Supremacy new release

Supremacy; support/discussion/questions

Moderators: thunderchero, Iceman

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Fri Aug 23, 2019 6:47 am

You do not have enough deuterium, your ships cannot fill their tanks and so are stranded.
Notice that the Training Crew order costs deuterium every turn it is active - 1 per ship training.
You can use the cheat menu F11 to give yourself lots of it to check this. The ships will not be stranded anymore.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Fri Aug 23, 2019 11:01 am

Thanks.
I was not aware of that. Anyway a refreshed guide would be warmly welcome. I found one from 2011 only.
BR
geordie

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sat Aug 24, 2019 6:13 am

Yeah we really need a new manual

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sat Aug 24, 2019 3:18 pm

I was curious why you had this issue, and why you weren't building Deuterium Collectors. Now I know. There is an issue with this build where DCs aren't buildable... my guess is it's because of terraforming. You can now only build structures with planet type restrictions if at least one planet of that type is terraformed. Gas Giants cannot be terraformed, so DCs can't be built. Will have to check the code, but only next week. For now, only rest, beach, sun, and all that stuff. ;)
Crystalline planets have the same issue BTW.

User avatar
AlexMcpherson79
Commander
Commander
Posts: 281
Joined: Thu Sep 04, 2008 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by AlexMcpherson79 » Sun Aug 25, 2019 10:23 am

Maybe you could code for "Terraformed/non-terraformed" - so some are available regardless, some one show up once you terraformed, and some are only buildable for non-terraformed, and terraforming destroys the buildings that aren't usable on terraformed planets.

Example I just thought of because of something else:
A Prison complex located on a unterraformed planet, part of the security of the prison is that the air outside is toxic, poisonous whatever, but then someone terraforms that planet and during the process the prison is destroyed (think the concerns behind Genesis, ' the candidate has to be lifeless, as anything that was already there would be destroyed')
Meanwhile, that automated mining structure extracting x resource was built before the terraforming was done, and was built already shielded so the terraforming process didn't do a thing to it, and now it can be expanded into a not-fully-only-mostly-automated mining complex.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Wed Aug 28, 2019 9:02 am

Yeah, I noticed the Crystalline planets problem and was going to let you know.
However I did not remembered the DCs from my earlier attempts.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:56 pm

Just now I remember one small suggestion - could you add number of unemployed population beside the Labour Pool? Would be useful sometimes, in case of big number of unassign people.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Sat Aug 31, 2019 11:05 am

Hi Iceman,
This weekend I tried to test my old, but just modernized laptop (double memory + SSD + Win10 1905) using Supremacy and today I hit three times the same error:
- sometimes I had difficulties to roll up the Build List of the System screen to the top (to upgrade some facilities), I tried touchpad or arrow up with the same result - the game hangs up before I reached the top of the list, not responding, using 25% processor power and about 400 MB of memory.
It happened 3 times within about 3 hours of gameplay. Of course no error log was generated
I met that also earlier sometimes
geordie

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Sat Aug 31, 2019 12:15 pm

geordie wrote:
Wed Aug 28, 2019 1:56 pm
Just now I remember one small suggestion - could you add number of unemployed population beside the Labour Pool? Would be useful sometimes, in case of big number of unassign people.
Do you want the actual number of population that is unemployed, or the number of population "blocks" (units of 10 pop) that are free to assign? I know it looks like a silly question, but just want to be sure.
Also, could this be a tooltip, or would you want this to be always displayed (including in smaller system, or systems with no unassigned population)? I'm trying to think in terms of aesthetics vs functionality.

This weekend I tried to test my old, but just modernized laptop (double memory + SSD + Win10 1905) using Supremacy and today I hit three times the same error:
- sometimes I had difficulties to roll up the Build List of the System screen to the top (to upgrade some facilities), I tried touchpad or arrow up with the same result - the game hangs up before I reached the top of the list, not responding, using 25% processor power and about 400 MB of memory.
It happened 3 times within about 3 hours of gameplay. Of course no error log was generated
I met that also earlier sometimes
Does this happen when you roll up with the mouse wheel? (not that it should matter)
Maybe this is yet another issue with Win10?
I don't recall ever having this happen in a game, but I'll check it. Thanks!

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Sun Sep 01, 2019 8:24 am

Hi,
I thought about a population number exactly similar to the above ones (the employed by tasks).
Using laptop I use only touch pad, but today I tried to avoid that problem and used only keyboard - after three moves up the fourth one caused the same error. I noticed that only in the Build List.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Sun Sep 01, 2019 2:45 pm

More details - last time it happened after choosing an item form the build list, the cursor did not remain in the same (or next) position, but jumped some lines down - in effect, after scroling 2-3 items up, the game did not respond.
geordie

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Mon Sep 02, 2019 12:30 pm

I cannot repro any of this on my Win10 1803 laptop. Everything works fine in the Build List - touch pad, arrow keys, pg up pg dn, mousewheel, scroll bar, panel edge.

Anyone else having this problem?

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Mon Sep 02, 2019 7:35 pm

Added a tooltip to the Labout Pool, but for some reason it's not displaying the value correctly...

The Gas Giant and Crystalline planets issue is fixed.
Added a minimum "length" for stable wormholes to form.
Added a SitRep when a foreign envoy to your civ retires.

User avatar
geordie
Ensign
Ensign
Posts: 25
Joined: Wed Jun 21, 2017 6:07 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by geordie » Tue Sep 03, 2019 9:24 am

In fact I cannot repeat that on my PC as well...

Iceman
Commodore
Commodore
Posts: 928
Joined: Fri Apr 10, 2009 2:00 am

Re: Supremacy new release

Post by Iceman » Mon Sep 09, 2019 4:06 pm

New build available.

Some AI colony management improvements, including a bug fix or two.

All empires now have 2 construction ships. We need images, models and descriptions for the new ships (Cardassian, Klingon and Romulan). @Vladimir, sorry it took so long...

Increased thresholds for the top tech levels, following some feedback that research was too fast.
Feedback is very much (needed and) appreciated, namely which (if any) tech levels need their thresholds increased (or decreased).

Post Reply

Return to “Supremacy”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users