List of Hades Compatible and non Compatible video cards

This forum is for outdated or irrelevant Modding Information that may or may not be 3 months old.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6429
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

List of Hades Compatible and non Compatible video cards

Post by thunderchero » Tue Jan 20, 2009 2:51 pm

Hi Everyone,

Thanks for everyones replies but I have noticed this is too much dependent on each system a list would be nice but would have false positive and false negitives.

I have already gotten some over lapping reports.

keep reporting I will try to update first post when I can but please read all post to find out if your card might work with each version.

I just want to start a list of video cards that work with vanilla (software), hades 1.1, hades 2.2

I will add cards as they are posted also list the operating system that is used

Vanilla: These video cards will only work correctly with "SOFTWARE" setting
ATI Radeon HD 4850 Series OS Vista
ATI Radeon 3100 OS Vista
ATI Radeon HD 3400 series OS XP
ATI Radeon HD 3650 OS XP By gecube
NVIDIA GeForce 8400M GS OS Vista
NVIDIA Gforce 8600 GTX OS XP
NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GTS OS XP

works on Hades 1.1: These video cards will work with "DIRECT3D" setting
ATI Radeon X1200 series OS XP
ATI Radeon X1650 series OS XP
NVIDIA GeForce 6200 Turbo Cache OS XP
NVIDIA GeForce 6600 OS XP
NVIDIA Geforce 9600 GT OS XP

works on Hades 2.2 These video cards will work with "3DFX" setting
ATI Radeon X1200 series OS XP
ATI Radeon X1650 series OS XP
NVIDIA GeForce 6200 Turbo Cache OS XP
NVIDIA Geforce 9600 GT OS XP


thunderchero
Last edited by thunderchero on Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:42 pm, edited 10 times in total.

User avatar
chiren
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 2
Joined: Tue Dec 09, 2008 3:00 am

Post by chiren » Tue Jan 20, 2009 3:43 pm

Hi,

ATI Radeon HD 3400 series not working with XP, whatever the setting is (3DFX or SOFTWARE).

However my observations are that HADES decreases the frequency of the crashes.
Last edited by chiren on Thu Jan 22, 2009 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
Weirdness
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 51
Joined: Mon May 19, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Shilo, Mantioba, Canuckistan

Post by Weirdness » Wed Jan 21, 2009 6:47 pm

ATI Radeon X1650 series (the card I use) works with Hades 1.1, 2.2, on XP with all settings as well. Crossfire tries to work, but with choppy results. Best to turn it off before firing up BOTF.
Say no to drugs... Narcotics are better!!!

User avatar
daniel
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 53
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2008 2:00 am

Post by daniel » Sat Feb 14, 2009 11:59 am

I have a NVIDIA GeForce 7600 GS on Vista. Know you if it is compatible?

KrazeeXXL
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2267
Joined: Sat Jan 03, 2009 3:00 am
Location: the 36th Chamber

Post by KrazeeXXL » Sat Feb 14, 2009 1:59 pm

I would say, if it's not listed up in here, no one knows as yet.

So its up to you to find it out and tell about your experiences, so other ppl can benefit from this information, too.

User avatar
Prometheus
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Prometheus » Thu Feb 26, 2009 7:55 am

Tested on windows xp with both directx 9 and directx 10
http://babelfish.yahoo.com/translate_ur ... d%3d674287

Hades 1.1 and 2.2 with direct3d works perfectly with:
geforce 260,
geforce 7600gt,
geforce various 5xxx series,
geforce4 mx,
geforce2 mx,
geforce 256,
radeon various 9xxx series.

Hades 2.2 with 3dfx works almost perfectly (some random, unexpected crashes) with:
geforce 260,
geforce 7600gt,
geforce various 5xxx series.

Original software setting was buggy and crashy on every single card, with no exception.

Imo, hades 2.2 with direct3d is compatible with most cards, and still as advanced as it gets.

