Scan Strength and Cloak

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Scan Strength and Cloak

Post by Tethys » Sun Jul 18, 2010 9:32 pm

Does anyone have any idea how these work and can they be changed? I would like to make the values higher so its harder to detect cloaked ships in the area, so you must purchase additional scanners to get your borders secured. Please post any information you can.

Thread describing how cloak works: viewtopic.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=66
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 » Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:35 am

All cloaking values (ie cloak I - cloak III) work the same way:-

On the main (F1) screen you will see icons on the map, map icons pop-up (i.e. task force counter), and, task forces displayed in the column below empire info if a sector has 30 scan strength or above. Initially in tactical combat cloaked ships start wit a cloaked approch distance added to their possitions, this is 300.

Spocks Cuddly Tribble wrote:-
My tests didn't show any influence of different Stealth/Cloak levels in tactical combat
I haven't diserned any diffrence or effect of stealth in combat or any other part of the game - unlike cloaked ships a scan strength of one is sufficent to reveal them.

My guess is that since their are 3 levels of stealth and cloaking this was going to be a larger part og the games mechanics which lick so many things in BotF never got propperly finished. :(

Code: Select all

F1-interface cloak checks thanks to SCT for this 

icon on F1 map 30 to 50
	0xD9729 1E -> 32

F1 map icons pop-up 30 to 70 
	0xE0A73 1E -> 46

F1 task forces column 30 to 90 
	0xE953C 1E -> 5a

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:25 am

I was playing with the values for Cloak and Ive come up with a nice combo:

Icon on F1 Map = 14 (20 scan points to see)

F1 map icons pop up = 1E (default 30 scan points)

F1 task forces column = 2c (45 scan points)

Now also, scan strength seems to be influenced by crew experience, but not enough to make a significant difference. I would like you to find this value if you can/have time. Or if you could find the scans direct value would be helpful as well. :P
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

Kurn
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 44
Joined: Thu Aug 12, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Germany

Re:

Post by Kurn » Sun Jul 15, 2018 3:22 pm

Peter1981 wrote:
Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:35 am

Code: Select all

F1-interface cloak checks thanks to SCT for this 

icon on F1 map 30 to 50
	0xD9729 1E -> 32

F1 map icons pop-up 30 to 70 
	0xE0A73 1E -> 46

F1 task forces column 30 to 90 
	0xE953C 1E -> 5a
I have a problem. I want F1 task forces column 30 to 140 (means 1E > 8C), but it doesn't work in game. 120 (1E > 78) works, but 140 not. Is there a limit?

Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users