techtree.tec - TalShiar operatives report successful mission

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Hmm... I wonder what happens if you remove all the Sociology techs from the game....

*goes off to mess up another install of game*

I FOUND IT!! But i dunno where it is! :roll:

I went and changed about 6 instances of 4D to 4E and low and behold:
28rnqfa.png
28rnqfa.png (443.26 KiB) Viewed 2330 times
I will get back to you with the location(s) that need to be changed :!:

Additionally, deleting all Sociology techs SEEMS to have no adverse affects on gameplay, but I recommend not to do so just in case


0x530A3

Replace

4D

With

71


71 is the highest value i could get without crash, i did numerous tests... still this allows 113 total techs to the tech tree :D

Go on, Peter, add those Techs ;)
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

I did some calculations, and it came out to *exactly* 6 extra techs for the 6 tech fields, so if I am to calculate correctly, with above code, techtree can go up to 18 techs 8O
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

SKIP TO END TO SEE LATEST UPDATE -->>

I booldy love you tethys :) (I'd kiss you if we weren't both men!) ... mad laughter... off to give it a try....

EDIT

is est perfectus ego perfectus is

I now have technologies 0-15 for all techs (inc. sociology) these are correctly displayed in game and are all viewerble.

I tried 16 and above but found noway to view these from the main screen as the scroll thingy did not function on this screen. so 15 may for the momment be the max :/
Last edited by Peter1981 on Tue May 18, 2010 6:29 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

before at tech level 10 science screen showed future tech 1 and so on the following will correct that (this is for 0-15 tech levels change 0F as you need)

Code: Select all

0xd1e17  66 83 fa 0a  -> 66 83 fa 0F 
however once you reach tech 15 (in my case) the science screen shows the next technology as future tech 6

we still have the problem of after tech level 10 we still are counted out the future technologies from 1.
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Excellent work Peter! For the record I would like to post your screenshot you sent me. Is this ok with you?
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER »

Peter1981 wrote:we still have the problem of after tech level 10 we still are counted out the future technologies from 1.
Try changing "09" at 0xD1E29 to "0E"
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

Try changing "09" at 0xD1E29 to "0E"
works a treat thanks DCER for that science screen correctly shows FT1 at current tech 15 thank you.
Excellent work Peter! For the record I would like to post your screenshot you sent me. Is this ok with you?
post away tethys :)
Last edited by Peter1981 on Thu May 13, 2010 5:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

I changed the following value and tech progress stops at level 10

Code: Select all

0x521a8 0a -> 0f 
even with 100+% research in each field
this seems to be part off the sub_4529F0 dealing with technology progress... I was hoping that this would move the start of FT up, any thoughts guys?

I have tried an number of other 0A and 0B to 0F and 10 resp. to see if i could find a partner to this. -- does anyone know the location of the subroutine with in turn processing that handles research progress display, ie choice between normal anf FT? thanks in advance for the support :)

EDIT

Code: Select all

0x521a8 0a -> 0f
stops research progress at level 10

Code: Select all

0x521b8 09 -> 0e
adding this repairs broken progrees but didn't produce an tech level noticei still get a future tech notice at tech 11 :((
Last edited by Peter1981 on Fri May 14, 2010 12:03 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Sorry it took me so long! Here is what we have :D
2rhlklc.jpg
2rhlklc.jpg (176.8 KiB) Viewed 2329 times
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER »

I did some searching and these seem to deal with research:

0x5242A and 0x5242E

There could still be more. Do a search for the immediate value of 0A in IDA then check the cmp instructions. You then need to figure out if the code deals with research and what the 0A value represents.
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

sadly DCER not assembling yet as waiting for the idiot noob guide to be written on here...

however thank-you very much for this infomation work has begun...

EDIT:

... sadly these two locations didn't seem to effect science. Did you think it would move the FT notification? -- any thoughts greatfully recieved :)
Last edited by Peter1981 on Fri May 14, 2010 4:55 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Peter1981 wrote:I changed the following value and tech progress stops at level 10

Code: Select all

0x521a8 0a -> 0f 
even with 100+% research in each field
this seems to be part off the sub_4529F0 dealing with technology progress... I was hoping that this would move the start of FT up, any thoughts guys?

I have tried an number of other 0A and 0B to 0F and 10 resp. to see if i could find a partner to this. -- does anyone know the location of the subroutine with in turn processing that handles research progress display, ie choice between normal anf FT? thanks in advance for the support :)
Why did you need to change this value? Everything seems to work fine for me when this value is left alone.. (ie using DCER's 09 to 0E solution

EDIT: ah ok i just re-read it and it makes sense now, that this value u probably changed back... ;)
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

there is one part and one part only that seems to deal with the 7 pictures for technology notification within trek.exe (six tech pics and 1 FT pic) however while i have downloaded ida and make some stabs in the dark i am not really sure of the true structure of the subroutine... :?

i believe it must be part (only a very minor part) but it is the only clue i could find... can't remember the asm location but you'll find it if you search for biotech.tga

could i beg atleast one of the code masters to take a look and tell me their thoughts :) lot of thanks in advance :)

EDIT: asm is asm_4543ef0
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

Peter1981 wrote: EDIT

Code: Select all

0x521a8 0a -> 0f
stops research progress at level 10

Code: Select all

0x521b8 09 -> 0e
adding this repairs broken progrees but didn't produce an tech level noticei still get a future tech notice at tech 11 :((
I think you mean:

Code: Select all

0x521a8 0a -> 10
stops research progress at level 10

Code: Select all

0x521b8 09 -> 0F
adding this repairs broken progress

At least this is how it worked for me...

Also would like to note that the first value controls the physical progress, while the second value controls only the notification... so it is possible that we are looking for either an 09 or 0A value regarding notifications... Dont worry, im digging ;)
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2071
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys »

ugh... ive been thru about a thousand 09's and 0A's and still no sign if her... i only checked in and around the posted locations in this thread.... sleep :x
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”