Hexes - Crashes

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Hexes - Crashes

Post by astrotrooper »

Ok got myself a hex editor.. I opened up the trek exe - it does not list za_a like it list the borgbase for Dr_Breen.

I opened up the shiplist.sst which I extracted from the .res file - with the same hex editor - it does list ZA after the R'daran romulan cruiser I uploaded the za to in the UEditor Ship Stats.

Now I don't know if the za is on the shiplist or just it's tga picture - or what to edit in the trek.exe.
Last edited by astrotrooper on Tue Jun 07, 2011 7:56 am, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero »

how many phaser slots did you add when separating? 8?

The trek.exe will not have "ZA" you will need to edit the phaser slot you used to replace the other ship the romulan strike cruiser "RM1"

this is one reason I use the original prefixes when creating models.

thunderchero

Note; please post your problems in 1 thread if needed you can edit the first post to edit the title of the post.
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

how many phaser slots did you add when separating? 8?
16 phaser slots (the cabbage is a powerful ship)

Ok so I edit RM1 in the trek exe?

What do I edit in RM1? There is a 0c below/after it's numerical designation - I suppose that is hex for "12" - but it is followed only by 7 double zeroes..
Note; please post your problems in 1 thread if needed you can edit the first post to edit the title of the post.
Ok. Many different problems. :D
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

I use the original prefixes when creating models
Oh, so you just replace the original hob files, and TGA files with new ones and edit the phaser slots?
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero »

astrotrooper wrote:16 phaser slots (the cabbage is a powerful ship)
the amount of phaser slot has nothing to do with how powerful the ship is only how many point the phasers fire from. 8 is used as a standard to allow multi ships on same slot.
astrotrooper wrote:Ok so I edit RM1 in the trek exe?
if that is the model you replaced.
astrotrooper wrote:What do I edit in RM1? There is a 0c below/after it's numerical designation - I suppose that is hex for "12" - but it is followed only by 7 double zeroes..

note I am not sure if 16 phasers will work 12 is the highest ever used.

thunderchero
Last edited by thunderchero on Sun Jun 05, 2011 9:57 pm, edited 1 time in total.
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

Well what I did is renamed my pieces to replace the federation defiant class it also has 16 phasers - I re-registered the replaced texture (if it gets exported to a ship pack and reimported it gets renamed anyway..) I am attempting the hex editing now.

I think I got it:

the 13th bite or double digit spot counted from the very beginning marks the number of phasers a ship has (08 for Dr-Breen's station 10 which means 16 for the defiant), and the last 16 spots counted back from the beginning of the next ship name and registry is the phaser slots - usually begins fith a "3f"..

Do I have it right?


Well I'll try it see if it works...

Than I have about 10 more ships to do............

But If it works I'll post a link to the ship pack for you guys to try it..
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

Yup the last 16 will be the phasers than.

Do you have to increase the value for each phaser or can you just put 01 for each?
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

I'll get back to you guys tommorow. :)
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero »

astrotrooper wrote:Yup the last 16 will be the phasers than.

Do you have to increase the value for each phaser or can you just put 01 for each?
I don't think there is much difference between 01 on all and 01 - 08 (increasing numbers) both works. but bytes must equal total of phasers used when model is created.

thunderchero
User avatar
anjel
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 666
Joined: Thu May 08, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Bs As - Argentina

Post by anjel »

this bring me old memories... :lol:
keep going !!! , creator and hex are really anoying programs, but the final result it´s worth it :D
Live long and propser
Dr_Breen
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 889
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Zurich, Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Dr_Breen »

looks like i need to update the video tutorial in that part a bit. As anjel mentioned before you suddenly become very familiar to hex-editing and perhaps don't even know how difficuilt it appears to somebody who never ever did it before.
Public BotF / EF2 Teamspeak 3 Server: 83.169.13.55
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

I keep getting crashes.........

At first I thought it was the 16 phasers reduced it to 8 - crash.


Than I thought it was the model in max it was around 3000 vertices Creator kicked it up to 6600 - so I remade it even in Creator it is around 4700 vertices - still crashes.

Finally I made a simple capsule object with 6 phasers - replaced the romulan scout and did the hex editing correctly - it still crashes - I don't know what's wrong...


About the only thing I do differently is I separate first than add the pahsers, and shading..(because the model sometimes does not separate after the work is done on it) does that make a difference?

Or is it a problem during the adding process... I don't know.

I'll post my 3ds file, flt, and hob.. see if you guys can figure out what's wrong with it...
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero »

Hi

when does it crash? looking at ship or when phasers fire?

when you upload also add the trek.exe so we can look at your hex code.

thunderchero
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

Well it crashes when I would enter battle.

I'll upload everything by this afternoon.
User avatar
astrotrooper
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 50
Joined: Mon May 30, 2011 2:00 am

Post by astrotrooper »

Here it is - all files - have a look..

http://www.gamefront.com/files/20412906/ship.rar
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”