Windowed mode?

This forum contains threads from main General Chat forum older than 3 months.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
MagneticLuck
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 5
Joined: Wed Jun 18, 2008 2:00 am

Windowed mode?

Post by MagneticLuck » Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:20 pm

Is it possible to play BotF in windowed mode? I like to use MSN etc. while playing games, but so far I don't know how to do it with a game that doesn't have an option in-game for windowed mode. So if anyone knows, that'd be a big help. :D

I have tried adding -w and -window at the end, but that doesn't work. I have Vista, and I only have Ultimate Dominion Mod installed, if thats any help.

Thanks to anyone that can help! :D

User avatar
HsojVvad
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 776
Joined: Wed Feb 04, 2009 3:00 am

Post by HsojVvad » Thu Mar 24, 2011 7:35 pm

Since the game is what more than 10 years old, I don't think it is possible. I just hit the "windows" button and have no trouble from going in and out that way.

I know it is not what you are looking for, but that is the only way I know of doing it.
PRIUSQUAM PRAESENS DAMNATUS SALVENS :
HIC HOMO NESCIENS. QUAE FUTURA EST ?

EST PLANE VANUM?
MAGNIFICANDUM?
ERROR AUT SANUM?
O FORTUNA EST!
QUA?

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:02 pm

Well, botf doesn't support this out of the box, but that doesn't mean it can't be done.
d3dwindower and dxwnd, are two tools for forcing directx games to windowed mode. Didn't work for me but others had success.

In case it doesn't work for you, you can still try the following little "workaround" :lol:
(requires a hex editor like http://mh-nexus.de/en/hxd/)

instructions for pseudo windowed mode:
  • replace 01 by 00 at offset 0x1127F3 in trek.exe to create the main surface in windowed mode
  • change Offset 1286-1298
    from 6A 01 2E FF 15 0C 46 57 00 50 56 2E FF 15 0C 46 57 00 50
    to 68 58 02 00 00 68 20 03 00 00 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90
    to set a fixed window size of 800x600 instead of acquiring the full screen
    when calling CreateWindowExA
  • at offset 12AB replace 08 by 00 to unset WS_EX_TOPMOST for the dwExStyle param to prevent botf from being always on top.
  • set your display color depth to 16bit
  • move the window to upper left corner to align mouse cursor
+ Additionally, you could nop (no operation = 90) offset 12C0-12DE. Here the functions ShowWindow, SetFocus and ShowCursor are getting called
(the call to ShowCursor causes the windows cursor to be hidden)

HTH :)

User avatar
Kingdave
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:08 pm

Re: Windowed mode?

Post by Kingdave » Mon Sep 16, 2013 1:40 pm

Hello Flocke, how do i get a fixed window size of 1440x900?

lg

Jools

:ok have it
68 58 04 00 00 68 20 07 00 00 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90 90

any idea how to start game on the second screen?

yeahh i use the game with the 1366 mode
Last edited by Kingdave on Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:15 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: Windowed mode?

Post by Flocke » Mon Sep 16, 2013 2:10 pm

well for 1440x900 you'd need to rewrite the gui
so far highest resolution we have is 1366x768 thunderchero is working on for vanilla
however with mpr++ you can stretch the view to whatever resolution you prefer
if interested you can enlist for the alpha at viewtopic.php?f=4&t=2720

cheers

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re:

Post by Flocke » Sun May 25, 2014 5:27 pm

Flocke wrote:
  • set your display color depth to 16bit
a little upadate on this. with windows 8.1 it doesn't seem to suffice to enable 16-bit compatibility anymore when the exe is newer than the windows 8.1 update. Either fix the file date to an older one or enable windows 8 or lower compability resolves it for me. So botf can iterate 16-bit modes and render correct.

Post Reply

Return to “General Chat Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users