last time I checked, it was available here:
http://java.sun.com/javase/downloads/index.jsp
There I find JDK13.0.2 and download it assuming the latest version would work. It does not.

After installing that version and double clicking UE.jar a window opens and immediately closes. This is mentioned in the readme:
In the rare case the editor fails to run this way try double clicking on run.bat (or run if Windows hides the extension).
This also does nothing conclusive... so I admit to being a JAVA novice and submit my ignorance before the court of knowledgeable ones. I've used UE before, but that was a different computer a LONG time ago.

RESOLVED:
readme gives an old download location and apparently the JDK is a developers kit and the files required to execute .jar can be found here:
https://www.java.com/en/download/win10.jsp

I hope by providing answers to my stupid questions it, in some small way, makes up for asking them in the first place.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Sun Feb 09, 2020 3:49 pm

you just need java

as you stated the JDK is for developers

here is link for java for windows 10
https://www.java.com/en/download/win10.jsp

User avatar
Dewbacca
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Dewbacca » Sun Feb 16, 2020 7:34 pm

Using UE I edited buildings and most of my edits worked fine.

But for some odd reason 2 of them did not. I lowered the tech requirement for charge collectors and they are not showing up in the build menu and made Starfleet Academy available at every system and like the charge collectors it's not showing up in the build menu.

I have gone over both buildings several times and cannot find any issues. I am open to suggestions.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Sun Feb 16, 2020 8:38 pm

1. you must start a new game to see most structure changes
2. after any structure change you should always "Auto-set all" with UE using edit/starting conditions/starting technology to get changes to build at correct tech level.

User avatar
Dewbacca
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 167
Joined: Sat Nov 14, 2009 3:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Dewbacca » Sun Feb 16, 2020 10:17 pm

It was #2...
I did start a new game after changes, but this is the first time I have heard of needing to "Auto-set all", which I found by opening the stbotf.res in UE and going to edit/starting conditions/ starting technology.
I made no "changes" beyond previous edits, merely hit the autoset button and voila, worked like a charm.

You really don't get enough credit for your intimate knowledge of the game and modding tools, or your prompt and courteous service to this community. I'd email you a beer, but I won't risk it spilling in/ on your computer.

User avatar
Borealis999
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:31 pm

Problems with Ultimate Editor

Post by Borealis999 » Wed Jul 08, 2020 5:12 am

Hi There,

I'm not sure if this has happened to anyone else and, with 55 pages of posts, it would have taken me an age to have a look. I tried to do a search but I couldn't find anything. So I apologise if this has already been answered.

I have been playing BotF All in One V1.0.1 for quite a while now but I have recently had to reset my laptop. I was able to use all of the different games as well as the UE. Now I can't use the UE because when I try to open the stbof.res I get a dialog box that says:-

"Couldn't open stbof.res – file not found: race.rst”.

When I press the “OK” button it displays another box that says:-

“Sorry, I can’t open this file”.

What have I done wrong? Can someone please help me out?

Many thanks.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6452
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by thunderchero » Wed Jul 08, 2020 6:38 am

have you tested the game to see if loads?

if it does and that file is present I have no idea.

User avatar
Borealis999
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 44
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2011 4:31 pm

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by Borealis999 » Thu Jul 09, 2020 3:35 pm

I only did a partial reset of my laptop, it might have been that. I was having other issues as well so I reset it back to factory settings. It seems to be working now. Thank you for giving it some thought, my friend :)

User avatar
intuitive
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Feb 01, 2009 3:00 am

Re: Ultimate Editor

Post by intuitive » Sat Jul 11, 2020 12:12 am

Hey All,

Can someone help me out with a basic question.

What does beam range effect? I mean the min/max. Looking at the values of various ships I was always surprised to see min torpedo range is less than mix beam range. I just naturally assume that torpedo min range should be higher than beam since it's unlikely they would be as effective short range....

Is beam range more relevant to firing arcs or something?

Thanks

Post Reply

Return to “Ultimate Editor”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users