(Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

maximum speed for ships; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

(Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by adi » Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:10 pm

I have seen some references to this but did not find anything specific about establishing or moding the ship speed limit. I tried to set some ships to more than 5, and they show in the in-game info screens as set in UE (e.g. speed 7), however when they move over the map the speed is limited to 5 sectors per turn.
Is there a patch to remove this limitation?

I am using UDMd.

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by Tethys » Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:38 pm

This is something that I have asked myself since I began using UE. My guess is a limit somewhere in trek.exe if I find some time, I will look for it but I am currently playing with buildings above Tech 10 ;)
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by adi » Tue Jan 22, 2013 2:55 pm

I think the buildings above 10 are more important; i noticed the speed limitation a long time ago and it did not bothered me too much; hey, at least we have the -1;
If I may make a suggestion, I would love to have the possibility to set the main building to upgrade by themselves once you reach the proper tech level; I know Thunder did that in one of he's mods. Short of that in my game I changed the production cost of the main buildings so that any upgrade takes just one turn but it is still a bit of a nuisance once you reach a new tech level.

vjeko1701
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri May 07, 2010 2:00 am
Location: Krapina/Zagreb, Croatia
Contact:

Re: Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by vjeko1701 » Tue Jan 22, 2013 3:37 pm

Not really, I think I remember a Borg mod where the ships moved instantly to any square (I thought they just had a large speed set, like 30-50)

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by adi » Tue Jan 22, 2013 5:06 pm

vjeko1701 wrote:Not really, I think I remember a Borg mod where the ships moved instantly to any square (I thought they just had a large speed set, like 30-50)
not exactly; that is achieved by setting the speed to -1; then you have a ship that can move to any sector withing range. But it seems there is are no allowed speeds between 5 and infinity(-1), like 7 or 9.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6059
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by thunderchero » Wed Feb 13, 2013 8:42 pm

Hi Everyone,

well here it is this change would allow up to 99 speed. :grin:

Code: Select all

0x00479f0   00 00 14 40 -> 00 C0 58 40
Edit; I used a max speed of 99 because I figure 100 would need wdf editing to allow for extra room for extra digit.

thunderchero

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by Tethys » Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:42 am

TC, you are as close to being God as I can say I believe in. All hail, TC. I would have never found that, btw, I was looking for 05's and 04's to change... :mad:
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by adi » Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:04 am

All i can say is thank you TC.

P.S. i do not see how you get from 0x00001440 to 5 or 4; or from 0x00C05840 to 99; i tried all number formats in UE and i only got weird numbers, not even a multiple or something arithmetically close to 05 or 99

User avatar
Flocke
BORG Trouble Maker
BORG Trouble Maker
Posts: 2546
Joined: Sun Apr 27, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by Flocke » Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:32 am

Great work thunderchero! :)
adi wrote:P.S. i do not see how you get from 0x00001440 to 5 or 4; or from 0x00C05840 to 99; i tried all number formats in UE and i only got weird numbers, not even a multiple or something arithmetically close to 05 or 99
it's a double as it seems, so it's not 0x00001440 but 0x0000000000001440
use UE calculator, enter 5 as decimal and check double
or use calculator on http://babbage.cs.qc.cuny.edu/IEEE-754/ and see Binary64 ;)
don't forget to reverse for little endian

User avatar
adi
Commander
Commander
Posts: 442
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 6:53 pm
Location: US East Coast

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by adi » Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:36 am

Ooooooh.. the veil has been lifted from my eyes; i am a WYSIAYG programmer so I did not look for hidden self understood zeros at the front; everybody knows they don't count ;)
why didn't i think about going from 5 to that value?! i need my coffee

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6059
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by thunderchero » Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:44 am

sorry yes it is a double (8 bytes) but in trek.exe it only uses last 4 bytes.

so to get value, enter your value you want, select double (8 bytes) whole number are only allowed for this code change. and only use last 4 bytes.

it would display in UE like this

5 = 00 00 00 00 00 00 14 40
99 = 00 00 00 00 00 C0 58 40

but only use last 4 bytes

5 = 00 00 14 40
99 = 00 C0 58 40

thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6059
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by thunderchero » Thu Feb 14, 2013 11:59 am

Also I will note, right after this code there is anouther code (10) = 00 00 24 40, I think this might be for the ship range chart techs 1 -11? or ship range bonus chart techs 1 - 11?

bonus charts are explained here.

viewtopic.php?f=9&t=95&sid=94e2fb42afce ... 9d207b264b

since ship range can be set above "10" I do not think this was ment as a limit.

I have done no testing on this value. but to test this it would need a new chart (maybe both) and relocated, this might be worth investagating? This might expand ship range when new tech levels are added.

thunderchero

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by Tethys » Thu Feb 14, 2013 2:32 pm

I agree. Great find. Perhaps when I finish redoing ship speeds I will give it a look/test, if you havent already. Dont hold your breath though lol

And wouldnt the tech charts be 0-10 values? Only displayed as 1-11 (but still would be a 0A value, unless it was a limiter) But IDK.
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6059
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by thunderchero » Thu Feb 14, 2013 4:09 pm

Tethys wrote: if you havent already.
It might be awhile before I look at this, I am sure I will someday soon. :wink: I would need to setup extra tech levels on some thing before I even start.
Tethys wrote:And wouldnt the tech charts be 0-10 values?
Thats what I would expect to. but post I linked I think it says 1 - 11. But you might want to test galaxy mod just load game and look at research screen and look at propulsion and over tech 10 and see if it increases in first line of description "ship range */*/*"

thunderchero

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Re: (Solved) Is 5 the maximum speed for ships?

Post by Tethys » Wed Oct 22, 2014 1:08 am

I had a chance to test the 00 00 00 00 00 00 24 40 value, I changed it to 2E 40 (15) and no effect on bonus level ranges. Im going to look elsewhere and see if I can turn up something...

If I had to guess I'd say its related to taskforce range, possibly 10 being the maximum number of map range (I did notice at one time playing with very far map ranges, they would merge together and the LONG range seemed to disappear at some points, hard to explain)

http://s29.postimg.org/xudrsbw8n/maprange.png

Seems I have some reading to do in that thread you posted..
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

Post Reply

Return to “maximum speed for ships”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users