DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

The latest information on how to install the game (All in one Installer) and mods.

Moderator: thunderchero

User avatar
Axis
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:28 am

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by Axis » Thu Dec 20, 2018 9:55 am

BTW, I think thunderchero is still on that three month training mission in command of the USS Valiant thirty years from now, in his wheelchair :grin: .
I think it is a secret federation mission he is performing. :wink:

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by thunderchero » Thu Dec 20, 2018 10:41 am

Hi Axis,

My first question would be do other mods still work?
if they are working properly than I would suspect your changes are causing CTD.

It can be very difficult to track down these errors. most issues like this require removing changes one by one testing between each change.

I am guessing no error logs in install folder? But the windows event log still might be helpful.
If the trek.exe is the faulting application the "Fault offset:" is the assembly address of the fault causing CTD. this might give a general idea of change that created your issue.

good luck

User avatar
Axis
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:28 am

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by Axis » Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:06 am

Well, I did not change anything but the resolution (only change was the 1366 resolution which comes within the newest installer) in the AFC mod, but it gave me the blue screen as does the vanilla.
The other mods do work, at least in the beginning, I haven't had the time to investigate any further.
This originally began after me having changed the chalnoth.tga image slightly and adding it into the game, vanilla (I was testing the 2560X1440 resolution, it worked fine until this change, both vanilla and modified ECM and unmodified AFC-mod stopped working).
What I suspect is the updates of windows itself, I mean, I had windows 7 installed when this happened, I even installed 10, but the problem remains, it kinda just popped up after major updates of windows.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by thunderchero » Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:49 pm

Axis wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 11:06 am
Well, I did not change anything but the resolution.....
The other mods do work, at least in the beginning, I haven't had the time to investigate any further.
sounds like you do need to investigate further....

when it come to editing resolution it is tricky since missing images and wrong image size was never anticipated by developer, so no error log code was written.

as for windows update, I would expect video driver updated also and may no longer support 2560X1440?

when replacing images on higher resolutions mods this topic may help explain some changes that are needed.
viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3557#p47791

User avatar
Axis
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:28 am

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by Axis » Fri Dec 21, 2018 3:14 am

Thanks! tc
thunderchero wrote:
Thu Dec 20, 2018 12:49 pm
as for windows update, I would expect video driver updated also and may no longer support 2560X1440?
I tested this with updating my radeon software this morning and the installer threw up blue screen on windows itself, operating system stopped working totally, I had to revert back to the updates before.

The symptoms point to video driver, I have an old video card and these newest updates seem to mess it up.

I remember the last update before this one experienced a "some items could not be installed/ program not fully installed"-problem.
After that BotF began to show these blue screens to me.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by thunderchero » Fri Dec 21, 2018 9:59 am

yeah my system is running an older video driver since last summer.

you might try replacing with older driver

older radeon drivers are harder to find.

here is link to nvidia older drivers
https://www.nvidia.com/drivers/beta

my currently working installed version is 17.11.2

User avatar
Axis
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:28 am

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by Axis » Sun Dec 23, 2018 7:29 am

It was the files I added, that caused the blue screen/crash at startup of botf, I reverted to files before and it worked.
Now I have a different kinda problem, regarding the dxwnd, I'm trying to mod the game to use 4K resolution (3840X2160), resolution patcher works ok, I have added the wdfs into the game.
The game starts slow but allright without dxwnd, but when using dxwnd, it has centered the actual game, whilst the image is in the corner.
I have the 1920X1080 patch already at the bottom (this is the beginning of this modification).
I mean, the buttons location do not match with the actual game, and when in the game, the navigational circle pops up in the corner of the game,
while I press the button in the middle of the screen.
How do I get past this dilemma, are there any settings in dxwnd to adjust in order to have everything in right place, or is it locked down into 1920X1080 resolution which is allways centered, no matter how large is the set resolution of the game?

User avatar
Axis
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander
Posts: 144
Joined: Sun Aug 16, 2015 8:28 am

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by Axis » Sun Dec 23, 2018 8:05 am

Sorry, I solved the beforementioned myself, I had 125% view on in win10, when I reduced it to 100%, the game started working, it now works properly.
Merry Xmas :wink:

User avatar
NitrousUK
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Sep 24, 2019 3:40 pm

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by NitrousUK » Mon Sep 30, 2019 7:18 am

I'm having an issue with DxWnd (AIO fullscreen version) not setting the screen resolution to that of BOTF. This results in a native monitor resolution, and the game running in the middle portion of the screen. Since I'm using a 4k screen, the game ends up very small even at 1366.
I tried the settings of "Run in window", "Only fullscreen", and "Desktop" in DxWnd as mentioned previously. Which seems to set the resolution correctly (or scales up BOTF to the fill the screen) however the screen does not update. I can click on menu items (with a sound) but the screen doesn't update at all. I tried a newer version of DxWnd without success.
Anyone else have this issue or any suggestions?
Many thanks in advance!

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6066
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: DxWnd pre-loaded for BotF (solves most windows 8/10 issues)

Post by thunderchero » Mon Sep 30, 2019 8:36 am

Hi NitrousUK,

You should check your display adapter to see if it supports 1366 x 768, I just noticed that the new amd radeon driver no longer supports 1366 x 768. :???:

so this would be expected, you might try the universal 1920 x 1080 patch to see if that would go full screen.

If this is the issue, complain to AMD Radeon support to support 1366 x 768 again. btw this is the 3rd or 4th time Radeon has dropped support for 1366 x 768 and brought it back next release.

thunderchero

Post Reply

Return to “Game Installation, Technical Support, & Tutorials”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users