Other Projects; support/discussion/questions

Moderator: thunderchero

gumba
Cadet 3rd Year
Cadet 3rd Year

Botf as a browsergame

Post by gumba »

Hi everyone.

As a huge fan of botf i was thinking about cloning botf as a browser game. It would make the game way more flexible and way more easy to be edited. Since i work as php developer for a living, i dont see that much trouble with the programming but with the gamestats and the game idea itself.

So, this thread is ONLY about the idea itself. Its no promise and its NOT about right choice of programming languages or whatsoever.

First of all. I wouldnt be using the trek universe. Thats just because I dont want to finance some lawyer´s life. I know - it sounds disappointing, but thats just the way it is. I dont know about an open source develepoment in that case.

Now there r two ways to make this game work.

First: It could be cloned as it is. Limited to 5 players.
As you guys know, internet users are impatient. This could maybe end in 20 pending games without any game having enough players. This way, however, is the most easiest the build, since the gameplay has allready been designed. It would need to be changed in some minor ways. The major change would be the absence of the trek universe and probably the breakdown to 1 "race". At least in the beginning. This will and could be changed in the future. Means: The balancing terror would commence as soon as the "core" is up and running.

Secondly: It could be build as a continuous game. There are several advantages and disadvantages to this one.

Advantages:
- Its fast to join
- There is more "life" in it
- the longterm motivation is probably higher, if there are still goals to achieve as a high level player
- you dont have to wait for some1 to finish his turn, the clock will do it for you

Disadvantages:
- OGame allready exists and doesnt need to be cloned one more time. Thats for sure.
- the rounds would have to be time based - otherwise u´ll wait ur ass off