UE Add ship model problem

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
detroit69
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Dec 10, 2009 3:00 am

UE Add ship model problem

Post by detroit69 »

I an new to modding the game and have been using the UE. When i go to add a ship, i am following the guide for adding ships. I have the phasers and scale set up to equal the ship i am putting in but i cannot import the ship into the unused slot. i am using the ship pack 2 trying to put the nova class VR1 ship using the miranda class phasers. Has any one come across this problem before?
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6510
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero »

Hi detroit69,

first, phasers can not be changed

next, most vanilla ships (unmodded) can not share ship slot with any ship. So you may need to replace miranda class before it can be shared with nova.

thunderchero
User avatar
cochran556
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:06 am

Re: UE Add ship model problem

Post by cochran556 »

I keep trying to add ships to a mod I'm playing around with and no matter what i use i get a message of no phaser data found. What an i missing? I'm trying to do this in the botf.res and in the trek.exe files and get the same message. Any thoughts?
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6510
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: UE Add ship model problem

Post by thunderchero »

what model are you having problems with? some very old models were created before we figured out how to add phasers.
User avatar
cochran556
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:06 am

Re: UE Add ship model problem

Post by cochran556 »

Model of editor? Version 0.7.1b
User avatar
cochran556
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:06 am

Re: UE Add ship model problem

Post by cochran556 »

And it doesn't seem to matter what ship pack i use. I've tried the Excalibur class final, imperial star destroyer (i was going to make them a minor race or something) and now i just tried the prevaricate runabout. All the same results.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6510
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: UE Add ship model problem

Post by thunderchero »

cochran556 wrote:the Excalibur class final, imperial star destroyer
those do not sound like birth of the federation ship packs

could you provide links to the downloads you are using?
User avatar
cochran556
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:06 am

Re: UE Add ship model problem

Post by cochran556 »

I think you may have solved my problem. Lol those were listed under "3ds" federation ship packs, and star wars obviously. Trying a different one from the ue list
User avatar
cochran556
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 10
Joined: Fri Jan 08, 2016 1:06 am

Re: UE Add ship model problem

Post by cochran556 »

Yup, works now. Now i just have to figure out the fine points of making it work the way i want. For whatever reason, the files I'm playing with (the galaxy mod, using it to see how things work together and whatnot) i see duplicates of ships in the game, it won't let me import new models, but it will let me replace models with matching data once i rename them (odd way puff working but it does) I'll just have to sit and re read the tutorial again.
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”