This forum contains threads from main General Chat forum older than 3 months.

Moderator: thunderchero

OllsMcAllister
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade

Post by OllsMcAllister »

Hey all,

Just thought I'd create a thread to say hello from your newest member. I've been playing BotF for many years now (still have my original disc from when the game launched two decades ago) and can't believe I haven't ever modded the game before.

Quite excited to see the Ultimate Dominion III Mod - in the process of downloading that and the BOTF_1.0.2_English_German_e.exe file at the moment.

Are there any tips and tricks that some veteran modders would like to impart to a newbie? :)

Olls
HsojVvad
Commodore
Commodore

Post by HsojVvad »

Welcome to the forums. 2 decades ago? I thought it was only 10 years old. :D

As for tips use the key board short cuts. I and O is In and Out or zoom in and zoom out. Arrow keys scroll your map as well when you are in the planet screen you can use the arrow keys to go to the next alphabetiacly planet.

I love the All Ages Mod because you can build Minor race ships not sure if UDM III does this or not and love starting with the NX-01.

Play the game, make lots of mistakes learn from then and come back on the forums to ask.

Have fun.
PRIUSQUAM PRAESENS DAMNATUS SALVENS :
HIC HOMO NESCIENS. QUAE FUTURA EST ?

EST PLANE VANUM?
MAGNIFICANDUM?
ERROR AUT SANUM?
O FORTUNA EST!
QUA?
Dr_Breen
Commodore
Commodore

Post by Dr_Breen »

So you're going to try yourself in modding the game?

this tread may be useful to you:
viewtopic.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=1284

a very handy tool you should use from the very beginning on is Dcer's Ultimate Editor:
viewtopic.php?name=Downloads&d_op=getit&lid=173

it allows you to edit certain stuff like buildings, shiplist, animations, races and so on.

there's quite a few things we're able to do, however the steps necessary for modifying a certain part of the game are quite different.