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2582
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Post by Flocke » Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:14 am

Hey Prometheus,
again, there exists no Hades 2.2 Direct3D, Hades2.2 is 3DFX.
In use by current multi installers is Hades 1.1.

Nice tests, but as for Software, you shouldn't only test the original BotF with all it's 512x512 textures, but instead with 256x256 textures like Hades is using.
For example, use the Hades 1.1 Direct3D installation but change back to SOFTWARE in the stbof.ini so it uses the low resolution textures of Hades instead. That would be much more interesting :)

User avatar
Prometheus
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri May 02, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Prometheus » Thu Feb 26, 2009 8:59 am

Again,

There is a Direct3D in Hades2.2, and dlls this setting is using r updated together with Glide 3DFX support too.

I do not use multi installers, so that is irrelevant.

As for textures: regardless what u use, u should make sure they r 256x256 pixels. 512x512 pixel ones r trouble for both old and new dlls, regardless of setting.

Anyway, since I have a 3d graphic card in my system, I would much more love to see game pushing hardware (direct3d or 3dfx) algorithms, than emulating (software) with software ones. At least, it makes graphics a bit faster, if not so importantly better.

User avatar
war800
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 71
Joined: Fri Sep 12, 2008 2:00 am

Post by war800 » Thu Feb 26, 2009 10:33 am

geforce 8400 works with hades 1.1 and 2.2

User avatar
captaindusk
Commander
Commander
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:00 am

Post by captaindusk » Sun Apr 19, 2009 2:24 am

Running a GeForce 6800 LE TDH from 2004. Works fine with every single setting and Hades version.

User avatar
sean_west
Commander
Commander
Posts: 481
Joined: Wed Apr 30, 2008 2:00 am
Location: England

Post by sean_west » Sun Apr 19, 2009 9:22 am

I have an SiS M760GX in my laptop, and am using hades 2.2.

I also have no lag, even with Thunders larger maps.
Like the bad guy from so many horror films,

I have returned

Mentat
Commander
Commander
Posts: 360
Joined: Sun May 04, 2008 2:00 am

Post by Mentat » Mon Apr 20, 2009 4:13 pm

ATI Sapphire HD 3850
Hades 2.2 "3DFX" setting works for BOTF 1.0.2
Hades 2.2 "Software" setting works for UDM3.0

edit: forgot something: OS is XP
Last edited by Mentat on Wed Apr 22, 2009 10:22 am, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6429
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:41 pm

Thanks for everyones replies but I have noticed this is too much dependent on each system a list would be nice but would have false positive and false negitives.

I have already gotten some over lapping reports.

keep reporting I will try to update first post when I can but please read all post to find out if your card might work with each version.

thunderchero

User avatar
captaindusk
Commander
Commander
Posts: 300
Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2009 3:00 am

Post by captaindusk » Wed Jun 03, 2009 11:04 pm

I upgraded my graphics card recently. I'm now running an ATI Radeon HD 3850 from Sapphire with 512 MB DDR3 RAM. (AGP Version) Unfortunately I noticed that I can't play videos anymore in BotF. They worked like a charm with my older GeForce but they don't work with the Radeon. Neither on 3DFX nor software setting in STBOF.ini.

Game and Tactical combat seem to work good. (Much faster loading and slightly better looking. I hear the playback but don't see the vid itself. No matter if I switch to desktop and back into game again. I'm using multi hades 2.2. Radeon has got newest drivers and video playback works properly with other games. I reinstalled the game already but it didn't help. Anything I can do to get the videos working again? I also noticed that I got a changing number in the upper right corner of any BotF screen. Is that the framerate or something? Never noticed it before.

edit: I mistyped SOFTWARE in STBOF.ini. Software setting works for videos as mentioned in starting post of this thread. It's been a while since I read it. :wink:

User avatar
count23
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 2:00 am

Post by count23 » Mon Jun 08, 2009 9:17 am

9500GM works on Vista with DIRECT3D and 3DFX

Post Reply

Return to “Modding Information Archive”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users