Editing image files in UE

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
eprahsnada
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Banbury, Oxon

Editing image files in UE

Post by eprahsnada »

I have converted a load of files into 16-bit .tga as needed, but for some reason i cannot select the folder that contains them. do i have to convert stbof.res into a zip file and paste them in or is there another way?
Do you think starships have industrial window wipers? I mean, a space-bug hitting the viewscreen at warp 5 will make one HELL of a mess!
User avatar
eprahsnada
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Banbury, Oxon

Post by eprahsnada »

May have found the problem but need help. Is it possible for somebody to paste the name of the image each major race uses in UE (for example, the acamarian's image file is called "acamaria.tga", the caldonian's image file is called "caldonia.tga" etc...)

I think if i rename the major race image files the way the originals were, it may let me use them properly, because when i named the minor races the same as they were originally it accepted the new images and is working well.

If anybody is unsure as how to find this then go on ultimate editor and open "stbof.res", then go to edit, races, race info. you will find the relevant name next to "image file" which is underneath the picture. Really appreciate any help.

Eprahsnada
Do you think starships have industrial window wipers? I mean, a space-bug hitting the viewscreen at warp 5 will make one HELL of a mess!
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero »

UE will add files with any name. although they may need to be the same size as vanilla race file. (160 x 170)

also name must be 8/3 (8 for name and 3 for tga) no longer

thunderchero
User avatar
eprahsnada
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Banbury, Oxon

Post by eprahsnada »

Its weird though because when i changed the minor race images, the ones that had different names to the original files wouldn't "stay put" when i selected them in the race info, but then when i changed the name to how it was letter for letter they miraculously worked perfectly. Now I cant seem to get my minor race image files to stay with the correct race description. At the moment my cardassian image keeps changing itself to caldonian, what the heck is it playing at?

Eprahsnada
Do you think starships have industrial window wipers? I mean, a space-bug hitting the viewscreen at warp 5 will make one HELL of a mess!
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by Peter1981 »

what version of UE are you using eprahsnada
User avatar
eprahsnada
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 85
Joined: Tue Jun 15, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Banbury, Oxon

Post by eprahsnada »

UE_0.7.0b, probably an older UE but it hasnt let me down yet.... until now. I dont get why its doing it. I mean it was doing it with the edited minor race pics, but then when i edited the file names to match the original files they started working. but the major races wont play ball. the new files wont stay, i put the cardassian pic file with cardassian race info and then when i click on it again its gone to caldonia. same with federation, ferengi, klingon and romulan. Any ideas? I dont know if changing the names back to match the original pic files would work as if its been coded to respond to those particular names, but i cant test it cos i dont have the original names so dont know what they used to be.
Do you think starships have industrial window wipers? I mean, a space-bug hitting the viewscreen at warp 5 will make one HELL of a mess!
User avatar
DCER
Code Master
Code Master
Posts: 683
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am

Post by DCER »

Hi eprahsnada,

this bug was fixed in the dev version, but I forgot to add it to stable. I've uploaded 0.7.0k which has the bug fixed now.

Thanks for bringing this up and sorry for your troubles.
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”