adding new voices

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
TheFajeth
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 4:58 pm

adding new voices

Post by TheFajeth »

Hey, i searched the forums but didn't find anything specific:

I know that new .wav - files for voicesets must have a specific format - but I couldn't find a "tutorial" and (even more important) a program to convert the .wav files

For example i'd like to include the original "We are the borg"-speech, i found some nice waves and also the place were i'd have to displace the files ... But wrong format :/

I hope someone can give me some tips!
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: adding new voices

Post by thunderchero »

windows sound recorder had the correct format.

thunderchero
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Re: adding new voices

Post by Peter1981 »

can i ask if files have to remain the same size? or are the lengths of various voices in the english.snd variable using trek.exe? or does a .snd file contain this infomation?
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: adding new voices

Post by thunderchero »

Peter1981 wrote:can i ask if files have to remain the same size? or are the lengths of various voices in the english.snd variable using trek.exe? or does a .snd file contain this infomation?
The sound file contains this info, sometimes if too long it might get cut off due to next sound loads. So try to keep them about same time lengths.

also test volume of new sounds many times it is too soft. but test (compare) volume in game.

thunderchero
User avatar
TheFajeth
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Sun Sep 04, 2011 4:58 pm

Re: adding new voices

Post by TheFajeth »

so far so good, but isn't there the chance of converting an existing .wav to the correct format/sample rate/whatever ?

thx in advance
User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6527
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: adding new voices

Post by thunderchero »

just open wav file with windows sound recorder then save as (correct format).

thunderchero
User avatar
Peter1981
Rear-Admiral
Rear-Admiral
Posts: 1118
Joined: Tue May 06, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Re: adding new voices

Post by Peter1981 »

thanks for the reply tc;
The sound file contains this info, sometimes if too long it might get cut off due to next sound loads
You mean the .snd file or the .wav? I'm assuming the .snd?
Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”