Page 1 of 1

Scan Strength and Cloak

Posted: Sun Jul 18, 2010 9:32 pm
by Tethys
Does anyone have any idea how these work and can they be changed? I would like to make the values higher so its harder to detect cloaked ships in the area, so you must purchase additional scanners to get your borders secured. Please post any information you can.

Thread describing how cloak works: viewtopic.php?name=Forums&file=viewtopic&t=66

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:35 am
by Peter1981
All cloaking values (ie cloak I - cloak III) work the same way:-

On the main (F1) screen you will see icons on the map, map icons pop-up (i.e. task force counter), and, task forces displayed in the column below empire info if a sector has 30 scan strength or above. Initially in tactical combat cloaked ships start wit a cloaked approch distance added to their possitions, this is 300.

Spocks Cuddly Tribble wrote:-
My tests didn't show any influence of different Stealth/Cloak levels in tactical combat
I haven't diserned any diffrence or effect of stealth in combat or any other part of the game - unlike cloaked ships a scan strength of one is sufficent to reveal them.

My guess is that since their are 3 levels of stealth and cloaking this was going to be a larger part og the games mechanics which lick so many things in BotF never got propperly finished. :(

Code: Select all

F1-interface cloak checks thanks to SCT for this 

icon on F1 map 30 to 50
	0xD9729 1E -> 32

F1 map icons pop-up 30 to 70 
	0xE0A73 1E -> 46

F1 task forces column 30 to 90 
	0xE953C 1E -> 5a

Posted: Mon Jul 19, 2010 10:25 am
by Tethys
I was playing with the values for Cloak and Ive come up with a nice combo:

Icon on F1 Map = 14 (20 scan points to see)

F1 map icons pop up = 1E (default 30 scan points)

F1 task forces column = 2c (45 scan points)

Now also, scan strength seems to be influenced by crew experience, but not enough to make a significant difference. I would like you to find this value if you can/have time. Or if you could find the scans direct value would be helpful as well. :P

Re:

Posted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 3:22 pm
by Kurn
Peter1981 wrote: Mon Jul 19, 2010 3:35 am

Code: Select all

F1-interface cloak checks thanks to SCT for this 

icon on F1 map 30 to 50
	0xD9729 1E -> 32

F1 map icons pop-up 30 to 70 
	0xE0A73 1E -> 46

F1 task forces column 30 to 90 
	0xE953C 1E -> 5a
I have a problem. I want F1 task forces column 30 to 140 (means 1E > 8C), but it doesn't work in game. 120 (1E > 78) works, but 140 not. Is there a limit?