How to add a Science and technologies

Adding a Science and Technologies; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by thunderchero » Wed Mar 06, 2013 4:53 pm

Good questions,
Dafedz wrote:do ships - eg, a Command Cruiser IV that becomes available at Tech 12 for example?
yes current code does allow any ship set to your max tech level.
Dafedz wrote:Although buildings don't work if set to upgrade at a tech above Tech 10
incorrect, QD did crack code needed to allow buildings above tech 10 (with a small patch tool), but UE throws a fit if stbof.res is opened without using patch tool to remove changes. this is why patch tool has not gone public.

Dcer is currently absent, and I have been unable to contact him. in his absence QD plans on making needed changes to UE under GNU GENERAL PUBLIC LICENSE, when he has time to do so. his studies are keeping him very busy.

thunderchero

User avatar
Dafedz
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:00 am

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by Dafedz » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:04 pm

Ah awesome. Then it is definitely worth doing. If only to one day see extra tech fields as well... :)

I'm also having trouble with line 0x530A3, about what to input. I'm wanting 12 Techs - well 13 techs altogether considering 0-12 = 13). Is 4E correct (78)?

Or this solution as outlined on previous page?
0x530A0 66 82 F9 4D
replaced with:
0x530A0 80 F9 4E 90

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by thunderchero » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:40 pm

Dafedz wrote:I'm also having trouble with line 0x530A3, about what to input. I'm wanting 12 Techs - well 13 techs altogether considering 0-12 = 13). Is 4E correct (78)?
this value was meant for total techs so in your case (0-12 = 13 techs x 7 = 91(5B)) but as it has been pointed out since Sociology is not part of research screen you should not get a crash by setting it to 78 (E4). so either should work.

thunderchero

User avatar
Dafedz
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:00 am

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by Dafedz » Wed Mar 06, 2013 5:50 pm

Cool. This is the amended code for Tech 12 if anyone wants, however patcher is reporting a red flag for it. Code seems good, but it may be conflicting with one of the other patches.

Code: Select all

>> 0x23816   66 83 FA 0B
<< 0x23816   66 83 FA 0D
>> 0x239c5   80 FB 0B
<< 0x239c5   80 FB 0D
>> 0x51bf0   66 83 FB 0B
<< 0x51bf0   66 83 FB 0D
>> 0x51f9f   83 FD 0B
<< 0x51f9f   83 FD 0D
>> 0x5202a   66 83 FE 0B
<< 0x5202a   66 83 FE 0D
>> 0x520f8   66 83 FB 0B
<< 0x520f8   66 83 FB 0D
>> 0x521a7   BA 0A 00 00 00
<< 0x521a7   BA 0C 00 00 00
>> 0x521b3   8D 45 F6
<< 0x521b3   8D 45 F1
>> 0x521b6   83 ED 09
<< 0x521b6   83 ED 0B
>> 0x52267   83 E9 0A
<< 0x52267   83 E9 0C
>> 0x522b7   83 E9 0A
<< 0x522b7   83 E9 0C
>> 0x52427   66 83 FA 0A
<< 0x52427   66 83 FA 0C
>> 0x5242d   BA 09 00 00 00
<< 0x5242d   BA 0B 00 00 00
>> 0x5268a   83 F8 0B
<< 0x5268a   83 FA 0D
>> 0x526e7   BA 0A 00 00 00
<< 0x526e7   BA 0C 00 00 00
>> 0x526F7   8D 41 F6
<< 0x526F7   8D 41 F1
>> 0x526FA   83 E9 09
<< 0x526FA   83 E9 0B
>> 0x529e7   83 FA 0B
<< 0x529e7   83 FA 0D
>> 0x52bce   80 FB 0B
<< 0x52bce   80 FB 0D
>> 0x52dbf   80 FB 0B
<< 0x52dbf   80 FB 0D
>> 0x530A0   66 82 F9 4D
<< 0x530A0   80 F9 4E 90
>> 0x534ac   88 C2 8D 04 95 00 00 00 00 29 D0 C1 E0 02 29 D0
<< 0x534ac   0F B6 C0 6B C0 0D 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
>> 0x54608   66 83 FB 0B
<< 0x54608   66 83 FB 0D
>> 0xd1e17   66 83 FA 0A
<< 0xd1e17   66 83 FA 0C
>> 0xd1e27   83 E8 09
<< 0xd1e27   83 E8 0B
>> 0xd1e46   BA 0A 00 00 00
<< 0xd1e46   BA 0C 00 00 00
>> 0xd5778   80 FB 0B
<< 0xd5778   80 FB 0D

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by thunderchero » Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:02 pm

just a note on code,

Code: Select all

>> 0x5268a   83 F8 0B
<< 0x5268a   83 FA 0D
I think should be,

Code: Select all

>> 0x5268a   83 F8 0B
<< 0x5268a   83 F8 0D
this would not be reason for below.
Dafedz wrote:however patcher is reporting a red flag for it
is this before or after you apply it?

thunderchero

User avatar
Dafedz
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:00 am

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by Dafedz » Wed Mar 06, 2013 6:21 pm

Nice catch there ;) No red flags now.

