Supremacy new release

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

User avatar
Danijel
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:49 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Danijel » Tue Aug 06, 2019 9:17 pm

@Dainara,

Yo!
can you tell me what version of win10 you have?
and ,is there a difference when you right click the exe and run it as administrator?(no other compatibility is needed, leave those as default)

This issue occurs on win10 after i think v1803 or something, but i never got to test if they fixed it back, whatever it was, or is there a way to fix it. Ill install win10 within next few days for more testing, no time atm.

User avatar
Dainara
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:53 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Dainara » Wed Aug 07, 2019 6:38 am

That might be the problem then, I have v1903 of Windows 10. Sadly running as administrator seems to make no difference to any of my issues. I'd be very interested in what changed between Windows versions to cause this.

User avatar
AlexMcpherson79
Commander
Commander
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by AlexMcpherson79 » Wed Aug 07, 2019 1:17 pm

I cant even get an update to not crash on first startup so still running 1803 myself. (goddamnit it I NEED MY DARKMODE in file explorer, but you cant get that without the major windows update)

User avatar
Danijel
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Lieutenant-Junior Grade
Posts: 74
Joined: Tue Mar 06, 2018 9:49 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Danijel » Wed Aug 07, 2019 7:08 pm

@Alex, you can always use microsoft catalog and do it manually :p i advise updating your updater 1st, than ull have 3 update services and theyll care for each other very closely :D

@Dainara, im asking so i can check my version and see if issue persists(will still take few days, still no time), for other part youll have to google, but as usually any micro mayor update goes with hiccups and burps and bug correction for next several months :D

User avatar
Dainara
Cadet 2nd Year
Cadet 2nd Year
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Aug 01, 2019 10:53 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Dainara » Thu Aug 08, 2019 9:57 am

Danijel wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 7:08 pm
@Dainara, im asking so i can check my version and see if issue persists(will still take few days, still no time), for other part youll have to google, but as usually any micro mayor update goes with hiccups and burps and bug correction for next several months :D
True enough, I'll have look into it myself. I'll be away till September, so don't assume Microsoft has bumped me off for asking too many questions until at least then.

User avatar
AlexMcpherson79
Commander
Commander
Posts: 279
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by AlexMcpherson79 » Thu Aug 08, 2019 3:45 pm

Danijel wrote:
Wed Aug 07, 2019 7:08 pm
@Alex, you can always use microsoft catalog and do it manually :p i advise updating your updater 1st, than ull have 3 update services and theyll care for each other very closely :D

@Dainara, im asking so i can check my version and see if issue persists(will still take few days, still no time), for other part youll have to google, but as usually any micro mayor update goes with hiccups and burps and bug correction for next several months :D
windows update doesnt offer it had to go to the catalogue so, yeah that route you just said, it crashed my computer. thank god for rollback.

User avatar
Iscaran
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Thu Aug 08, 2019 6:10 pm

Hello There,

I just stumbled upon Supremacy a few days ago - I loved the first BOTF but it was troublesome to play back then due to permanent instability issues.

So I am just so happy to have found this project. It looks really awesome with all this new shiny graphics etc. And I like many of the added functionalities / Items.

However - I also just got my first crash. Playing as Klingons.

Error log + autosave attached

It seems not to serious however - as just loading the autosave seems to "solve" the issue.
Attachments
Crash1.zip
(664.68 KiB) Downloaded 3 times

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Wed Aug 14, 2019 6:01 pm

Hi Iscaran, welcome to the forums.
Glad you like Supremacy. Sorry it took me some time to reply, I was away for a few days.
That's one of the 2 annoying crashes that have not yet been fixed, not sure what triggers it.
Thanks for the report!

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Thu Aug 15, 2019 8:39 am

Apparently I forgot to include the updated version of one of the text files in the latest release, so the Task Forces tab in the Assets screen will show a missing string... will attach it here. Thanks Danijel for bringing it to my attention!
Will also include other updates used in the patches.
Attachments
Resources.zip
(27.76 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Fri Aug 16, 2019 6:05 pm

The most recent updates:
- disabled the check for .NET3.5 SP1, as it is not needed any more.
- cancelling trade routes now will cancel the Open Borders treaty with the other civ and apply Regard and Trust penalties to the relationship; a Trust penalty is also incurred with every other civ in the game.
- minor races will not declare war on empires anymore - this has to do with the war weariness modifier, it could start getting really penalizing.
- greatly decreased the chance (probably too much...) that AI civs will DoW on other civs that are affiliated or allied with civs they're affiliated or allied with.
- minor improvement to AI colony management.

Will try to fix breaking agreements next, and probably upload a new patch.

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Fri Aug 16, 2019 8:31 pm

Break Agreements button now working. It breaks ALL current agreements though (for now), and there's no SitRep about it (yet). Also, there are no penalties yet. And the Break button is not yet disabled after being used.
Patch uploaded.

User avatar
Iscaran
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Sun Aug 18, 2019 7:34 pm

Hi,

thanks for the reply, too bad it seems to still happen every now and then (50-100 turns ?). I'll post again if I stumble on an error if it helps. Does the autosave suffice or should one save manually each turn ?

Maybe it is due to me slowing down Tech Progress ? Using the global modifier for "Slow" from 0.5 down to 0.1.

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Mon Aug 19, 2019 9:34 am

AFAICT it's related to agents.
If you want to check if that's the problem (and you don't mind), try commenting out all the agents from the \Data\Agents.xaml file.

User avatar
Iscaran
Cadet 1st Year
Cadet 1st Year
Posts: 3
Joined: Sun Aug 04, 2019 5:13 pm

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iscaran » Mon Aug 19, 2019 1:37 pm

Hi,

I could give it a try - but can you give me more guidance on "how to comment out" those agents ? :-) You see I am not so much a software developer guy.

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 872
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Mon Aug 19, 2019 6:15 pm

Sorry, was on a PC that didn't have the game, so I couldn't do it myself.
Here it is. LMK how it goes. Thanks!
Attachments
Agents.zip
(4.76 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users