Tutorial for added ship models with UE With new ship packs

HOW TO: add ship models with UE (ship packs); support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Alacarian
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by Alacarian » Mon May 04, 2009 6:44 am

Well guess i did find something, even if through a simple mistake.

A new problem as come up now, eventhing was going great after adding each ship i saved and checked in game. Then it came to adding the last one i wanted, i went to click save and nothing happend so i clicked ship stats to see if the ships were there and i got : Null pointer exception (click ok) Segment not found: Special ships. :? It comes up when i go to edit anything and seems to disable the save feature.

User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER » Mon May 04, 2009 7:19 am

0.6.9 doesn't support the minor race modification used in the latest UDM.

0.6.9b has the null pointer error fixed, but will throw Unknown trek.exe modification instead. Adding/editing ships should still work, you just won't be able to set special ships.

0.7.0dev3 does support the minor race modification but is the development version (more chance of having bugs). You can find it in the dev folder in my 4shared folder.

EDIT: check error.log it might contain an out of memory error. If it does let me know. Closing and starting UE again will let you add the last ship in this case.

User avatar
Alacarian
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by Alacarian » Mon May 04, 2009 7:43 am

By edit the minors do you mean their ship models? At one point i did edit a race name, morals, info, pic, ect but that worked fine.
So with Vanilla and any other mod the straight swap should be fine?

These are what appear in the error report:

java.io.IOException: Couldn't delete file: trek.tmp
at ue.edit.exe.Trek$SaveTask.doInBackground(Trek.java:1017)
at ue.edit.exe.Trek$SaveTask.doInBackground(Trek.java:869)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker$1.call(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask$Sync.innerRun(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.FutureTask.run(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.SwingWorker.run(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.runTask(Unknown Source)
at java.util.concurrent.ThreadPoolExecutor$Worker.run(Unknown Source)

Ultimate Editor 0.6.9a - 12:31:37 04.05.2009
java.lang.NullPointerException
at java.lang.String.replace(Unknown Source)
at ue.edit.exe.InternalSegment.checkIfValid(InternalSegment.java:58)
at ue.edit.exe.trek.SpecialShips.<init>(SpecialShips.java:101)
at ue.edit.exe.Trek.getInternalFile(Trek.java:570)
at ue.gui.stbof.ShipGUI.<init>(ShipGUI.java:184)
at ue.edit.res.Stbof.edit(Stbof.java:741)
at ue.edit.FileManager.edit(FileManager.java:816)
at ue.gui.MainMenu$OpenEdit.actionPerformed(MainMenu.java:564)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI.doClick(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI$Handler.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

Ultimate Editor 0.6.9a - 12:31:38 04.05.2009
java.io.FileNotFoundException: Segment not found: specialships
at ue.edit.exe.Trek.getInternalFile(Trek.java:700)
at ue.gui.stbof.ShipGUI.<init>(ShipGUI.java:184)
at ue.edit.res.Stbof.edit(Stbof.java:741)
at ue.edit.FileManager.edit(FileManager.java:816)
at ue.gui.MainMenu$OpenEdit.actionPerformed(MainMenu.java:564)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton$Handler.actionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.fireActionPerformed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.DefaultButtonModel.setPressed(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.AbstractButton.doClick(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI.doClick(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.plaf.basic.BasicMenuItemUI$Handler.mouseReleased(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at javax.swing.JComponent.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.processEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.retargetMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.processMouseEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.LightweightDispatcher.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Container.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Window.dispatchEventImpl(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.Component.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventQueue.dispatchEvent(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpOneEventForFilters(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForFilter(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEventsForHierarchy(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.pumpEvents(Unknown Source)
at java.awt.EventDispatchThread.run(Unknown Source)

User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER » Mon May 04, 2009 7:52 am

Alacarian wrote:By edit the minors do you mean their ship models?
No I mean the trek.exe modification that let's you build minor race ships.

Thanks for posting the log, I'll look into it.

User avatar
Alacarian
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Halifax, Yorkshire

Post by Alacarian » Mon May 04, 2009 8:01 am

Oh, so when i swapped the models and it came up: .exe needs to be modified, modify [yes] [no] thats where the problem is.

