Page 2 of 2

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Mon Oct 21, 2013 12:23 pm
by adi
No need to use the hex editor if you are not familiar with it. QD made this easy for us: he has given us a tool the bof_patcher; the patches for this tool are text files editable by notepad;
There is the better_colonies patch available; you can edit the values as you like inside and use the tool to install the patch.

Here is a link to a post about the patcher:
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2515

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Fri May 26, 2017 4:04 am
by supertyp79
I need help with something familiar and i'm a total loser with Editing or stuff. So i'll need a "step by step" how to do and what lines and Hexes to edit.
I don't want to have my new colonies updated to my Tech-Lv in UDM III. Also the enemies shouldn't have this either. Every new colony should start with Tech-Lv 1, but there's no need of change the quantity of the buildings for the colony ships. If there is a post for this already, please link me to, cause i've found nothing in two days of search. A kind of tutorial or maybe a short video would be more than just a little helpful.

Thanks, Manuel

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Fri May 26, 2017 7:38 am
by thunderchero
Hi supertyp79,

This is a simple hex edit,

at 0x68fab change 03 D8 to 90 90

or you can use QD's patcher (in start menu in tools folder)

download this file and extract to UDM folder
tech1_patch.zip
(432 Bytes) Downloaded 35 times
execute QD's Patcher from start menu
QD's Patcher will look like this
qd1.jpg
qd1.jpg (166.62 KiB) Viewed 2335 times
first browse for new patch folder "Tech1_patch" folder
qd2.jpg
qd2.jpg (158.33 KiB) Viewed 2335 times
next use dropdown menu to select the UDM\trek.exe UDML\trek.exe depending on what version you want to edit
qd3.jpg
qd3.jpg (122.88 KiB) Viewed 2335 times
next select the line "UDM new colonies start at tech 1" (it should turn purple)
next select install button line "UDM new colonies start at tech 1" (it should turn yellow with + )
next select apply button.
after that you are done repeat on other UDM trek.exe if you want then close QD's Patcher

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Fri May 26, 2017 10:38 am
by supertyp79
Thanks Thunderchero. Buddy, you're the best.

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 1:00 pm
by jonesie85two
I have added this to my mod. works like a charn. My question. Is there a version of this that works with minor races on them becoming a member of your faction?

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Thu Oct 19, 2017 5:04 pm
by thunderchero
this change has nothing to do with minors, you might check out Minor Race Advancement
viewtopic.php?f=187&t=13

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 12:25 am
by thunderchero
I was planning on using the "Colonies Starting Pop and Buildings - experimental code" on mirror universe mod. but a comment by cleverwise
cleverwise wrote:
Fri Feb 09, 2018 9:08 am
Well you could always drop the colony ships. ;-)
got me wondering if it would be possible to change testing of production value to test tech level?
this would allow me to drop colony ship upgrades :idea:

example;
table entry 0 = tech 1
table entry 1 = tech 2
table entry 2 = tech 3
table entry 3 = tech 4
table entry 4 = tech 5
table entry 5 = tech 6 and so on until table entry 8 = tech 9

note; it would be nice to have a multiplier for extended techs levels "rounded down" :wink:

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Sat Feb 10, 2018 9:11 pm
by Spocks-cuddly-tribble
I don't have BotF installed for hex-code, but this should work for Ollydbg:

Code: Select all

00469AD4   8A42 28          MOV AL,BYTE PTR DS:[EDX+28]
00469AD7   BA 06000000      MOV EDX,6  // tech ID = all tech aka lowest
00469ADC   E8 9F9BFEFF      CALL 00453680
00469AE1   48               DEC EAX
00469AE2   D1E8             SHR EAX,1  // tech level /2 rounded down
00469AE4   3C 08            CMP AL,8
00469AE6   7E 02            JLE SHORT 00469AEA
00469AE8   B0 08            MOV AL,8
00469AEA   8BF8             MOV EDI,EAX
00469AEC   90               NOP
00469AED   90               NOP
00469AEE   90               NOP
00469AEF   90               NOP
00469AF0   90               NOP
00469AF1   90               NOP
00469AF2   90               NOP
00469AF3   90               NOP
00469AF4   90               NOP
00469AF5   90               NOP
00469AF6   90               NOP
00469AF7   90               NOP
00469AF8   90               NOP
00469AF9   90               NOP
00469AFA   90               NOP
00469AFB   90               NOP
00469AFC   90               NOP

Re: Colonies: population, farms, factories

Posted: Sun Feb 11, 2018 9:40 am
by thunderchero
thanks SCT, I will give this a try and test when I start adding this code later. Right now I am keeping trek.exe with min changes until some of other major changes are complete so I can keep track of changes better, also to insure no conflicts.