(Updated 9-26-16) Ultimate Dominion mod III 3.0.1ddb

Ultimate Dominion Mod; showcase and support/discussion/questions/suggestions/reviews

Moderator: thunderchero

Post Reply
User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:07 pm

A problem yes.. a major one, no. And i would think it logical to believe that the modders do know about the problem.
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
WriterNotViking
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:00 am

Post by WriterNotViking » Sun Dec 13, 2009 8:09 pm

I shall wait patiently, then, and hope for a fix. Thank you very much. :D

User avatar
ruthlessferengi
Multiple Tournament Champion
Multiple Tournament Champion
Posts: 880
Joined: Sat Apr 26, 2008 2:00 am
Location: GMT- 5

Post by ruthlessferengi » Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:44 pm

thunderchero wrote: I will get as much as I can done before next update but it will not be completed for awhile. I hope by end of tournament. :wink:

thunderchero
what tournament? am i missing something? is there a tournament going on? :))
Relevance is a post hoc phenomenon

На безптичье и жопа воробей...
Ancient Klingon Battlecry

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6389
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Sun Dec 13, 2009 9:53 pm

ruthlessferengi wrote:
thunderchero wrote: I will get as much as I can done before next update but it will not be completed for awhile. I hope by end of tournament. :wink:

thunderchero
what tournament? am i missing something? is there a tournament going on? :))
No, you have not missed anything I should have stated, after signup and completion of next tournament.

But have had great progress in past few days so may be completed earlier.

thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6389
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Phaser problem

Post by thunderchero » Mon Dec 14, 2009 1:28 am

WriterNotViking wrote:I seem to be having a small issue, however. Phasers and disruptors and the like show up as plain grey, sometimes green lines, which seem too thick. Shield impacts are the same color and completely obscure the vessel being hit. Torpedoes show up fine, but they also generate grey shield impacts. I believe I downloaded the latest version available. Has anyone else had this problem, and is there a known fix?
This depends, Does shields display like this?

Image

If it displays as you discribe than it could be a video compatability problem.

thunderchero

User avatar
WriterNotViking
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:00 am

Re: Phaser problem

Post by WriterNotViking » Mon Dec 14, 2009 5:20 am

This depends, Does shields display like this?


If it displays as you discribe than it could be a video compatability problem.

thunderchero
Thanks! It seems you are right. I changed 3DFX to DIRECT3D in stbof.ini with no effect, but when I changed it to SOFTWARE the phasers and shield effects were fine.

This leaves me with slightly grainy 3d graphics, however... Might you have any idea how to resolve the compatibility issue? My video card is a GeForce 8500 GT. I'd really appreciate any pointers you can give me.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6389
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Re: Phaser problem

Post by thunderchero » Mon Dec 14, 2009 9:37 am

WriterNotViking wrote:Thanks! It seems you are right. I changed 3DFX to DIRECT3D in stbof.ini with no effect, but when I changed it to SOFTWARE the phasers and shield effects were fine.

This leaves me with slightly grainy 3d graphics, however... Might you have any idea how to resolve the compatibility issue? My video card is a GeForce 8500 GT. I'd really appreciate any pointers you can give me.
2 things

first just editing stbof.ini is not the best way. There are different dll files for each video mode. you need to reinstall everything with correct video mode.

next make sure your video card driver is up to date.

thunderchero

User avatar
WriterNotViking
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 7
Joined: Sun Dec 13, 2009 3:00 am

Re: Phaser problem

Post by WriterNotViking » Mon Dec 14, 2009 6:56 pm

thunderchero wrote: 2 things

first just editing stbof.ini is not the best way. There are different dll files for each video mode. you need to reinstall everything with correct video mode.

next make sure your video card driver is up to date.

thunderchero
I updated my drivers and reinstalled the whole thing, and everything looks perfect now! Thank you very much, for your assistance and your great work on the mod itself.