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by Tethys » Thu Mar 07, 2013 7:59 am

Glad you got it sorted. Looking forward to some new models from you. May or may not know, but there is a shared texture that TC is trying to standardize for new models, but so far only a few ships use them (about 7-10 models), but it saves a few palettes and allows higher res textures without taxing the graphics engine more than it needs to be. At least thats my understanding. Oh, also, there is an 8 phaser 150% scale standard, TC also invented this. It helps to combine the ships when adding them via UE, since you can add 3 ships in 1 slot if they have same phasers and same scale. I am not sure if you know of these things, so I am just trying to be helpful. I am a big fan of your work :D It is an honor to speak to you.

On a side note, I would like to ask you, what ever happened to your BotF 2 content? I was planning on asking permissions to use some of it in my mod, Galaxies Mod, but after checking the BotF 2 forums it looks like there was a falling out, and the content is now lost? Or did you have a backup of some sort? Zeleni already given me permission to use his Minor race logos for some of my buildings, but my content is far from being complete.
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
Dafedz
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 109
Joined: Mon May 05, 2008 2:00 am

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by Dafedz » Thu Mar 07, 2013 10:17 am

Hey Tethys:) Yes unfortunately my involvement with the various BoTF2 projects, namely Supremacy, came to an end. Mike is a great guy producing a great game, but in the end it veered too far from the mission brief, from BoTF - what the majority of the devs wanted it to be. He was the coder - the builder - so he had every right to build what he wanted I guess, regardless of what the architect's blueprints said. So that's what happened.

Also my site, Trekmania.net, where I was hosting the Botf2 database, ran its course and came down last year after 13 years online. I still have all the data from the pretty massive database, and will be implementing as much as I can of it into Ultimate Mod 5. At least it will actually get to see gameplay after all! Some images from our team I'm hoping to use also, pending permissions.

I don't know about doing a whole lot of new ships for it. Maybe with the prospect of a new OpenGL combat system I might look into doing some modelling again. The current system of fiddling around with BSPs kind of puts me off (my results from previous UMs were generally mixed). Besides, there are a ton of great ships available now, so all that leaves are concept designs of your own really. And let's face it, I was never very good with low-poly modelling anyway. Full scale and high res was more my thing.

UM5 is coming along though. I owe a lot to thunder for assisting me in actually getting a stable trek.exe. I had several issues that needed ironing out. But so far it's looking good!

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by Tethys » Thu Mar 07, 2013 11:43 am

Sounds good then. Feel free to use anything of mine, like planet animations or phaser colors. I need to release my torpedo graphics but I have not edited the black out of the images yet.
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: How to add a Science and technologies

Post by Flocke » Thu Mar 07, 2013 3:48 pm

Dafedz wrote:Hey Tethys:) Yes unfortunately my involvement with the various BoTF2 projects, namely Supremacy, came to an end. Mike is a great guy producing a great game, but in the end it veered too far from the mission brief, from BoTF - what the majority of the devs wanted it to be. He was the coder - the builder - so he had every right to build what he wanted I guess, regardless of what the architect's blueprints said. So that's what happened.
Hard to fulfill everyones wishes, that is what kept me into modding BotF all the years too. I watched other projects come along but in the end they all differ alot from BotF and for my taste not to the good. Still they are some great projects and it's nice to also see Supremacy progress a bit again.
Dafedz wrote:Also my site, Trekmania.net, where I was hosting the Botf2 database, ran its course and came down last year after 13 years online. I still have all the data from the pretty massive database, and will be implementing as much as I can of it into Ultimate Mod 5. At least it will actually get to see gameplay after all! Some images from our team I'm hoping to use also, pending permissions.
Sad on the database, but looking forward to see it ingame some time! :up:
Dafedz wrote:I don't know about doing a whole lot of new ships for it. Maybe with the prospect of a new OpenGL combat system I might look into doing some modelling again. The current system of fiddling around with BSPs kind of puts me off (my results from previous UMs were generally mixed). Besides, there are a ton of great ships available now, so all that leaves are concept designs of your own really. And let's face it, I was never very good with low-poly modelling anyway. Full scale and high res was more my thing.
Don't hear at Tethys, that shared texture stuff was great for the moment but all that stuff will become obsolete I promise. I can't offer OpenGL yet as for some reason it does crash, but if you don't have ATI graphics or onboard chips, mpr++ in DirectX9 mode already works quite good. Lots of work remaining though. Next month I hopefully find time again.
Dafedz wrote:UM5 is coming along though. I owe a lot to thunder for assisting me in actually getting a stable trek.exe. I had several issues that needed ironing out. But so far it's looking good!
Cool! I got to hear on some of your issues already. :lol:
Great thunderchero found time to help fix it. We all owe him alot! :roll:

Post Reply

Return to “Adding a Science and Technologies”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users