It only does this with UDM?

User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER » Mon May 04, 2009 9:22 am

Just swapping models will not cause this: going to Ships->Ship Stats will.

More info here: viewtopic.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=822

User avatar
GeorgiaBoy
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 59
Joined: Tue Mar 31, 2009 2:00 am
Location: Georgia (not the Caucasus)

Shippacks/Models from B5?

Post by GeorgiaBoy » Tue May 05, 2009 10:31 am

Are there any shippacks available for Babylon 5?

Thanks in advance,

GB

User avatar
Paddy
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 5
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Paddy » Sun May 17, 2009 3:45 pm

hello Thunder. Are there any more ship packs availabe? like all Ultimate Mod 1-4 ships? also in your how to phasers, if none of the ships in the game have phasers 10 or 14 or 1 how can you add them as a second or third slot ship? or renaming a sip with HH is already taken just something else? sorry if this is said on page 1 but i read it through many times and just cant find how to.

Paddy
Last edited by Paddy on Sun May 17, 2009 9:40 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Sun May 17, 2009 4:04 pm

Paddy wrote:hello Thunder. Are there any more ship packs availabe? like all Ultimate Mod 1-4 ships?
UM1-3 ships should be in ship pack 1 & 2
UM4 I have not had time yet to create ship pack same for other older mods but most were already in ship pack 1 & 2
Paddy wrote:also in your how to phasers, if none of the ships in the game have phasers 10 or 14 or 1 how can you add them as a second or third slot ship?
If I understand you correctly, you are tring to do something that is not needed.
If ship model has no phasers, no entry in trek.exe is needed
DCER has touched on adapting UE to do this, But has not been done due to little interest.
So these model need to be added manualy just add files (hob, gif, tga) to res file. first make sure prefix used is not already in use or it will overwrite working model.
then assign i_***120.tga to ship slot in shiplist.sst
register texture and palette
But be sure in ship stats it has no phaser data. (not sure what all has to be set to 0)
and save.

I hope this answers your questions

thunderchero

User avatar
Irishguy1916
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Irishguy1916 » Mon May 18, 2009 7:38 am

Hey i am trying to modify one of the texture of a klingon ship , when i bring it in it looks terrible see pic, am i saveing the file wrong or using colours that are not on the palette or something ?.

stardust
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1381
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: good ole Blighty

Post by stardust » Mon May 18, 2009 7:47 am

using Ultimate editor go to Edit > graphics >textures. Find the texture for the battlecruiser, and select 'use own palette'

You should notice the graphics file changing from a grainy mess, to a clearly defined picture.

Just be careful you don't go over 127 palettes though or the game will crash.
Computers! [Expletive deleted]

My 4shared folder

User avatar
Irishguy1916
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Irishguy1916 » Mon May 18, 2009 8:10 am

Thanks stardust

I can finally have my Romulan D7/K't'inga ship ! (oh and thanks to who ever made this model and orignal text for the game as i only made the texture green and slapped a bird of prey on the base).

stardust
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1381
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: good ole Blighty

Post by stardust » Mon May 18, 2009 8:48 am

Hey :)

They look great *thumbs up*
Computers! [Expletive deleted]

My 4shared folder

User avatar
sanityfreezone
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 45
Joined: Sat May 31, 2008 2:00 am

Post by sanityfreezone » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:46 pm

Sorry, but i'm having trouble with the basics of this. I'm trying to add models from All The Ages mod to the Error Correction Mod (personal use only). I've created a ship pack, but can't work out how to increase the number of models.. i can only replace existing models. I've read the tutorial and done the copy existing model but it dosn't seem to help...

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6145
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Sat Nov 21, 2009 6:58 pm

sanityfreezone,

You first must use empty space in add/remove ship model (if there is any)
or rename a current model so it can share a slot.

this section is what you should be working with

"Second tutorial; Adding model using 2 models on same phaser slot."

thunderchero

Post Reply

Return to “HOW TO: add ship models with UE (ship packs)”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users