Are there any games like BOTF?

You can talk about anything. (please read forum rules before posting)

Moderator: thunderchero

Deimos
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander

Are there any games like BOTF?

Post by Deimos »

I started playing BOTF when it first came out, way back in 1999 (gosh I'm old!).

But ever since then, there hasn't been, to my knowledge, an alternative that matches the addictiveness and gameplay functionality of BOTF.

I know there's fan projects like Supremacy etc, but they seem to pale in comparison to BOTF in terms of professional finish/polish and seem to be in a perpetual pre release state.

I've been racking my brain trying to think of games that might come close to BOTF, but am really drawing a blank.
Dewbacca
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander

Re: Are there any games like BOTF?

Post by Dewbacca »

BotF was built from the concept of "Masters of Orion", aka MoO, or it's sequel, MoO2, I'm not sure which.

So games built with that in mind, like Interstellar Space: Genesis or Stellaris (both found on Steam) are in the same vein of turn based galactic strategy games.

List of space strategy games here:
https://www.thegamer.com/best-strategy- ... ace-scifi/
Deimos
Lieutenant-Commander
Lieutenant-Commander

Post by Deimos »

I've got over 1000 hours in Stellaris, but sadly I've lost interest since their last few expansions, they've made the game way too complex and slow, I find.
Will check out Interstellar space though, thanks!
Silverbreaker
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade

Post by Silverbreaker »

yeah, Stellaris is unnecessary complex without a feeling of real impact on the gameplay... and the battles are so awful, to 'easy', to clunky and without any meaning... I cant even describe... I really dislike Stellaris with or without the Star Trek New Horizons Mod.