Several Questions from a New Player

This forum contains threads from main General Chat forum older than 3 months.

Moderator: thunderchero

JetJaguar
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year

Several Questions from a New Player

Post by JetJaguar »

Hi. I just started playing BotF for the very first time a couple of days ago and I'm really enjoying it (to say the least)! I first heard about BotF a couple of years ago, but (even though I've been a life-long Star Trek fan) I was concerned that maybe it was too dated (it was about 10 years old at the time) and I thought that perhaps a Star Trek mod with one of the newer games (like GalCiv 2) might be a better choice. But after playing it for the first time last week-end, I can't believe how well it stands up to current 4X space games. I'd probably sell my soul to have a 2011 sequel to BotF!

Anyway, I have some questions about BotF which were not covered in the tutorial:

1) Is there any benefit in using your labor to work farm buildings to produce food in access of what a system needs not to starve? In other words, once you're working enough farms to keep your population fed, is there any reason to work (or build) anymore?

2) In diplomacy, you're allowed to offer proposals in three different tones. I've only played as The Federation so far and all three of their "tones" sound about the same. Does the tone you choose actually effect gameplay? If so, then how?

3) Another question about diplomacy: I'm at war with The Klingons and I want them to give our "disputed areas" to me. I notice that I can give up the disputed areas as part of a peace treaty, but I can't demand/ask for them as part of a peace treaty. In order to aquire them through this war, should I just wait for The Klingons to offer them to me as part of a peace treaty (since I can't ask for them as part of a peace treaty)? also: is there any reason to want "disputed squares" if there aren't any systems in them?