techtree.tec - TalShiar operatives report successful mission

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke »

great SCT, and thanks for saving me :)

Well, earlier today I tried to force botf in windowed mode again, editing the code.
This is what I got:
windowed.jpg
windowed.jpg (194.58 KiB) Viewed 2597 times
It looks terrifying (not terrific :lol:) and combat crashes cause botf or mpr has some troubles with it, but for some debugging it's ok. Would have tried fixing the techlists now again, but it might still help me next time.
Last edited by Flocke on Wed May 12, 2010 7:01 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Interesting, I like how its all lopsided looking LOL! ;)

I suppose you may have missed some code somewhere :P
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2589
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke »

It reminds me on some issues someone mentioned before. Think he posted a screenshot somewhere quite similar to this one:
windowed_mainmenu.jpg
windowed_mainmenu.jpg (22.39 KiB) Viewed 2596 times
When just changing the CreateSurface method call to windowed mode, there would be no border and window would still acquire full screen but just showing botf in the top left corner with the rest being black.

However, it really looks weird and funny, especially the doubled planets rotating in galaxy view. :lol:

And of course I have missed code... That's self-evident :!: :P
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

as a quick poin there is no point to hyaving more than 16 (0-15) technologies in each group as the the game only can display 16 on screen. I'm continuing to test...

EDIT: this is sovled -->>
Last edited by Peter1981 on Tue May 18, 2010 6:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

i remember Thunderchero said that you could click the lower most one and hit (insert?) or (page down?) to see *items* below the block point... this had to do with the experiment of turning main structures into buildings, but this was deemed impossible at the time...

TC can you confirm?
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

wants to kill timmy and lazarus that how angry i am...

sadly my test have not been to good, while I added techs 11-16 and you could view these in the right order on the science screens the game crashed to desktop when you click a technology over id 77 ie #4D (77 is 7 *11 some sort of check.)

I have reduced my techs to 0-12 each this means you cannot look at the discription of Weapons 12, only,

any thought if there is a check? as there was nothing in the crash log.
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

I cant check right now, Im at school and they have AFC firewalled (proxy muahahhaa) but the multi installer wont download, always gets stuck around 1.5 mb

Any idea if there is a version on 4shared? Anyone? please? really need it.. thanks :D
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero »

Tethys wrote:i remember Thunderchero said that you could click the lower most one and hit (insert?) or (page down?) to see *items* below the block point... this had to do with the experiment of turning main structures into buildings, but this was deemed impossible at the time...

TC can you confirm?
don't know if you are talking about this

viewtopic.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&p=17104#17104
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Yes that was it! Thanks! :D
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

ho humm ho humm... well no idea where the 77 limit is... and with out this sorted out we can only have one more fully funtioning technology level!
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Hmm, Ill have a look when I get home, still at school right now.

Exactly how many EXTRA techs do u have now? 1? 2?

u might want to go back over them, dont forget you need to add sociology as well or you might get adverse effects... Also you cannot do 1 or 5 techs then save and come back, you need to do them all at once for each tech or you will mess the locations up... and i think if you move any of the older techs around as well it will cause problems... :o
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

I've added 2 to each tech ie

biology:
T11 Metasilicobiology
T12 Neurolitics
Computer:
T11 Bio-neural Circitry
T12 Quasitronics
Construction
T11 Partical Synthesis
T12 Quantum Bonding
Energy
T11 Quantum Fusion
T12 Temporal Determinancy
Propulsion
T11 Subspace Tunneling
T12 Coaxial Induction
Weapons
T11 Aut-Modulation
T12 Micro-Modulation (alway CTD when selected)
Sociology
T11 Socioloigy 11
T12 Socioloigy 12

all other techs remain the same as vanilla for the moment.

when i had 0-16 techs each CTD occured when energy 12 was clicked
when I had 0-15 techs each CTD occured when propultion 3 was clicked

it always crashed on 78th technology discription.
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Ah ok i understand now... well then this is interesting stuff :D

have you tried looking for 07 in any of the nearby hex codes and changing them to say, 08? or perhaps looking for 4D (77)?
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

thanks it's more like infuriating!

i was wondering about this beeing a limit like in the energy screen project if it is then its gonna be very difficult to address

further extra tecks would exclude the use of sociology science Bugge*!

not had a look for them yet but not sure where to begin as i dont have an deasemble program.
KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2277
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL »

Flocke wrote: It looks terrific
never thought of you as an CGA fan. but hey we all got our favs :lol:
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”