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6389
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Tue Dec 15, 2009 9:16 pm

Hi Everyone,

This will be my last preview of Dominion interface. It's all done now. 8O

All 704 file. :wink:

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Image

Mentat posted he hopes to be done by this weekend with his saves. So look for next update then.

thunderchero

User avatar
Tethys
Past Administrator
Past Administrator
Posts: 2065
Joined: Fri Jul 18, 2008 2:00 am
Location: Your mom's bed ;)
Contact:

Post by Tethys » Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:15 am

Those look absolutely amazing... i am very impressed on how this has ended up!

I do have 1 question though: Can these be converted for use with the Cardassian GUI?

Perhaps renaming f*.wdf files to c*.wdf files would work? Or perhaps there is something more?
Not for the weak of heart...
Image
GALM <--- GALM/Galaxies Mod

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6389
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Wed Dec 16, 2009 12:40 am

Tethys wrote:Those look absolutely amazing... i am very impressed on how this has ended up!

I do have 1 question though: Can these be converted for use with the Cardassian GUI?

Perhaps renaming f*.wdf files to c*.wdf files would work? Or perhaps there is something more?
Thanks :wink:

Other than changing prefix *f* to *c* of all tga files. Up to 50 or more images would need special attention. (text changes, changing/replacing images) Also 15 wdf files was edited to move things around. The wdf files should just be able to be renamed.

I have already done this before with UnCivil Wars moving complete Klingon interface to Ferengi. This just requires alot of testing of placement and adjustments.

thunderchero

User avatar
count23
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 66
Joined: Thu May 01, 2008 2:00 am

Post by count23 » Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:47 am

Hello, long time no comment :)

Two questions (Loving the latest mod updates BTW).

First question: Can the "auto-upgrade" of ships be disabled? I ask this because it's strange to see a fleet of constitution class ships transform into excelsiors, or ambassadors into Galaxies. If you were able to "only" buy new ships from teh shipyard, but your old ones remained in active service, that'd be pretty cool.

Second Question: Hades 2.2 is installed with UDM 3, isnt it? I set the game to 3DFX, and on Windows 7, my 8800GTS is not displaying those known graphic foulups that we saw on vista and XP

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6389
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Thu Dec 17, 2009 12:55 am

count23 wrote:Hello, long time no comment :)

Two questions (Loving the latest mod updates BTW).

First question: Can the "auto-upgrade" of ships be disabled? I ask this because it's strange to see a fleet of constitution class ships transform into excelsiors, or ambassadors into Galaxies. If you were able to "only" buy new ships from teh shipyard, but your old ones remained in active service, that'd be pretty cool.

Second Question: Hades 2.2 is installed with UDM 3, isnt it? I set the game to 3DFX, and on Windows 7, my 8800GTS is not displaying those known graphic foulups that we saw on vista and XP
Glad you are enjoying mod,

1. yes, but would need to be done manually with UE.

2. no, hades is no longer a part of mod. but when setting up multi main installer you may select from vanilla, hades 1.1 or hades 2.2. this will install all mods with the option you select. To change setting the only way is to uninstall all mods first then uninstall multi main and reinstall everything once multi main is installed with video option you want.

also soon will be an update with completed interface and mentat's canon saves.

thunderchero

User avatar
thunderchero
Site Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Site  Administrator aka Fleet Admiral
Posts: 6389
Joined: Fri Apr 25, 2008 2:00 am
Location: On a three month training mission, in command of the USS Valiant.
Contact:

Post by thunderchero » Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:03 pm

Hi Everyone,

Here is Empire screen error fix that henka pointed out on last page when systems held goes over 99.

Empire screen error fix

This should allow 99/999 to be shown.

Image

Just unzip and add files with UE or winrar to stbof.res

thunderchero
Last edited by thunderchero on Sat Dec 19, 2009 4:28 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
henka
Cadet 4th Year
Cadet 4th Year
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Nov 13, 2009 3:00 am
Location: Germany

Post by henka » Sat Dec 19, 2009 3:10 pm

wow, the second fix today, great job :D

Post Reply

Return to “Ultimate Dominion Mod”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users